Press Release 131/2011

First Visit of Research Minister Bauer at KIT

Focus on Current Topics like Energy and Mobility – Presentation of New and Planned Projects during a Tour on the KIT Premises
Forschungsministerin Theresia Bauer und KIT-Präsident Professor Horst Hippler  auf dem Ehrenhof des KIT. (Foto: Markus Breig)
Research Minister Theresia Bauer and KIT President Professor Horst Hippler on KIT’s Ehrenhof. (Photo: Markus Breig)

Today, the Baden-Württemberg Minister of Science, Research, and the Arts, Theresia Bauer, paid her first visit to the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT). Apart from research projects on the future of energy supply and mobility, planned construction and renovation projects on Campus South were part of the program. KIT President Professor Horst Hippler additionally presented a new project to the Minister: The House of Participation studies new pathways of decision-making and democratic participation at KIT and in society.

“KIT is one of the model institutions in Baden-Württemberg and a model project in the best sense in the Federal Republic of Germany. I am impressed by the successes reached in research, education, and innovation by KIT in the past two years since its foundation. In energy research, KIT can make decisive contributions to the energy turnaround by innovations in electromobility and energy efficiency,” said the Minister. In her opinion, the House of Participation of KIT shows that KIT can identify new paths for the development of universities and civil society in other fields as well.

“In the coming years, KIT will face big challenges. To manage them successfully, we rely on a close cooperation with the Ministry of Science, Research, and the Arts (MWK). That is why we wish to present to the Minister the topics on which we are working presently and, of course, the entire premises of KIT,” said President Professor Horst Hippler. About 1100 scientists alone are conducting research for the energy mix in the future at more than 60 institutes of KIT. About 800 employees at nearly 40 institutes are working on concepts for the mobility of future generations. “With high commitment, our scientists wish to contribute to mastering the technical challenges,” emphasized Hippler.

Among others, the Minister visited the bioliq pilot plant and the ANKA synchrotron radiation source on KIT Campus North. bioliq has a project volume of about EUR 60 million. Its objective is the production of designer fuels from biomass. In the direct vicinity of the pilot plant, the planned Energy Lab will be constructed. Here, use of biomass material and energy will be studied. ANKA – an example of large scientific facilities on KIT Campus North – is a high-tech center for microfabrication and microanalysis that is open not only to KIT scientists. Users from all over Europe can analyze materials precisely using the ANKA synchrotron light. 

The Minister also visited the new KIT Campus East on the former area of the Mackensen barracks. There, KIT scientists are developing energy-efficient, low-emission, and safe vehicles and mobility concepts. 

A very young research project presented by the KIT President to the Minister is the House of Participation (HoP) on KIT’s Campus South. With funds granted by the state of Baden-Württemberg, it develops and studies new pathways of decision-making and democratic participation at KIT and in society by means of interdisciplinary approaches. KIT itself becomes a “living laboratory”, in which processes, tools, and techniques are applied in pilot studies for later transfer to other organizations.

Finally, the Minister informed herself about ongoing construction projects on the KIT premises. As the number of pupils with a university entrance certificate will double next year due to the reduction of secondary school duration by one year, KIT, like other universities, faces big challenges as regards room capacity. In order to create enough space for education, a new building with seminar rooms and laboratories is being constructed on KIT’s Campus South with state funding. In the direct vicinity of the Audimax, the Materials Science Center will be built. A new gymnasium is being constructed near the Institute of Sports and Sports Science. In parallel, extensive renovation projects are being conducted, among others the renovation of the Mathematics building and of the old Chemical Technology building on the Ehrenhof.

 

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,600 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 23,300 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

lg, 17.08.2011
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseWem3∂kit edu

The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseVic4∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-41105.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail

Presseinformation 131/2011

Antrittsbesuch von Forschungsministerin Bauer am KIT

Aktuelle Themen wie Energie und Mobilität im Mittelpunkt – Vorstellung neuer und geplanter Projekte bei Rundfahrt über das Gelände des KIT
Forschungsministerin Theresia Bauer und KIT-Präsident Professor Horst Hippler  auf dem Ehrenhof des KIT. (Foto: Markus Breig)
Forschungsministerin Theresia Bauer und KIT-Präsident Professor Horst Hippler auf dem Ehrenhof des KIT. (Foto: Markus Breig)

Die Ministerin für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Kunst des Landes Baden-Württemberg, Theresia Bauer, kam heute zu ihrem Antrittsbesuch an das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT). Neben Forschungsprojekten, unter anderem zur Zukunft der Energieversorgung sowie der Mobilität, standen auch geplante Bau- und Sanierungsvorhaben auf dem Campus Süd auf dem Programm. KIT-Präsident Professor Horst Hippler stellte der Ministerin zudem ein neues Projekt vor: Das House of Participation erforscht neue Wege der Entscheidungsfindung und der demokratischen Teilhabe im KIT sowie in der Gesellschaft.

„Das KIT ist eine der Vorzeigeeinrichtungen in Baden-Württemberg und bundesweit ein Modellprojekt im besten Sinne. Ich bin beeindruckt, welche Erfolge das KIT in den vergangenen zwei Jahren seit seiner Gründung in Forschung, Lehre und Innovation erzielt hat. In der Energieforschung kann das KIT mit Innovationen in den Bereichen Elektromobilität und Energieeffizienz entscheidende Beiträge zur Umsetzung der Energiewende leisten“, sagte die Ministerin. Mit dem House of Participation zeige das KIT, dass es auch auf anderen Gebieten neue Wege für die Entwicklung der Hochschulen und der Zivilgesellschaft aufzeigen könne.   

„Das KIT steht in den kommenden Jahren vor großen Herausforderungen. Um diese erfolgreich zu bewältigen, bauen wir auf eine enge Zusammenarbeit mit dem Ministerium für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Kunst (MWK). Deshalb ist es uns ein Anliegen, der Ministerin die Themen, an denen wir aktuell arbeiten, und natürlich auch das gesamte Gelände des KIT, vorzustellen“, sagte KIT-Präsident Professor Horst Hippler. Am KIT forschen allein rund 1100 Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler in mehr als 60 Instituten mit Hochdruck am Energiemix der Zukunft. Rund 800 Mitarbeiter in knapp 40 Instituten arbeiten an Konzepten für die Mobilität künftiger Generationen. „Unsere Wissenschaftler wollen mit großem Einsatz dazu beitragen, die technologischen Herausforderungen zu meistern“, so Hippler.

Stationen des Besuchs der Ministerin waren unter anderem die Pilotanlage bioliq und die Synchrotronstrahlenquelle ANKA auf dem KIT-Campus Nord. Bioliq hat ein Projektvolumen von rund 60 Millionen Euro; Ziel ist die Herstellung von Designerkraftstoffen aus Biomasse. In unmittelbarer Nähe der Pilotanlage wird das geplante Energy Lab entstehen. Das Enery Lab untersucht, auf welche Weise Biomasse stofflich und energetisch genutzt werden kann. ANKA – ein Beispiel für die wissenschaftlichen Großgeräte auf dem KIT-Campus Nord – steht als High-Tech-Zentrum für Mikrofertigung und -analytik nicht nur Wissenschaftlern des KIT offen: Nutzer aus ganz Europa können bei ANKA mit Synchrotronlicht Materialien detailgenau analysieren.  

Bei ihrer Rundfahrt besuchte die Ministerin auch den neuen KIT-Campus Ost auf dem ehemaligen Gelände der Mackensen-Kaserne. Dort entwickeln KIT-Wissenschaftler energieeffiziente, emissionsarme und sichere Fahrzeuge sowie Mobilitätskonzepte.

Ein sehr junges Forschungsprojekt, das der KIT-Präsident der Ministerin vorstellte, ist das House of Participation (HoP) am Campus Süd des KIT. Finanziert vom Land Baden-Württemberg entwickelt und erforscht es mit interdisziplinären Ansätzen neue Wege der Entscheidungsfindung und der demokratischen Teilhabe im KIT sowie in der Gesellschaft. Das KIT wird dabei selbst zum „lebenden Labor", in dem entsprechende Verfahren, Werkzeuge und Techniken in Pilotstudien zur Anwendung kommen, um sie dann auf andere Organisationen zu übertragen.

Schließlich informierte sich die Ministerin über laufende Bauprojekte auf dem Gelände des KIT. Der doppelte Abiturjahrgang stellt das KIT wie andere Unversitäten vor Herausforderungen, unter anderem im Hinblick auf die Raumkapazität. Um genügend Räume für die Lehre zu schaffen, wird auf dem Campus Süd des KIT mit Landesmitteln aus der Ausbauplanung ein neues Gebäude errichtet mit Seminarräumen und Laboren für die Lehre. In unmittelbarer Nähe zum Audimax wird das Materialwissenschaftliche Zentrum entstehen, beim Institut für Sport und Sportwissenschaft ist eine neue Sporthalle im Bau. Parallel dazu laufen umfangreiche Sanierungsprojekte, wie die des Mathematikgebäudes und der Alten Chemischen Technik am Ehrenhof.

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) ist eine Körperschaft des öffentlichen Rechts nach den Gesetzen des Landes Baden-Württemberg. Es nimmt sowohl die Mission einer Universität als auch die Mission eines nationalen Forschungszentrums in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft wahr. Thematische Schwerpunkte der Forschung sind Energie, natürliche und gebaute Umwelt sowie Gesellschaft und Technik, von fundamentalen Fragen bis zur Anwendung. Mit rund 9400 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern, darunter mehr als 6000 in Wissenschaft und Lehre, sowie 24 500 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der größten Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas. Das KIT verfolgt seine Aufgaben im Wissensdreieck Forschung – Lehre – Innovation.

lg, 17.08.2011
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseWdr3∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.