Press Release 119/2011

Intelligent Wallpaper Wins in the “Land of Ideas“

Textile Wallpaper Stabilizes Buildings against Earthquakes/Award Ceremony on July 15
An einem zweistöckigen Gebäude in der italienischen Stadt Pavia testeten die KIT-Forscher die Schutzwirkung ihrer seismischen Tapete. (Foto: Moritz Urban)
KIT researchers tested the protective effect of the seismic wallpaper on a two—storied building in the Italian city of Pavia. (Photo: Moritz Urban)

The project “Seismic Wallpaper – Intelligent Earthquake Protection” of the KIT Institute of Concrete Structures and Building Materials is granted the award “Ausgewählter Ort 2011” (selected place 2011) in the competition “365 Orte im Land der Ideen” (365 places in the land of ideas). Thanks to its complex fiber structure and special mortar, the innovative wallpaper compensates ground motion. Woven-in optical sensors detect the developing cracks and, thus, monitor the building. Representatives of the media are cordially invited to come to the award ceremony on Friday, July 15.
 
The award ceremony will start at 9.00 hrs at the Institute of Concrete Structures and Building Materials (IMB), KIT Campus South, building 50.31, lecture hall 107, with a presentation by Professor Lothar Stempniewski, Head of the Concrete Structures Division of IMB. “The smart wallpaper is designed to protect human beings against collapsing buildings or building sections,” explains the engineer Moritz Urban. The wallpaper consists of a textile material with four different fiber directions and is applied using a special mortar. As a result, a building can resist much higher earthquake intensities. Optical sensors that are woven into the wallpaper detect cracks. After shocks resulting from earthquakes, storms, vehicle accidents, or similar events, damage of the building wall can be detected. If necessary, this damage can then be repaired specifically.
 
On a two-storied building in the Italian city of Pavia, KIT researchers proved that the earthquake protection wallpaper developed in cooperation with several partners really works. The architecture of this building is typical of the region and also of the city of L’Aquila that suffered from a strong earthquake with many casualties in 2009. First, the scientists from Karlsruhe tested the building without any reinforcement on a vibrating table. After 0.4 g acceleration, it nearly collapsed. Then, the same building was provided with the seismic wallpaper and tested again. Even at an acceleration of 0.6 g, only minor damage occurred. It was found and evaluated with the help of the sensors.
 
“With their ‘seismic wallpaper’, the scientists of the Institute of Concrete Structures and Building Materials show that an unexpected innovative potential may be hidden in any supposedly normal object of everyday life,“ explains Frank Arlaud from the Deutsche Bank, who will present the award to the project team on July 15. The Germany-wide competition “365 Orte im Land der Ideen” (365 places in the land of ideas), an activity of the initiative “Germany – Land of Ideas” and Deutsche Bank, reveals the potentials of Germany as a location of innovation, the creativity and commitment of enterprises, institutions, social and cultural facilities. The competition is organized under the auspices of the Federal President. The project “Seismic Wallpaper – Intelligent Earthquake Protection” won over 2600 applications for the award this year.
 
The program of the award ceremony can be found at:
http://www.imb.kit.edu/mb/

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,600 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 23,300 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

or, 12.07.2011
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseWnj5∂kit edu

The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseAon9∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-41105.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail

Presseinformation 119/2011

Intelligente Tapete im „Land der Ideen“ ausgezeichnet

Der textile Erdbebenschutz stabilisiert Gebäude / Preisverleihung am 15. Juli
An einem zweistöckigen Gebäude in der italienischen Stadt Pavia testeten die KIT-Forscher die Schutzwirkung ihrer seismischen Tapete. (Foto: Moritz Urban)
An einem zweistöckigen Gebäude in der italienischen Stadt Pavia testeten die KIT-Forscher die Schutzwirkung ihrer seismischen Tapete. (Foto: Moritz Urban)

Das Projekt „Seismische Tapete – Intelligenter Erdbebenschutz“ des Instituts für Massivbau und Baustofftechnologie des KIT erhält die Auszeichnung „Ausgewählter Ort“ 2011 im Wettbewerb „365 Orte im Land der Ideen“. Dank komplexer Faserstruktur und Spezialmörtel fängt die innovative Tapete Erschütterungen ab. Intelligent wird sie durch eingewebte optische Sensoren, die entstandene Risse erfassen und damit das Gebäude überwachen. Zu der Preisverleihung am Freitag, 15. Juli, sind Vertreterinnen und Vertreter der Medien herzlich eingeladen.
 
Die Preisverleihung beginnt um 9 Uhr am Institut für Massivbau und Baustofftechnologie (IMB), KIT-Campus Süd, Gebäude 50.31, Hörsaal 107, mit einem Vortrag von Professor Lothar Stempniewski, Leiter der Abteilung Massivbau des IMB. „Ziel der intelligenten Tapete ist, Menschen vor einstürzenden Mauerwerksgebäuden oder Teilen davon zu schützen“, erklärt der am Projekt beteiligte Ingenieur Moritz Urban. Die Tapete besteht aus einem Textilmaterial mit vier verschiedenen Faserrichtungen und wird mit einem speziellen Mörtel aufgebracht. Dadurch kann ein Gebäude wesentlich höheren Erdbebenstärken standhalten. Optische Sensoren, die in die Tapete eingewebt sind, erfassen Risse. So lässt sich nach Erschütterungen durch Erdbeben, Sturm, Fahrzeuganprall oder Ähnliches feststellen, ob das Mauerwerk Schaden genommen hat. Bei Bedarf lassen sich Schäden dann gezielt beheben.
 
Den Beweis, dass der gemeinsam mit Partnern entwickelte Erdbebenschutz funktioniert, haben die KIT-Forscher an einem zweistöckigen Gebäude in der italienischen Stadt Pavia erbracht. Die Architektur des Gebäudes ist typisch für die Region und auch für die Stadt L’Aquila, die 2009 von einem starken Erdbeben mit vielen Todesopfern betroffen war. Zunächst testeten die Karlsruher Wissenschaftler das Gebäude ohne Verstärkung auf einem Rütteltisch. Es stürzte nach 0,4 g Beschleunigung beinahe ein. Anschließend wurde dasselbe Gebäude mit der seismischen Tapete versehen und erneut getestet – auch nach 0,6 g Beschleunigung traten nur unbedeutende Schäden auf, die sich mithilfe der Sensoren feststellen und begutachten ließen.
 
„Die Wissenschaftler des Instituts für Massivbau und Baustofftechnologie zeigen mit der ‚Seismischen Tapete‘, dass in jedem noch so vermeintlich normalen Alltagsgegenstand ein ungeahntes innovatives Potenzial verborgen sein kann“, erklärt Frank Arlaud von der Deutschen Bank, der das Projekteam am 15. Juli als „Ausgewählten Ort 2011“ auszeichnen wird. Der bundesweite Wettbewerb „365 Orte im Land der Ideen“, eine Aktivität der Standortinitiative „Deutschland – Land der Ideen“ und der Deutschen Bank, macht das Potenzial des Innovationsstandorts Deutschland, die Kreativität und das Engagement in Unternehmen, Institutionen, sozialen und kulturellen Einrichtungen sichtbar. Der Wettbewerb steht unter der Schirmherrschaft des Bundespräsidenten. Das Projekt „Seismische Tapete – Intelligenter Erdbebenschutz“ setzte sich dieses Jahr unter 2.600 Bewerbungen durch.
 
 Das Programm der Preisverleihung finden Sie unter:
http://www.imb.kit.edu/mb/

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) ist eine Körperschaft des öffentlichen Rechts nach den Gesetzen des Landes Baden-Württemberg. Es nimmt sowohl die Mission einer Universität als auch die Mission eines nationalen Forschungszentrums in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft wahr. Thematische Schwerpunkte der Forschung sind Energie, natürliche und gebaute Umwelt sowie Gesellschaft und Technik, von fundamentalen Fragen bis zur Anwendung. Mit rund 9400 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern, darunter mehr als 6000 in Wissenschaft und Lehre, sowie 24 500 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der größten Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas. Das KIT verfolgt seine Aufgaben im Wissensdreieck Forschung – Lehre – Innovation.

or, 12.07.2011
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseIbu3∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.