Press Release 118/2011

Open Dialog about Energy Technologies

Citizens Workshop at KIT on July 26 – Part of the Citizens Dialog on Future Technologies Initiated by the Federal Ministry of Research
Der Bürgerdialog Energietechnologien für die Zukunft ist ein Forum für den offenen  Austausch der Bürgerschaft mit Wissenschaft, Wirtschaft und Politik. (Grafik: BMBF)
The citizens dialog on energy technologies for the future is a forum for open exchange of citizens with science, industry, and politics. (Graphics: BMBF)

How can a turnaround in energy supply be achieved? Which changes are faced by the individuals? “Energy Technologies for the Future” will be in the focus of a citizens workshop organized by KIT in cooperation with the Federal Ministry of Research on Tuesday, July 26, Karlsruhe. At this workshop, citizens will have the opportunity to discuss with each other and with experts, to obtain insight, and to make suggestions. Now, interested citizens can register online for participation.

The citizens workshop on KIT Campus South, Englerstrasse 11, building 11.40, Tulla-Hörsaal, will start at 19 hrs. The welcome address by the Head of the Environmental and Energy Research Programs at KIT, Dr. Karl-Friedrich Ziegahn, will be followed by three expert presentations by Dr. Ziegahn, Dr. Dirk Vogeley, Director of the Karlsruhe Energy and Climate Protection Agency (KEK), and Nico Storz, Director of fesa e.V. Then, a discussion and work in groups will follow. An expert will be available as a conversation partner for every group. The citizens will have the opportunity to ask questions and to express expectations and concerns. Finally, the citizens will formulate own recommendations as to how the turnaround in energy supply can be implemented technically and how target conflicts can be solved.
 
The results of the citizens workshop will be incorporated in the citizens dialog “Energy Technologies for the Future” initiated by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF). Under the heading of “Einblick gewinnen. Mitreden” (gaining insight, participating), BMBF has established a forum for open, transparent exchange of citizens with science, industry, and politics. The citizens dialog is one of the results of the recommendations made by the ethics commission on “Secure Energy Supply” and the political decision process of the federal government. After all, the turnaround in energy supply concerns us all and is associated with many questions: Which technologies are suited for this purpose? Which prerequisites have to be fulfilled for the technologies required being supported by the persons affected? Which restrictions will be tolerated by the citizens for the turnaround being successful? Which topics should be in the focus of energy research in the future?
 
Answers of these and other questions will be developed by the citizens together with experts and local decision-makers. The citizens workshop “Energy Technologies” is part of the citizens dialog “Technologies for the Future” initiated by the BMBF. It is designed for a duration of four years and will take place on the internet and organized on a regional basis all over Germany. Finally, the results will be summarized in a citizens report that will be submitted to actors in politics, science, industry, and society.
 
To obtain an idea about the number of participants to be expected at the citizens workshop in Karlsruhe, interested citizens are asked to register on the website of the citizens dialog “Energy Technologies for the Future” of BMBF at www.buergerdialog-bmbf.de.

Further information on the citizens workshop can be found on KIT’s website http://www.kit.edu/besuchen/7672.php.


Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) is one of Europe’s leading energy research establishments. The KIT Energy Center pools fundamental research with applied research into all relevant energy sources for industry, households, services, and mobility. Holistic assessment of the energy cycle also covers conversion processes and energy efficiency. The KIT Energy Center links excellent competences in engineering and science with know-how in economics, the humanities, and social science as well as law. The activities of the KIT Energy Center are organized in seven topics: Energy conversion, renewable energies, energy storage and distribution, efficient energy use, fusion technology, nuclear power and safety, and energy systems analysis.

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,600 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 23,300 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

or, 11.07.2011
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseXci9∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Monika Landgraf
Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-21150
Fax: +49 721 608-41150
monika landgrafBdb4∂kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseYqm3∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-41105.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail

Presseinformation 118/2011

Offener Dialog über Energietechnologien

Bürgerwerkstatt am KIT am 26. Juli – Veranstaltung ist Teil des vom Bundesforschungsministeriums initiierten Bürgerdialogs Zukunftstechnologien
Der Bürgerdialog Energietechnologien für die Zukunft ist ein Forum für den offenen  Austausch der Bürgerschaft mit Wissenschaft, Wirtschaft und Politik. (Grafik: BMBF)
Der Bürgerdialog Energietechnologien für die Zukunft ist ein Forum für den offenen Austausch der Bürgerschaft mit Wissenschaft, Wirtschaft und Politik. (Grafik: BMBF)

Wie lässt sich der Umbau der Energieversorgung verwirklichen? Welche Veränderungen kommen auf den Einzelnen zu? Um „Energietechnologien für die Zukunft“ geht es bei einer Bürgerwerkstatt, die das KIT zusammen mit dem Bundesforschungsministerium am Dienstag, 26. Juli, in Karlsruhe ausrichtet. Bürgerinnen und Bürger können dabei untereinander und mit Experten diskutieren, Einblicke gewinnen und ihre eigenen Vorschläge einbringen. Eine Anmeldung ist ab sofort online möglich.

Die Bürgerwerkstatt am KIT Campus Süd, Englerstraße 11, Gebäude 11.40, Tulla-Hörsaal, beginnt um 19 Uhr. Auf die Begrüßung durch den Programmleiter Umwelt- und Energieprogramme am KIT, Dr. Karl-Friedrich Ziegahn, folgen drei Impulsreferate von Experten: Dr. Ziegahn, Dr. Dirk Vogeley, Geschäftsführer der Karlsruher Energie- und Klimaschutzagentur (KEK), Nico Storz, Geschäftsführer des fesa e.V, und Manfred Haberzettel, Leiter Technik und Politik, EnbW. Eine Diskussion und die Arbeit in Gruppen schließen sich an. Dabei steht jeder Gruppe ein Experte als Gesprächspartner zur Verfügung. Die Anwesenden haben ausgiebig Gelegenheit, Fragen zu stellen, Erwartungen und Bedenken vorzubringen. Zum Abschluss formulieren die Bürger eigene Empfehlungen, wie sich der Umbau der Energieversorgung technologisch verwirklichen lässt und wie sich Zielkonflikte lösen lassen.
 
Die Ergebnisse der Bürgerwerkstatt fließen ein in den vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) initiierten Bürgerdialog „Energietechnologien für die Zukunft“. Unter dem Motto „Einblick gewinnen. Mitreden“ hat das BMBF ein Forum für den offenen, transparenten Austausch der Bürgerschaft mit Wissenschaft, Wirtschaft und Politik geschaffen. Der Bürgerdialog knüpft an die Empfehlungen der Ethikkommission „Sichere Energieversorgung“ und den politischen Entscheidungsprozess der Bundesregierung an. Schließlich betrifft der Umbau der Energieversorgung alle und ist mit vielen Fragen verbunden: Welche Technologien eignen sich dafür? Welche Voraussetzungen müssen erfüllt sein, damit die erforderlichen Technologien auch von den vor Ort Betroffenen unterstützt werden? Welche Einschränkungen sind die Bürger bereit mitzutragen, damit der Umbau gelingt? Und welchen Themen soll sich die Energieforschung künftig verstärkt widmen?
 
Antworten auf diese und weitere Fragen erarbeiten Bürger gemeinsam mit Experten und Entscheidungsträgern vor Ort. Der Bürgerdialog „Energietechnologien“ ist Teil des vom BMBF eröffneten Bürgerdialogs „Zukunftstechnologien“. Dieser ist auf insgesamt vier Jahre angelegt und wird im Internet sowie in regionalen Veranstaltungen überall in Deutschland geführt. Abschließend werden die Ergebnisse in einem Bürgerreport festgehalten, der an Verantwortliche aus Politik, Wissenschaft, Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft übergeben wird.
 
Um einen Überblick über die zu erwartende Teilnehmerzahl bei der Bürgerwerkstatt in Karlsruhe zu gewinnen, werden interessierte Bürgerinnen und Bürger gebeten, sich auf der Website des Bürgerdialogs „Energietechnologien für die Zukunft“ des BMBF unter www.buergerdialog-bmbf.de anzumelden.

Weitere Informationen zur Bürgerwerkstatt finden Sie auf der Webseite des KIT unter http://www.kit.edu/besuchen/7672.php


In der Energieforschung ist das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) eine der europaweit führenden Einrichtungen: Das KIT-Zentrum Energie vereint grundlegende und angewandte Forschung zu allen relevanten Energieformen für Industrie, Haushalt, Dienstleistungen und Mobilität. In die ganzheitliche Betrachtung des Energiekreislaufs sind Umwandlungsprozesse und Energieeffizienz mit einbezogen. Das KIT-Zentrum Energie verbindet exzellente technik- und naturwissenschaftliche Kompetenzen mit wirtschafts-, geistes- und sozialwissenschaftlichem sowie rechtswissenschaftlichem Fachwissen. Die Arbeit des KIT-Zentrums Energie gliedert sich in sieben Topics: Energieumwandlung, erneuerbare Energien, Energiespeicherung und Energieverteilung, effiziente Energienutzung, Fusionstechnologie, Kernenergie und Sicherheit sowie Energiesystemanalyse.

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) ist eine Körperschaft des öffentlichen Rechts nach den Gesetzen des Landes Baden-Württemberg. Es nimmt sowohl die Mission einer Universität als auch die Mission eines nationalen Forschungszentrums in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft wahr. Thematische Schwerpunkte der Forschung sind Energie, natürliche und gebaute Umwelt sowie Gesellschaft und Technik, von fundamentalen Fragen bis zur Anwendung. Mit rund 9400 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern, darunter mehr als 6000 in Wissenschaft und Lehre, sowie 24 500 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der größten Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas. Das KIT verfolgt seine Aufgaben im Wissensdreieck Forschung – Lehre – Innovation.

or, 11.07.2011

Weiterer Kontakt:

Monika Landgraf
PKM Abteilung Presse
Tel.: +49 721 608-48126
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
monika landgrafDub7∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseAkm2∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.