Press Release 116/2011

More Efficient Data Analysis for Web Shops

KIT Students Win International Competition on Data Analysis for the Development of an Algorithm for Product Recommendation in E-Commerce Systems
Die Suche nach der Nadel im Heuhaufen? „Data Mining“ macht immense Datenmengen im Internet überschaubar. (Foto: photocase.de)
Searching for the needle in the haystack? “Data mining” helps to handle the gigantic data volumes on the internet. (Photo: photocase.de)

Students of informatics from Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) reached one of the two first places in the international DATA MINING Cup 2011. They developed an algorithm for recommendations in web shops. Compared to the other solutions, this algorithm most frequently suggested those products that were then looked at and purchased by the customers. With their idea, the KIT students won over 103 other teams from 83 universities in 20 countries.

Whoever goes shopping on the internet, knows the inserted recommendations. But how does the web shop know, which products are of interest to the customers? Recommender systems offer orientation in the jungle of offers. And also for suppliers, these recommendations are worth a lot of money, as they frequently stimulate the customers to buy things that were not even considered before. This year’s DATA MINING Cup was therefore aimed at developing an algorithm for recommender systems.

In a world determined by information, data mining is of high relevance to science and industry: Newly developed analysis methods allow for the extraction of knowledge from large and complex data inventories. These data analysis techniques are also essential for the development of recommender systems.

However, the large data volumes to be processed in real time represent big challenges. A product recommendation has to be calculated as quickly as possible, and this not only for one customer, but for thousands of different customers at the same time. This task was solved best by the 22 students of informatics from KIT at the 2011 Data Mining Cup: Their solution of a real-time analysis of data flows convinced the jury most. The students developed an efficient algorithm that, compared to the solutions of the other teams, most frequently suggested those products that were then looked at and purchased by the customers of the web shop.
   
Professor Klemens Böhm, who supervises the practical exercise “Data Warehousing und Mining“ at the Institute for Program Structures and Data Organization, is proud of the performance of his team: “The students successfully applied basic theory of data analysis to develop product recommendations relevant to everyday life. Consequently, we are very pleased with their success.” For several years now, students of informatics from KIT have been participating successfully in the Data Mining Cup within the framework of a practical exercise at the Chair for Systems of Information Administration.  

 

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,600 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 23,300 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

bd, 07.07.2011
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseVrq6∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Margarete Lehné
Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41157
Fax: +49 721 608-41157
margarete lehneOle8∂kit edu


The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Presseinformation 116/2011

Effizientere Datenanalyse für Webshops

KIT-Studierende gewinnen internationalen Wettbewerb zur Datenanalyse für die Entwicklung eines Algorithmus zur Produktempfehlung in E-Commerce-Systemen
Die Suche nach der Nadel im Heuhaufen? „Data Mining“ macht immense Datenmengen im Internet überschaubar. (Foto: photocase.de)
Die Suche nach der Nadel im Heuhaufen? „Data Mining“ macht immense Datenmengen im Internet überschaubar. (Foto: photocase.de)

Informatikstudierende des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie (KIT) haben beim internationalen DATA-MINING-CUP 2011 einen von zwei ersten Plätzen belegt. Sie entwickelten einen Algorithmus für Empfehlungen in Webshops, der im Vergleich zu anderen Lösungen am häufigsten die Produkte vorschlug, die sich Kunden dann auch tatsächlich angesehen und gekauft haben. Die KIT-Studierenden setzen sich mit ihrer Idee gegen 103 Teams von 83 Universitäten aus 20 Ländern durch.

Wer im Internet einkauft, kennt die eingeblendeten Kaufempfehlungen. Aber woher weiß der Webshop, welche Produkte den Kunden interessieren? Empfehlungssysteme bieten dem Kunden Orientierung im Dschungel der Angebote. Auch für die Anbieter sind diese Empfehlungen bares Geld wert, da sie Kunden häufig zu Käufen animieren, an die sie zunächst gar nicht gedacht haben. Ziel des diesjährigen DATA-MINING-CUP war deshalb die Entwicklung eines Algorithmus für Empfehlungssysteme (Recommender Systems).

In einer von Informationen bestimmten Welt ist das Data Mining von großer Bedeutung für Wissenschaft und Industrie: Neu entwickelte Analyseverfahren ermöglichen es, Wissen aus großen und komplexen Datenbeständen herauszuziehen. Auch für die Entwicklung von Empfehlungssystemen sind diese Techniken zur Datenanalyse essentiell.

Große Herausforderungen ergeben sich dabei aus den immensen Datenmengen, die in Echtzeit verarbeitet werden müssen. Eine Produktempfehlung muss schnellstmöglich berechnet werden, und dies nicht nur für einen Kunden, sondern für tausende verschiedene Kunden gleichzeitig. Diese Aufgabe lösten die 22 Informatikstudierenden des KIT beim DATA-MINING-CUP 2011 am besten: Ihre Lösung ermöglicht eine Echtzeitanalyse von Datenströmen und überzeugte damit die Wettbewerbsjury. Sie entwickelten einen effizienten Algorithmus, der im Vergleich zu den Lösungen der anderen Teams am häufigsten diejenigen Produkte vorschlug, die Kunden beim Besuch eines Webshops auch tatsächlich angesehen und gekauft haben.

Professor Klemens Böhm, der das Praktikum „Data Warehousing und Mining“ am Institut für Programmstrukturen und Datenorganisation betreut, ist stolz auf die Leistung seines Teams: „Die Studierenden haben grundlegende Theorie aus dem Bereich der Datenanalyse erfolgreich angewendet, um alltagsrelevante Produktempfehlungen zu entwickeln. Daher freuen wir uns ganz besonders über den Erfolg.“ Bereits seit mehreren Jahren nehmen Informatikstudierende des KIT im Rahmen eines Praktikums am Lehrstuhl für Systeme der Informationsverwaltung immer wieder erfolgreich am DATA-MINING-CUP teil.

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9.300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieurs-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 26.000 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen.

bd, 07.07.2011

Weiterer Kontakt:

Margarete Lehné
Pressereferentin
Tel.: +49 721 608-48121
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
margarete lehneLmx0∂kit edu