Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

Press Release 108/2011

Late-night Information for Pupils Interested in Studies

“Long Night of Counseling“ by the Students Counseling Center
Studium am KIT – über Inhalte und Organisatorisches informiert die „Lange Nacht  der Beratung“ am 29. Juni (Foto: KIT)
Studies at KIT – the “Long Night of Counseling“ will inform about contents and organizational matters on June 29. (Photo: Harry Marx)

After having been granted their university entrance certificate, many pupils are sure that they will start studies. The decision on the subject of the studies is far more difficult. In addition, information is needed about organizational matters, such as the application procedure and the funding of the studies. Help will be provided during the “Lange Nacht der Beratung” (Long Night of Counseling) by the Students Counseling Center of KIT on Wednesday, June 29, 2011, 18 – 23 hrs, Zähringerstraße 65.

“The need for information prior to the start of university studies is very high, especially that of last-minute students and waverers,” says Michael Kurth, deputy head of the KIT Studying and Teaching Service Unit. According to Kurth, many of them do not have any idea of which course of studies fits their personal prerequisites. “We would like to provide support for the young people to start with realistic conceptions.” For this reason, information on the application procedure and funding will be provided in addition to information about the contents of the courses of studies. The “Long Night of Counseling” will be divided into six units of thirty minutes each covering engineering sciences; informatics, mathematics, and information technology; biology, chemistry, and food chemistry; physics; geosciences; civil engineering and architecture; business administration; humanities and social sciences; design; and studies of pedagogics. Some of these units will be repeated, such that the participants always have free time for conversation with the counselors.

More information and the detailed program can be found at www.kit.edu/studieren/3275.php

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 24,400 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

le, 27.06.2011
Monika Landgraf
Contact:

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseXsk5∂kit edu

Margarete Lehné

Margarete Lehné
Deputy Head of Press Office

Phone: +49 721 608-41157

margarete lehne∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Margarete Lehné
Stellvertretende Pressesprecherin
Phone: +49 721 608-21157
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
margarete lehneGtb3∂kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseUvp0∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Presseinformation 108/2011

Late-Night-Informationen für Studieninteressierte

„Lange Nacht der Studienberatung“ des Servicezentrums für Information und Beratung
Studium am KIT – über Inhalte und Organisatorisches informiert die „Lange Nacht  der Beratung“ am 29. Juni (Foto: KIT)
Studium am KIT – über Inhalte und Organisatorisches informiert die „Lange Nacht der Beratung“ am 29. Juni (Foto: Harry Marx)

Mit dem Abschlusszeugnis in der Tasche sind sich viele Abiturientinnen und Abiturienten bereits sicher, dass sie studieren werden. Schwieriger ist die Entscheidung für das richtige Studienfach. Dazu kommen organisatorische Fragen von Bewerbung bis Studienfinanzierung. Orientierungshilfe bietet die „Lange Nacht der Beratung“ des Zentrums für Information und Beratung am KIT: am Mittwoch, 29. Juni 2011, von 18 bis 23 Uhr in der Zähringerstraße 65.

„Der Informationsbedarf vor Studienbeginn ist sehr hoch – gerade bei den Kurz- und Unentschlossenen“, sagt Michael Kurth, stellvertretender Leiter der Dienstleistungseinheit Studium und Lehre am KIT. Vielen fehle noch eine Vorstellung davon, welcher Studiengang zu den persönlichen Voraussetzungen passt. „Wir wollen dabei unterstützen, dass die jungen Menschen mit realistischen Vorstellungen anfangen.“ Neben Studieninhalten stehen daher auch Hinweise zum Bewerbungsverfahren sowie zur Studienfinanzierung auf dem Programm. Die insgesamt sechs halbstündigen Blöcke der „Langen Nacht der Beratung“ befassen sich zum einen inhaltlich mit Ingenieurwissenschaften; Informatik, Mathematik und Informationswirtschaft; Biologie, Chemie und Lebensmittelchemie; Physik; Geowissenschaften; Bauingenieurwesen und Architektur; Betriebswirtschaftslehre; Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften; Design; sowie mit dem Lehramtsstudium. Die Themen der Blöcke wiederholen sich zum Teil, sodass für die Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer auch immer wieder Freiräume entstehen, die sie für ein persönliches Gespräch mit den Beraterinnen und Beratern nutzen können.

Nähere Informationen sowie ausführliches Programm unter www.kit.edu/studieren/3275.php

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9.300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieurs-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 26.000 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen.

le, 27.06.2011

Weiterer Kontakt:

Margarete Lehné
Stellvertretende Pressesprecherin
Tel.: +49 721 608-48121
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
margarete lehneOsl9∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseHnb5∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.