Home | deutsch  | Plain Language | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Contact:
Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseGph2∂kit edu

Press Release 100/2011

Visolas Wins CyberOne Award

Spin-off Founded by Researchers of Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) Is Granted Award for the Best Research Commercialization in 2011 by Independent Expert Jury
Nahmen den CyberOne Sonderpreis für Visolas in Empfang (v.l.): Stefan Hengsbach,  Thomas Woggon, Johannes Barth und Peter Greiner. (Foto: bwcon)
Winners of the CyberOne Special Award for Visolas (from left to right): Stefan Hengsbach, Thomas Woggon, Johannes Barth, and Peter Greiner. (Photo: bwcon)

With its noise-free and spectrally pure light, the organic laser “Visolas do” among others improves the analysis of samples in medicine. KIT scientists developed this novel laser technology that is now commercialized by Visolas GmbH founded in May. Customers are manufacturers in the field of spectroscopy and scientific and industrial companies with measurement and analysis tasks. For its innovative approach, the spin-off was granted the Special CyberOne High-tech Award of the state of Baden-Württemberg.

“In spectroscopy, that is measurement with light at variable wavelengths, colored light is required for the analysis of samples in medicine, science or industrial practice,” explains Thomas Woggon, Managing Director of Visolas GmbH and scientist of the Light Technology Institute (LTI) of KIT. “With light, scientists can measure very rapidly and discover smallest traces of substances. So far, the light required for analysis was filtered out of a white light source. This light, however, is of limited quality. Hence, lasers play an important role, but the lasers used so far are very large, complex, and difficult to operate and cannot be used in an economically efficient manner.”

VISOLAS has now succeeded in combining the flexibility of dye lasers with a low-cost and compact design. The new organic solid-state lasers use an optical grating as resonator and can be produced in a few process steps only. They generate noise-free and spectrally pure light that considerably enhances the quality of spectroscopic measurements. An additional advantage consists in the fact that the easy-to-operate and compact device can produce any colors in the visible range. The costs of these lasers are far below those of dye laser devices. The company applies an innovative technology based on polymers. The laser chip platform developed can produce the visible wavelengths required for analysis with a small expenditure in a rapid and stepless manner.

VISOLAS GmbH is the result of a close cooperation of the Light Technology Institute (LTI) with the Institute of Microstructure Technology (IMT) of KIT. The team consists of the three founders Peter Greiner, Thomas Woggon, Johannes Barth, and of Stefan Hengsbach. It is supported scientifically by the co-founders Professor Uli Lemmer, Head of LTI, and Dr. Timo Mappes, IMT. Close cooperation between LTI and IMT resulted in the production of a high-performance organic semiconductor laser by replication of micro- and nanometer structures. This laser may be applied as a robust, inexpensive laser light source. “Organic semiconductors are applied in OLEDS already, which are used in displays of mobile phones and to an increasing extent in illumination technology,” says Professor Uli Lemmer. “As processing is inexpensive, use for lasers increases as well.”

Apart from scientific institutes, VISOLAS also addresses equipment manufacturers in the field of spectroscopy and industrial companies with measurement and analysis tasks. “We have conducted extensive research and development and are now commercializing the new laser generation “Visolas do”. We are very satisfied with the result that is a sound basis for further innovation,” says the Managing Director of VISOLAS, Peter Greiner.

The young enterprise intends to offer for the first time organic solid-state lasers in the form of autonomous devices. These devices will make available laser light for analysis technology (spectroscopy), which can be adjusted freely in frequency (color).

Since late 2010, VISOLAS has been funded by the Federal Ministry of Economics and Technology as a technology transfer project under the EXIST research transfer program. 

Further information on VISOLAS GmbH is provided by a video at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CnmLWQQ-eBs and www.visolas.de.

 

 

Being „The Research University in the Helmholtz Association“, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 25,100 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life.

sk, 16.06.2011

Press contact:

Saskia Kutscheidt
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing
Phone: +49 721 608-48120
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
saskia kutscheidtGra9∂kit edu


The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Presseinformation 100/2011

Visolas gewinnt CyberOne-Preis

Eine unabhängige Fachjury zeichnet die Ausgründung von Forschern des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie (KIT) für die beste Forschungskommerzialisierung des Jahres 2011 aus
Nahmen den CyberOne Sonderpreis für Visolas in Empfang (v.l.): Stefan Hengsbach,  Thomas Woggon, Johannes Barth und Peter Greiner. (Foto: bwcon)
Nahmen den CyberOne Sonderpreis für Visolas in Empfang (v.l.): Stefan Hengsbach, Thomas Woggon, Johannes Barth und Peter Greiner. (Foto: bwcon)

Er erzeugt rauschfreies und spektral reines Licht – damit verbessert der organische Laser „Visolas do“ unter anderem die Analyse von Proben in der Medizin. KIT-Wissenschaftler entwickelten die neuartige Lasertechnologie, mit der sich das im Mai gegründete Spin-off VISOLAS GmbH an Hersteller im Bereich der Spektroskopie sowie Wissenschafts- und Industriezweige mit Mess- und Analyseaufgaben wendet. Für den innovativen Ansatz erhielt die Ausgründung nun den Sonderpreis des Landes Baden-Württemberg beim Hightech Award CyberOne.

„In der Spektroskopie, also dem Messen mit Licht in unterschiedlichen Wellenlängen, wird farbiges Licht benötigt, beispielsweise für die Analyse von Proben in der Medizin, der Wissenschaft oder der industriellen Praxis“, erklärt Thomas Woggon, Geschäftsführer der VISOLAS GmbH und Wissenschaftler am Lichttechnischen Institut (LTI) des KIT. „Mit Licht können Wissenschaftler sehr schnell messen und bereits kleinste Spuren von Substanzen entdecken. Bisher wurde das für Analysen benötigte Licht aus einer weißen Lichtquelle herausgefiltert, dieses Licht stößt in Bezug auf die Qualität jedoch an seine Grenzen. Eine bedeutende Rolle spielen daher Laser – die bisherigen Varianten sind allerdings sehr groß, komplex und schwer zu bedienen und in der Breite nicht wirtschaftlich einsetzbar.“

VISOLAS ist es nun gelungen, die Flexibilität von Farbstofflasern mit einem kostengünstigen und kompakten Design zu verbinden: Die neuen organischen Festkörperlaser nutzen ein optisches Gitter als Resonator und sind mit wenigen Prozessschritten herstellbar. Damit kann ein rauschfreies und spektral reines Licht erzeugt werden, das die Qualität spektroskopischer Messungen deutlich verbessert. Der Vorteil der neuartigen Technologie ist zudem, dass mit einem leicht bedienbaren und kompakten Gerät beliebige Farben im sichtbaren Bereich erzeugt werden können. Außerdem liegen die Kosten dieser Laser weit unter jenen für Farbstofflasergeräte. Das Unternehmen greift dafür auf eine innovative Technologie auf Polymerbasis zurück – die entwickelte Laserchip-Plattform ist in der Lage, die für eine Analyse benötigten sichtbaren Wellenlängen mit wenig Aufwand schnell und stufenlos zu erzeugen.

Die VISOLAS GmbH ist als Ausgründung aus einer engen Zusammenarbeit des Lichttechnischen Instituts (LTI) mit dem Institut für Mikrostrukturtechnik (IMT) des KIT hervorgegangen. Das Team setzt sich aus den drei Gründern Peter Greiner, Thomas Woggon, Johannes Barth sowie Stefan Hengsbach zusammen und wird auf wissenschaftlicher Seite von den Mitgründern Professor Uli Lemmer, Leiter des LTI, und Dr. Timo Mappes vom IMT unterstützt. Durch die enge Kooperation des LTI mit dem IMT konnte mit der Vervielfältigung von Mikro- und Nanometerstrukturen ein leistungsfähiger organischer Halbleiterlaser erzeugt werden, der beispielsweise als robuste, kostengünstige Laserlichtquelle einsetzbar ist. „Organische Halbleiter haben ihre Anwendung bereits bei den OLEDS gefunden, also Baulementen, die in Displays wie in Mobiltelefonen eingesetzt werden, aber zunehmend auch in der Beleuchtungstechnik“, sagt Professor Uli Lemmer. „Zunehmend finden sie auch bei den Lasern aufgrund ihrer kostengünstigen Verarbeitung Anwendung.“

Neben wissenschaftlichen Instituten wendet sich VISOLAS an Gerätehersteller im Bereich der Spektroskopie sowie Industriezweige mit Mess- und Analyseaufgaben. „Wir haben intensiv geforscht und entwickelt und bringen mit ‚Visolas do’ die neue Lasergeneration auf den Markt. Das Ergebnis stimmt uns sehr zufrieden, da es den Grundstein zu weiteren Innovationen legt“ sagt der VISOLAS-Geschäftsführer Peter Greiner.

Das junge Unternehmen beabsichtigt, organische Festkörper-Laser erstmals in Form autonomer Geräte anzubieten, welche in der Frequenz (Farbe) frei einstellbares Laserlicht für die Analysetechnik (Spektroskopie) zur Verfügung stellen.

VISOLAS wird als Technologietransfer aus der Wissenschaft seit Ende 2010 über das EXIST-Forschungstransfer Programm vom Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Technologie gefördert.

Weitere Informationen zur VISOLAS GmbH gibt es im Video unter folgendem Link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CnmLWQQ-eBs sowie unter www.visolas.de.

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) verbindet seine drei Kernaufgaben Forschung, Lehre und Innovation zu einer Mission. Mit rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern sowie 25 000 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der großen natur- und ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas.

KIT – Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft

sk, 16.06.2011

Weiterer Kontakt:

Saskia Kutscheidt
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing
Tel.: +49 721 608-48120
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
saskia kutscheidtUyy4∂kit edu