Press Release 095/2011

Competence Measurement Put to Test

KIT’s House of Competence (HoC) Organizes Conference “Competences in Competence Measurement” Together With Two Sections of the German Sociological Association
Absolventen sollen vielfältige Fähigkeiten mitbringen – bei der zweitägigen Konferenz stehen Fragen rund um die Kompetenzmessung an Hochschulen im Fokus. (Foto: JKohl)
Graduates are to have a number of skills. The two conference days will cover aspects of competence measurement at universities. (Photo: JKohl)

To assure the quality of academic teaching and learning, competences are to be measured also at universities in the future – this is not least a requirement by education policy. The background and impacts of increasing competence measurement will be in the focus of expert presentations and discussions on Friday, July 01, and Saturday, July 02, 2011, at the IHK-Haus der Wirtschaft, Karlsruhe. Journalists are cordially invited. The registration deadline will expire on Wednesday, June 15, 2011.

Among others, representatives of several universities will discuss competence measurement and possible alternatives. In addition, the experts will talk about the increasing social relevance of competence (measurement) and the associated change of education conceptions.

“With the new, more profession-oriented courses of studies, the relevance of competences and teaching exceeding the borders of a single discipline has increased as well. The labor market and enterprises increasingly need actors possessing both specialized knowledge and interdisciplinary know-how. In this context, HoC is a major actor and has to position itself in competence modeling, competence acquisition, and diagnosis,” explains Professor Michaela Pfadenhauer from HoC. “This interdisciplinary conference is therefore intended to stimulate discussion about competence acquisition and measurement at KIT.”

The group of national and international experts also includes colleagues from KIT: KIT professor Ulrich Ebner-Priemer, HoC, will talk about “Ambulatory Assessment – A Technology-oriented Approach to Competence Measurement in the Everyday Life of Students at the House of Competence”. The Karlsruhe Teaching Model for Product Development (KaLeP) will be subject of a presentation given by Professor Albert Albers from the Institute of Product Engineering (IPEK). KaLeP is a consistent training system tailored to the development process in practice and intended to convey competence in product development. The competences needed to measure professional competence in technical and commercial expert work will be explained by Professor Martin Fischer from the Institute of Vocational Education and Training and General Pedagogics.

The House of Competence is the central research-based KIT institution for interdisciplinary competence development of students. Apart from fundamental research into specific dimensions of competence and change of social education conceptions, HoC conducts applied research into the development of individual learning and support programs. Major contributions are made among others by the hiper.campus research group and the two professorships at HoC for sociology (Michaela Pfadenhauer) and for applied psychology (Ulrich Ebner-Priemer).

The program and further information on online registration can be found at http://www.pfadenhauer-soziologie.de/?p=2044. The registration deadline will be Wednesday, June 15, 2011.

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,600 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 23,300 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

sk, 08.06.2011
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseEru0∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Saskia Kutscheidt
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing
Phone: +49 721 608-48120
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
saskia kutscheidtSnl9∂kit edu


The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail

Presseinformation 095/2011

Kompetenzmessung auf dem Prüfstand

Das House of Competence (HoC) des KIT organisiert mit zwei Sektionen der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Soziologie die Veranstaltung „Kompetenzen in der Kompetenzerfassung”
Absolventen sollen vielfältige Fähigkeiten mitbringen – bei der zweitägigen Konferenz stehen Fragen rund um die Kompetenzmessung an Hochschulen im Fokus. (Foto: JKohl)
Absolventen sollen vielfältige Fähigkeiten mitbringen – bei der zweitägigen Konferenz stehen Fragen rund um die Kompetenzmessung an Hochschulen im Fokus. (Foto: JKohl)

Um die Qualität des akademischen Lehrens und Lernens zu sichern, sollen auch an Hochschulen künftig Kompetenzen gemessen werden – dies ist nicht zuletzt eine Forderung der Bildungspolitik. Die Hintergründe und Folgewirkungen zunehmender Kompetenzmessung beleuchtet die zweitägige Veranstaltung mit Expertenvorträgen und Diskussionen am Freitag, 1. Juli und Samstag, 2. Juli 2011, im IHK-Haus der Wirtschaft in Karlsruhe. Journalisten sind herzlich eingeladen – Anmeldeschluss ist am Mittwoch, 15. Juni 2011.

Die Vertreter verschiedener Hochschulen diskutieren unter anderem Verfahren der Kompetenzmessung und mögliche Alternativen hierzu. Darüber hinaus erörtern die Experten die zunehmende gesellschaftliche Bedeutung von Kompetenz(-erfassung) und den damit verbundenen Wandel von Bildungsvorstellungen.

„Mit den neuen, stärker berufsorientierten Studiengängen ist auch die Relevanz überfachlicher Kompetenzen und überfachlicher Lehre gestiegen. Arbeitsmarkt und Unternehmen brauchen zunehmend Akteure, die sowohl Spezialwissen als auch Brückenwissen mitbringen. Das HoC ist in diesem Kontext ein wichtiger Akteur und muss sich deshalb zu Fragen der Kompetenzmodellierung, -erfassung und -diagnostik positionieren“, erklärt Professorin Michaela Pfadenhauer vom HoC. „Mit der interdisziplinären Konferenz wollen wir daher am KIT einen Diskurs zur Kompetenzerfassung anregen.“

In der Runde nationaler und internationaler Experten sind deshalb auch Kollegen vom KIT vertreten: Über „Ambulatory Assessment – Ein technikorientierter Zugang zur Kompetenzerfassung im Alltag Studierender am House of Competence“ referiert dabei KIT-Professor Ulrich Ebner-Priemer vom HoC. Das Karlsruher Lehrmodell für Produktentwicklung (KaLeP) ist Thema eines Vortrags von Professor Albert Albers vom Institut für Produktentwicklung (IPEK). KaLeP ist ein durchgängiges Ausbildungssystem, das sich am Entwicklungsprozess der Praxis orientiert und Produktentwicklungskompetenz vermitteln will. Welche Kompetenzen man dagegen braucht, um berufliche Handlungskompetenz im Bereich technisch-gewerblicher Facharbeit zu messen, erläutert Professor Martin Fischer vom Institut für Berufspädagogik und Allgemeine Pädagogik in seinem Vortrag.

Das House of Competence ist die zentrale forschungsbasierte Einrichtung am KIT zur fächerübergreifenden Kompetenzentwicklung für Studierende. Neben einer grundlagenorientierten Forschung zu spezifischen Kompetenzdimensionen sowie zum Wandel gesellschaftlicher Bildungsvorstellungen wird am HoC zur Entwicklung individueller Lern- und Unterstützungsprogramme anwendungsorientiert geforscht. Wichtige Beiträge leisten unter anderem die Research Group hiper.campus sowie die beiden Professuren am HoC: für Soziologie (Michaela Pfadenhauer) und für Angewandte Psychologie (Ulrich Ebner-Priemer).

Das Programm sowie weitere Informationen zur Online-Anmeldung finden sich unter http://www.pfadenhauer-soziologie.de/?p=2044. Der Anmeldeschluss ist am Mittwoch, 15. Juni 2011.

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) ist eine Körperschaft des öffentlichen Rechts nach den Gesetzen des Landes Baden-Württemberg. Es nimmt sowohl die Mission einer Universität als auch die Mission eines nationalen Forschungszentrums in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft wahr. Thematische Schwerpunkte der Forschung sind Energie, natürliche und gebaute Umwelt sowie Gesellschaft und Technik, von fundamentalen Fragen bis zur Anwendung. Mit rund 9400 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern, darunter mehr als 6000 in Wissenschaft und Lehre, sowie 24 500 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der größten Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas. Das KIT verfolgt seine Aufgaben im Wissensdreieck Forschung – Lehre – Innovation.

sk, 08.06.2011

Weiterer Kontakt:

Saskia Kutscheidt
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing
Tel.: +49 721 608-48120
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
saskia kutscheidtScp0∂kit edu