Press Release 090/2011

Establishing International Contacts by Bike

tourEUCOR Will Take Place from June 9 to 13 in Germany, France, and Switzerland.
Sattelfest:120  Fahrerinnen und Fahrer von fünf Universitäten radeln  bei der tour-EUCOR durch drei Länder (Foto: tourEUCOR e.V.)
Saddle-fast: 120 bikers from five universities ride through three countries during the tourEUCOR. (Photo: tourEUCOR e.V.)

700 kilometers in five days. Students, professors, staff members, and alumni from institutions of the “European Confederation of Upper Rhine Universities“ (EUCOR) will show that this cannot only be done by professional bikers. From June 9 to 13, they will take part in the tourEUCOR passing the university cities of Karlsruhe, Strasbourg, Mulhouse, Basel, and Freiburg. The bicycle tour is organized by a team of students from Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT).

tourEUCOR will start on June 09 at 8.15 hrs at Karlsruhe Castle. 120 participants will go on the tour of five days’ duration through Germany, France, and Switzerland. “tourEUCOR embodies the idea of the EUCOR Confederation, living international exchange,” says KIT President Horst Hippler, who has been appointed EUCOR president for the second time since late 2010. “On the Upper Rhine with the regions of Basel, the Alsace, and Baden, we have the opportunity to be active in teaching and research in a border-crossing manner. This was realized by the EUCOR universities long ago.”

As in the past years, the participating bikers will be split up into groups of various performance levels: While the ambitious bikers will climb the summits of the Black Forest and Vosges Mountains, the “hobby bikers” will ride on the flatter roads along the river Rhine. Transport of the baggage and catering of the bikers will be organized by an accompanying team of twelve voluntary helpers studying economics.  

Die Aussicht nach dem Anstieg gehört bei der  tourEUCOR zum Programm (Foto: tourEUCOR e.V.)

The view after climbing is part of the
 tourEUCOR program. (Photo: tourEUCOR e.V.)

The sportive highlight of the tour will be the time trial on the 1284 m high Schauinsland mountain in the penultimate stage from Basel to Freiburg on June 12. “Then, the second hand will be in the center of attention. Whoever wishes to do so is free to face the challenge of 650 m in altitude over a distance of 6.5 km only”, says Yannick Zapf from the tourEUCOR organizaton team. “However, highest sports performance is not so important. It is more important to have a joint experience and the opportunity to look beyond country borders and to meet members of other universities during an informal event.“ The students’ association tourEUCOR e.V. organizes the bicycle tour for the 14th time already, in cooperation with the universities involved.

On June 13, tourEUCOR will then return to Karlsruhe. At about 17 hrs, the bikers will arrive at Karlsruhe Castle again. The closing ceremony will then start with a welcome address given by KIT and EUCOR President Horst Hippler at 19 hrs. It will be followed by a show and party program for the participating bikers and the organization team. Representatives of the media are cordially invited.

More information: www.tour-eucor.org

About EUCOR   
The Confederation of Upper Rhine Universities, briefly called EUCOR, was founded in 1989. The border-crossing trinational confederation of universities from Karlsruhe, Freiburg, Strasbourg, Mulhouse, and Basel is unique in Europe. Its basic idea is the pooling of the strenghts of these universities to develop joint research projects and to grant students free access to studies at the other universities.

More information: www.eucor.org

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,600 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 23,300 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

le, 31.05.2011
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseKzc2∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Margarete Lehné
Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41157
Fax: +49 721 608-41157
margarete lehneHvd5∂kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseOqg6∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-41105.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail

Presseinformation 090/2011

Auf dem Rad internationale Kontakte knüpfen

Die tourEUCOR rollt vom 9. bis 13. Juni durch Deutschland, Frankreich und die Schweiz.
Sattelfest:120  Fahrerinnen und Fahrer von fünf Universitäten radeln  bei der tour-EUCOR durch drei Länder (Foto: tourEUCOR e.V.)
Sattelfest:120 Fahrerinnen und Fahrer von fünf Universitäten radeln bei der tour-EUCOR durch drei Länder (Foto: tourEUCOR e.V.)

700 Kilometer in fünf Tagen – dass das nicht nur etwas für Radprofis ist, beweisen Studierende, Professoren, Mitarbeiter und Alumni der Einrichtungen der „Europäischen Konföderation Oberrheinischer Universitäten“, kurz EUCOR: Vom 9. bis 13. Juni führt sie die tourEUCOR durch die Universitätsstädte Karlsruhe, Straßburg, Mulhouse, Basel und Freiburg. Organisiert hat die Radrundfahrt ein bunt gemischtes Studierendenteam des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie (KIT).

Start ist am 9. Juni um 8.15 Uhr am Karlsruher Schloss. 120 Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer absolvieren dann die fünftägige Rundfahrt durch Deutschland, Frankreich und die Schweiz. „Die tourEUCOR verkörpert die Idee des EUCOR-Verbundes – den lebendigen internationalen Austausch – ausgezeichnet", sagt KIT-Präsident Horst Hippler, der seit Ende 2010 zum zweiten Mal auch EUCOR-Präsident ist. „Wir haben am Oberrhein mit den Regionen Basel, Elsass und Baden die Chance, in Lehre und Forschung wirklich länderübergreifend aktiv zu sein – das haben die EUCOR-Universitäten schon lange erkannt."

Das Fahrerfeld wird wie in den vergangenen Jahren in sechs Gruppen mit verschiedenen Leistungsniveaus eingeteilt sein: Während die sportlich ambitionierten Fahrerinnen und Fahrer die Gipfel des Schwarzwaldes und der Vogesen erklimmen, rollen die „Freizeit-Radler“ die flachere Strecke am Rhein entlang. Für den Gepäcktransport und die Verpflegung der Fahrerinnen und Fahrer sorgt ein zwölfköpfiges Begleitteam aus ehrenamtlichen Helfern der Fachschaft Wirtschaftswissenschaften.

Die Aussicht nach dem Anstieg gehört bei der  tourEUCOR zum Programm (Foto: tourEUCOR e.V.)

Die Aussicht nach dem Anstieg gehört bei der tourEUCOR
zum Programm (Foto: tourEUCOR e.V.)

Sportliches Highlight der Tour ist das Bergzeitfahren am 1.284 Meter hohen Schauinsland auf der vorletzten Etappe von Basel nach Freiburg am 12. Juni. „Ausnahmsweise steht dann der Sekundenzeiger im Mittelpunkt. Jeder der möchte kann sich der Herausforderung von 650 Höhenmetern verteilt auf nur etwa sechseinhalb Kilometer stellen“, sagt Yannick Zapf vom Organisationsteam der tourEUCOR. „Grundsätzlich geht es aber weniger um sportliche Höchstleistungen als um das gemeinsame Erlebnis und die Möglichkeit, über Ländergrenzen zu schauen und die Mitglieder der anderen Universitäten in einem lockeren Rahmen kennenzulernen.“ Der studentische Verein tourEUCOR e.V. organisiert die Radrundfahrt bereits zum 14. Mal in enger Zusammenarbeit mit den beteiligten Universitäten.
 
Am 13. Juni kommt die tourEUCOR dann wieder in Karlsruhe an. Zieleinfahrt wird etwa um 17 Uhr am Karlsruher Schloss sein. Der feierliche Abschlussabend beginnt mit einem Grußwort von KIT- und EUCOR-Präsident Horst Hippler um 19 Uhr, daran schließt sich ein Show- und Partyprogramm für Fahrerfeld und Organisationsteam an, zu dem auch Vertreterinnen und Vertreter der Medien eingeladen sind.

Nähere Informationen: www.tour-eucor.org

Über EUCOR    
Die Konföderation der Oberrheinischen Universitäten, kurz EUCOR,  wurde 1989 gegründet. Der grenzüberschreitende Zusammen-schluss der Universitäten aus Karlsruhe, Freiburg, Straßburg, Mulhouse und Basel zu einem trinationalen Hochschulraum ist ein europaweit einzigartiger Verbund. Grundgedanke ist die Vereinigung der Stärken dieser Universitäten, um gemeinsame Forschungsprojekte zu entwickeln und darüber hinaus den Studierenden freien Zugang zum Studienangebot der jeweils anderen Universitäten zu gewährleisten.

Nähere Informationen: www.eucor.org

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) ist eine Körperschaft des öffentlichen Rechts nach den Gesetzen des Landes Baden-Württemberg. Es nimmt sowohl die Mission einer Universität als auch die Mission eines nationalen Forschungszentrums in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft wahr. Thematische Schwerpunkte der Forschung sind Energie, natürliche und gebaute Umwelt sowie Gesellschaft und Technik, von fundamentalen Fragen bis zur Anwendung. Mit rund 9400 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern, darunter mehr als 6000 in Wissenschaft und Lehre, sowie 24 500 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der größten Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas. Das KIT verfolgt seine Aufgaben im Wissensdreieck Forschung – Lehre – Innovation.

le, 31.05.2011

Weiterer Kontakt:

Margarete Lehné
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing
Tel.: +49 721 608-48121
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
margarete lehneLbq2∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseGtw6∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.