Home | deutsch  | Plain Language | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Contact:
Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Press Release 089/2011

Maximilian Haider Is Granted Wolf Prize for Physics

High Merits in Electron Microscopy – Israel’s State President Shimon Peres Handed over the Prize on May 29 in Jerusalem
Wolf-Preis 2011: Der israelische Staatspräsident Shimon Peres (Mitte) mit den Preisträgern – darunter Maximilian Haider (zweiter von rechts).
Wolf Prize 2011: The Israeli State President Shimon Peres (center) with the laureates, including Maximilian Haider (second from right). (Photo: Wolf Foundation)

The physicist Maximilian Haider, honorary professor at KIT, is one of the laureates of this year’s Israeli Wolf Research Prize in the amount of about US$ 100,000 in the category of physics. Haider received the prize on May 29 together with Harald Rose, professor at the Technical University of Darmstadt/Ulm University, and Knut Urban, professor at Jülich Research Center. Israel’s State President Shimon Peres handed over the prize at the Israeli Parliament, the Knesset.

“This distinction of our joint work by the Wolf Foundation at the Knesset is a recognition of my long years spent to bring the resolution of electron microscopy to its theoretical limit,” said Maximilian Haider after the prize ceremony. “We improved a major tool for materials science to a considerable extent and it is now possible to study and to better understand properties of materials on the atomic scale.”

In 1990, the three scientists started a joint project to correct the aberration of electron-optical lenses that had been known for about 60 years. Rose proposed a theoretical concept, Haider implemented it in an instrument. In 1997 already was a breakthrough in the improvement of resolution reached using this laboratory pattern. Aberration is corrected by novel “noncircular” electron optics consisting of so-called magnetic multipoles. They influence the electron beams such that the aberration of an objective lens is compensated, as does a pair of glasses for an ametrope. The result is a strongly improved image resolution.  

In 2001, work of the scientists resulted in the first application-oriented commercial prototype of a new generation of electron microscopes. The new methods allow for the observation of single atoms at a very high resolution of about 50 pictometers. One pictometer corresponds to a billionth of a millimeter and, hence, to a distance that is about a hundred times smaller than the diameter of an atom.

 
Professor Maximilian Haider  (Photo: Private)

Professor Maximilian Haider
(Photo: Private)

Maximilian Haider, who was born in Austria in 1950, founded and manages the CEOS company, Heidelberg, which emerged from the project. Worldwide, 200 microscopes are currently being used at universities and research laboratories on the basis of the new electron optics, of which more than 90% are made by CEOS.

Since 2008, Maximilian Haider has been an honorary professor at Karlsruhe Institute of Technology and member of its Laboratory for Electron Microscopy.

Since 1978, the Wolf Foundation has been granting the prize annually “for merits for the benefit of mankind and amicable relations of the peoples” in the categories of medicine, chemistry, agriculture, physics, and for new concepts in arts. In natural science, the prize is among the most renowned prizes worldwide.

Further information on the Wolf Prize at: http://www.wolffund.org.il/main.asp

 

 

Being „The Research University in the Helmholtz Association“, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 25,500 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life.

lg-le, 30.05.2011

Press contact:

Margarete Lehné
Stellvertretende Pressesprecherin
Phone: +49 721 608-48121
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
margarete lehneJyj5∂kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseBme1∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Leichte Sprache | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-21150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Presseinformation 089/2011

Maximilian Haider erhält Wolf-Preis für Physik

Hohe Verdienste in der Elektronenmikroskopie – Israels Staatpräsident Shimon Peres verlieh den Preis am 29. Mai in Jerusalem
Wolf-Preis 2011: Der israelische Staatspräsident Shimon Peres (Mitte) mit den Preisträgern – darunter Maximilian Haider (zweiter von rechts).
Wolf-Preis 2011: Der israelische Staatspräsident Shimon Peres (Mitte) mit den Preisträgern – darunter Maximilian Haider (zweiter von rechts). (Foto: Wolf Foundation)

Der Physiker Maximilian Haider, Honorarprofessor am KIT, ist einer der Preisträger des diesjährigen mit rund 100.000 Dollar dotierten israelischen Wolf-Forschungspreises in der Kategorie Physik. Haider erhielt die Auszeichnung am 29. Mai gemeinsam mit Harald Rose, Professor an der Technischen Universität Darmstadt/Universität Ulm und Knut Urban, Professor am For-schungszentrum Jülich. Israels Staatspräsident Shimon Peres verlieh den Preis im israelischen Parlament, der Knesset.

„Die Auszeichnung unserer gemeinsamen Arbeit durch die Wolf Foundation in der Knesset stellt für mich eine Anerkennung des jahrelangen Bemühens dar, die Auflösung in der Elektronenmikroskopie an die theoretische Grenze zu führen“, sagte Maximilian Haider nach der Preisverleihung. „Damit konnte ein wichtiges Werkzeug für die Materialwissenschaft wesentlich verbessert werden und damit können nun Eigenschaften von Materialien auf atomarer Ebene untersucht und besser verstanden werden."

Die drei Wissenschaftler begannen 1990 ein gemeinsames Projekt, das zum Ziel hatte, die seit etwa 60 Jahren bekannten Bildfehler elektronenoptischer Linsen zu korrigieren. Dazu schlug Rose ein theoretisches Konzept vor, Haider realisierte dies in einem Gerät. Bereits 1997 konnte mit diesem Labormuster eine bahnbrechende Auflösungsverbesserung nachgewiesen werden. Die Korrektur der Bildfehler wird dabei durch neuartige „unrunde“ Elektronenoptiken,  die aus sogenannten magnetischen Multipolen bestehen, ermöglicht. Diese beeinflussen die Elektronenstrahlen so, dass die Bildfehler einer Objektivlinse kompensiert werden – wie bei einem Fehlsichtigen eine Brille. Das Ergebnis ist eine stark verbesserte Bildauflösung.

Aus der Arbeit der Wissenschaftler ging 2001 der erste anwendungsorientierte kommerzielle Prototyp einer neuen Generation von Elektronenmikroskopen hervor. Die neuen Methoden ermöglichen die Beobachtung einzelner Atome in einer sehr hohen Auflösung von etwa 50 Pikometern. Ein Pikometer entspricht dabei dem Milliardstel Teil eines Millimeters und damit einer Distanz, die etwa hundertmal kleiner ist als der Durchmesser eines Atoms.

Maximilian Haider, 1950 in Österreich geboren, ist Gründer und Leiter der Firma CEOS, Heidelberg, die aus dem Projekt hervorgegangen ist. Weltweit sind heute 200 Mikroskope in Universitäten und Forschungslaboren auf der Basis der neuen bahnbrechenden Elektronenoptik im Einsatz, die zu über 90 Prozent von der Firma CEOS stammen.

Maximilian Haider ist seit 2008 Honorarprofessor am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie und Mitglied des dortigen Laboratoriums für Elektronenmikroskopie.

Die Wolf-Stiftung vergibt den Preis seit 1978 jährlich für „Verdienste zum Wohle der Menschheit und freundschaftliche Beziehungen unter den Völkern“  in den Kategorien Medizin, Chemie, Landwirtschaft, Physik sowie für neue Konzepte in der Kunst. In den Naturwissenschaften zählt er zu den renommiertesten Preisen weltweit.

Weitere Informationen zum Wolf-Preis unter: http://www.wolffund.org.il/main.asp

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieur-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 25 500 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen.

lg-le, 30.05.2011

Weiterer Pressekontakt:

Margarete Lehné
stellv. Pressesprecherin
Tel.: +49 721 608-21157
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
margarete lehneVsu7∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in der höchsten uns vorliegenden Qualität angefordert werden unter:
presseQuj1∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414.

Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.