Home | deutsch  | Plain Language | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Contact:
Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseLzr5∂kit edu

Press Release 083/2011

Erna Scheffler Sponsorship Award for KIT Graduates

Karlsruhe Soroptimist Club Grants Awards to a Particle Physicist and a Biologist
Licht ins Dunkel: Der Erna-Scheffler-Förderpreis würdigt herausragende Leistungen junger Wissenschaftlerinnen. (Foto: KIT, Nils Gräber)
Light into darkness: The Erna Scheffler Sponsorship Award acknowledges excellent achievements of young female scientists. (Photo: photocase.de)

For the eighth time now, the Karlsruhe Soroptimist Club grants the Erna Scheffler Sponsorship Award to young women at KIT for excellent scientific achievements. The award is named after the first female judge at the Federal Constitutional Court in Germany, Dr. Erna Scheffler, who emphatically spoke up for equal opportunities of women. This year, the award goes to the particle physicist Dr. Jennifer Girrbach and to the biologist Christina Gottselig. Journalists are cordially invited to come to the awards ceremony on Friday, May 27, 17 hrs, at the Federal Constitutional Court. 

The award that is granted every two years, is split up into an award in the amount of EUR 4000 for a Ph. D. thesis and an award in the amount of EUR 1000 for a diploma thesis. The Ph. D. thesis award goes to Dr. Jennifer Girrbach for her thesis written at the KIT Institute for Theoretical Particle Physics, in which she studies a so-called supersymmetric grand unified model. This model extends the standard model of particle physics that mathematically describes all experimental data on fundamental forces of nature, but leaves some questions open. Supersymmetric unified models can bring the different natural forces together and explain the nature of the dark matter that surrounds us in the universe. Three families of components of matter are distinguished. Particles of the first family, including the two types of quarks in atomic nuclei and the electron, form stable matter, of which we are made up and that surrounds us on Earth. The second and third families consist of heavier copies of these particles that can be generated in the laboratory. The decays of these particles into their lighter partners furnish experimental evidence of supersymmetry and grand unification. The heavy relatives of the electron are named muon and tau lepton. Under emission of a light particle, a tau-lepton may decay into a muon or a muon into an electron, for instance. Girrbach has calculated how often such decays may occur, if the idea of supersymmetric unified theories would be real.  

The diploma thesis award goes to Christina Gottselig for her thesis written at the Chair of Biochemistry and KIT Institute for Biological Interfaces (IBG-2). Her thesis focuses on Tat translocase, a transport system, by means of which bacteria can transport large folded proteins through the membrane to the outside. During this process, the small subunit TatA forms a pore. If it is succeeded in identifying the structure of this translocation pore and, hence, the exact transport mechanism, the translocation apparatus might be used as a point of attack of new antimicrobial medicine. To study the formation of the TatA pore in the membrane, Christina Gottselig produced various TatA protein mutants by genetic engineering and introduced cysteine building blocks at certain points. Depending on their positions, they are to cause the protein to interloop, to link to a neighbor, or to couple to a fluorescent dye.

The Karlsruhe Soroptimist Club belongs to Soroptimist International (SI), the largest international service organization of working women. SI was founded in Oakland, California/USA, in 1921 and today has about 100,000 members in 125 countries worldwide. Presently, 195 service clubs with more than 5700 active members exist in Germany. Soroptimists are committed to the legal, social, and professional status of women. The name comes from the Latin “sorores ad optimum“ and means “sisters wishing the best”. In Karlsruhe, the Soroptimist Club has been existing since 1963. The founding president was Dr. Erna Scheffler. Today, the club has about 40 members working in different professions.
 
For this year’s awards ceremony, the President of the Federal Constitutional Court, Professor Andreas Voßkuhle, took over the auspices. Monika Hermanns, judge at the Federal Constitutional Court, will present the welcome address. 
 
Important: For reasons of security, it is required to register for the awards ceremony at the Federal Constitutional Court under
protokollOxm1∂bundesverfassungsgericht de. Kindly bring along your identity card for the entry control by the Federal Police.

 

 

 


Being „The Research University in the Helmholtz Association“, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 25,100 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life.

or, 20.05.2011


The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail

Presseinformation 083/2011

Erna-Scheffler-Förderpreis für KIT-Absolventinnen

Soroptomist Club Karlsruhe zeichnet eine Teilchenphysikerin und eine Biologin aus
Licht ins Dunkel: Der Erna-Scheffler-Förderpreis würdigt herausragende Leistungen junger Wissenschaftlerinnen. (Foto: KIT, Nils Gräber)
Licht ins Dunkel: Der Erna-Scheffler-Förderpreis würdigt herausragende Leistungen junger Wissenschaftlerinnen. (Foto: photocase.de)

Für herausragende wissenschaftliche Leistungen junger Frauen am KIT verleiht der Soroptimist Club Karlsruhe zum achten Mal den Erna-Scheffler-Förderpreis. Die Auszeichnung ist benannt nach der ersten Bundesverfassungsrichterin in Deutschland, Dr. Erna Scheffler, die sich nachdrücklich für die Gleichstellung der Frau einsetzte. Dieses Jahr geht der Preis an die Teilchenphysikerin Dr. Jennifer Girrbach und an die Biologin Christina Gottselig. Zur Preisverleihung am Freitag, 27. Mai, um 17 Uhr im Bundesverfassungsgericht sind Journalistinnen und Journalisten herzlich eingeladen.

Die alle zwei Jahre verliehene Auszeichnung ist aufgeteilt in einen mit 4.000 Euro dotierten Preis für eine Dissertation und einen mit 1.000 Euro dotierten Preis für eine Diplomarbeit. Den Dissertationspreis erhält Dr. Jennifer Girrbach für ihre am Institut für Theoretische Teilchenphysik des KIT angefertigte Arbeit, in der sie ein sogenanntes supersymmetrisches vereinheitlichtes Modell untersucht. Dieses Modell erweitert das Standardmodell der Teilchenphysik, das zwar fast alle experimentellen Daten zu fundamentalen Naturkräften mathematisch gut beschreibt, aber Fragen offen lässt. So können supersymmetrische vereinheitlichte Modelle die unterschiedlichen Naturkräfte zusammenführen und bieten eine Erklärung für die Natur der Dunklen Materie, die uns im Universum umgibt. Die Bausteine der Materie gruppieren sich in drei Familien. Die Teilchen der ersten Familie – dazu gehören die zwei Arten Quarks in den Atomkernen und das Elektron – bilden die stabile Materie, aus der wir bestehen und die uns auf der Erde umgibt. Die zweite und dritte Familie umfasst schwerere Kopien dieser Teilchen, die sich im Labor erzeugen lassen. Die Zerfälle dieser Teilchen in ihre leichteren Partner bieten die Möglichkeit, experimentelle Hinweise auf Supersymmetrie und große Vereinheitlichung zu finden. Die schweren Verwandten des Elektrons heißen Myon und Tau-Lepton. Unter Aussendung eines Lichtteilchens könnte beispielsweise ein Tau-Lepton in ein Myon oder ein Myon in ein Elektron zerfallen. Girrbach hat berechnet, wie häufig solche Zerfälle auftreten können, wenn die Idee supersymmetrischer vereinheitlichter Theorien realisiert ist.
 
Mit dem Diplompreis wird Christina Gottselig für ihre am Lehrstuhl für Biochemie und Institut für Biologische Grenzflächen (IBG-2) des KIT verfasste Arbeit ausgezeichnet. Sie befasst sich darin mit der Tat Translokase, einem Transportsystem, mit dem Bakterien große Proteine gefaltet durch die Membran nach außen transportieren können. Dabei bildet die kleine Untereinheit TatA eine Pore aus. Wenn es gelingt, den strukturellen Aufbau dieser Translokationspore und damit den genauen Transportmechanismus aufzuklären, könnte der Translokationsapparat als Angriffsziel für neue antimikrobielle Medikamente dienen. Um die Ausbildung der TatA-Pore in der Membran zu erforschen, hat Christina Gottselig verschiedene TatA-Proteinmutanten gentechnisch hergestellt, in welche sie an bestimmten Stellen Cystein-Bausteine eingebracht hat. Je nach ihrer Position sollen sie das Protein dazu bringen, sich entweder mit sich selbst zu verknoten, sich mit einem Nachbarn zu verknüpfen oder auch einen Fluoreszenzfarbstoff an sich zu koppeln.
 
Der Soroptimist Club Karlsruhe gehört zu Soroptimist International (SI), der größten internationalen Serviceorganisation berufstätiger Frauen. SI wurde 1921 in Oakland, Kalifornien/USA gegründet und hat heute insgesamt rund 100.000 Mitglieder in 125 Ländern der Welt. In Deutschland bestehen derzeit 195 Serviceclubs mit mehr als 5.700 aktiven Mitgliedern. Soroptimistinnen engagieren sich in Fragen der rechtlichen, sozialen und beruflichen Stellung der Frau. Ihr Name ist abgeleitet von lateinisch „sorores ad optimum“ und bedeutet soviel wie „Schwestern, die das Beste wollen“. In Karlsruhe besteht der Soroptimist Club seit 1963; Gründungspräsidentin war Dr. Erna Scheffler. Heute hat der Club rund 40 Mitglieder mit verschiedenen Berufen.
 
Für die diesjährige Preisverleihung hat der Präsident des Bundesverfassungsgerichtes, Professor Andreas Voßkuhle, die Schirmherrschaft übernommen. Monika Hermanns, Richterin des Bundesverfassungsgerichts, spricht das Grußwort.
 
Wichtiger Hinweis: Aus Sicherheitsgründen ist eine Anmeldung zur Preisverleihung beim Bundesverfassungsgericht unter protokollUvv8∂bundesverfassungsgericht de erforderlich. Wegen der Einlasskontrolle durch die Bundespolizei bitte Personalausweis mitbringen.


 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) ist eine Körperschaft des öffentlichen Rechts nach den Gesetzen des Landes Baden-Württemberg. Es nimmt sowohl die Mission einer Universität als auch die Mission eines nationalen Forschungszentrums in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft wahr. Thematische Schwerpunkte der Forschung sind Energie, natürliche und gebaute Umwelt sowie Gesellschaft und Technik, von fundamentalen Fragen bis zur Anwendung. Mit rund 9400 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern, darunter mehr als 6000 in Wissenschaft und Lehre, sowie 24 500 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der größten Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas. Das KIT verfolgt seine Aufgaben im Wissensdreieck Forschung – Lehre – Innovation.

or, 20.05.2011