Press Release 082/2011

Successful Studies of Mathematics, Informatics, Natural Sciences, and Engineering

Joint Course of Lectures of KIT and Stuttgart University to Be Funded under the “Pact for Teaching Quality” by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research
Einstieg mit Optimismus: Das MINT-Kolleg erleichtert den Start ins Studium der Natur- und Ingenieurwissenschaften (Foto: KIT).
Optimistic start: The MINT course of lectures facilitates the start of studies of natural sciences and engineering. (Photo: Harry Marx)

Experts in mathematics, informatics, natural sciences, and engineering will be needed in the long term in Germany as a location of high technology. Still, only few secondary school graduates decide in favor of these studies. They are considered to be difficult, quit rates are high. A comprehensive starter training will be offered by the MINT-Kolleg of Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) and Stuttgart University from the 2011/2012 winter semester. Funding will be provided by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research under the “Pact for Teaching Quality”.

The demand for job starters in the fields of mathematics, informatics, natural sciences, and engineering is growing constantly and will even rise in the long term. However, the number of university graduates in these subjects is stagnating. This is evident from the study “Sustainable University Strategies for More Graduates in Mathematics, Informatics, Natural Sciences, and Engineering” that was carried out by the Stifterverband für die Deutsche Wissenschaft (Funding Association for German Science) and the Heinz Nixdorf Foundation. Among the causes are the difficult transition from school to studies of natural sciences and engineering, individual knowledge gaps of freshmen, and insufficient counseling and mentoring at schools and universities. KIT and Stuttgart University have now reacted by establishing the MINT-Kolleg Baden-Wuerttenberg: With preliminary courses, lessons, online learning programs, and lectures on working life, this course is interlinked with university studies and facilitates the start of studies and selection of the final study program after the first two or three semesters. This concept of the MINT-Kolleg is unique in Germany and intended to prepare students for the special learning and work requirements in natural sciences and engineering.

“With the MINT-Kolleg, we are building a bridge for the students to start their specialized studies. Here, they are povided with the necessary information for successful graduation,” says the Vice Rector for Academic Affairs and Continuing Education of Stuttgart University, Professor Frank Gießelmann. “By an individual competence diagnosis and expert support, if necessary, as well as by specific counselling, the freshmen are given optimum support in the MINT-Kolleg,” explains Professor Jürgen Becker, Chief Higher Education Officer of KIT. The Joint Science Conference selected the MINT-Kolleg for funding in the first round of the “Pact for Teaching Quality” launched by the Federal Government and the Federal States in May this year. With federal funds, the program supports concepts for improving study conditions and teaching quality. The MINT-Kolleg will presumably be financed with EUR 7.8 million for a duration of five years at both Karlsruhe and Stuttgart.

At the MINT-Kolleg Baden-Wuerttemberg, pupils interested in studies and freshmen will have the opportunity to test their knowledge level online and to be given advice. Lessons are given optionally during lecture time in modules of fourteen days each (seven modules of two weeks each per semester). The online learning programs are run throughout the year and contain the matters to be learnt as well as exercises, model solutions, and milestones for performance control. In addition to the studies, lectures will provide information on the subjects and jobs relating to mathematics, informatics, natural sciences, and engineering. Chances of women in particular will be highlighted. The program will be completed by an introduction to working techniques, the use of university facilities, such as libraries, computing centers, and laboratories, programming courses, engineering exercises, and seminars. Apart from this program of two semesters’ duration, the MINT-Kolleg Baden-Wuerttemberg will also offer preliminary courses in mathematics in September. Here, freshmen will have the opportunity to refresh and deepen their knowledge. In this way, participants will be prepared for the mathematic contents of technical, scientific, and economic study courses. In addition, practical training in physics and chemistry and a Java programming course will take place in September 2011.

The first students will start the MINT-Kolleg in the 2011/2012 winter semester. Participation will be possible on a voluntary basis by all students who have registered for the corresponding study courses with Stuttgart University or KIT and in particular by students who feel uncertain about the study course selected. Participants in the MINT-Kolleg may already pass certain modules and practical exercises of their studies and, thus, relieve the burden that will be associated with later study phases.

The MINT-Kolleg will start officially with the beginning of the lectures on October 17. Interested students may also start after the Christmas holidays and at the beginning of the summer semester. All offers can be used flexibly and it will be possible to react quickly when detecting deficits in the first semester. The preliminary course in mathematics will take place at Stuttgart University from September 19 to October 12. Registration is possible already. The preliminary course in mathematics at KIT will start on September 5 and also take four weeks. Practical training in physics and chemistry will start on September 12 and take two weeks. The Java programming course will take place from September 12 to 30 (start of registration in mid-June).

More information on the contents and application may be obtained on the online platform www.mint-kolleg.de that started in April and is being updated constantly.


   
Stuttgart University with about 21,000 students pursues an interdisciplinary profile with focuses on natural sciences and engineering. Its excellent position as a research university that is active worldwide is reflected among others by the cluster of excellence “Simulation Technology,” the graduate school “Advanced Manufacturing Engineering”, and a number of collaborative research centers and research units.

 


Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,600 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 23,300 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

le, 20.05.2011
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseUvt9∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

MINT-Kolleg Karlsruher Institut für Technologie Andrea Nitsche Tel.: + 49 721 608-41992 E-Mail:andrea nitscheTck0∂kit edu Universität Stuttgart Dr. Raphael Krug Tel.: +49 711 685-84216 E-Mail:krugCbd5∂mint-kolleg de
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseHyt5∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-41105.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail

Presseinformation 082/2011

MINT-Fächer erfolgreich studieren

Gemeinsames Kolleg von KIT und Universität Stuttgart zur Förderung im „Qualitätspakt Lehre“ des Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung ausgewählt
Einstieg mit Optimismus: Das MINT-Kolleg erleichtert den Start ins Studium der Natur- und Ingenieurwissenschaften (Foto: KIT).
Einstieg mit Optimismus: Das MINT-Kolleg erleichtert den Start ins Studium der Natur- und Ingenieurwissenschaften (Foto: Harry Marx).

Fachkräfte aus Mathematik, Informatik, Naturwissenschaft und Technik (MINT) sind am Hightech-Standort Deutschland langfristig gefragt. Trotzdem entscheiden sich nur wenige Abiturientinnen und Abiturienten für die entsprechenden Studiengänge. Diese gelten als schwierig, die Abbrecherquoten sind hoch. Ein umfassendes Einstiegstraining bietet ab dem Wintersemester 2011/2012 das MINT-Kolleg des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie (KIT) und der Universität Stuttgart. Das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung fördert das Konzept jetzt im „Qualitätspakt Lehre“.

Der Bedarf an Berufseinsteigern aus den MINT-Disziplinen wächst kontinuierlich und langfristig, die Zahl der Absolventinnen und Absolventen der entsprechenden Studiengänge steigt jedoch kaum. Das zeigt die Studie „Nachhaltige Hochschulstrategien für mehr MINT-Absolventen“ des Stifterverbandes für die Deutsche Wissenschaft und der Heinz Nixdorf Stiftung. Ursachen dafür sind der für viele schwierige Übergang von der Schule ins natur- und ingenieurwissenschaftliche Studium, individuelle Wissenslücken bei den Studienanfängern und nicht ausreichende Beratungs- und Betreuungsbedingungen an den Schulen sowie Hochschulen. Auf diese Anforderungen haben das KIT und die Universität Stuttgart mit der Einrichtung des MINT-Kollegs Baden-Württemberg reagiert: Mit Vorkursen, Präsenzunterricht, Online-Lernprogrammen und Ringvorlesungen zum Berufsleben erleichtert das deutschlandweit einzigartige mit dem Fachstudium verzahnte Modell sowohl den effizienten Einstieg in das Fachstudium, als auch die Wahl der endgültigen Studienrichtung nach den ersten zwei bis drei Semestern. Damit werden die Studierenden auf die besonderen Lern- und Arbeitsanforderungen der Natur- oder Ingenieurwissenschaften individuell vorbereitet.
Das Land Baden-Württemberg fördert das MINT–Kolleg seit 2010 mit 900.000 Euro für drei Jahre.

„Mit dem MINT-Kolleg bauen wir den Studierenden eine Brücke zum Fachstudium. Sie bekommen hier das nötige Rüstzeug für das erfolgreiche Absolvieren ihres Studiums“, so der Prorektor für Lehre und Weiterbildung an der Universität Stuttgart, Professor Frank Gießelmann. „Durch individuelle Kompetenzdiagnosen und entsprechende fachliche Unterstützung bei Bedarf sowie gezielte Fachberatung erhalten die Studienanfänger eine optimale Betreuung am MINT-Kolleg“, sagt Professor Jürgen Becker, Chief Higher Education Officer am KIT. Mitte Mai hatte die Gemeinsame Wissenschaftskonferenz das MINT-Kolleg in der ersten Runde des „Qualitätspakts Lehre“ von Bund und Ländern zur Förderung ausgewählt. Das Programm unterstützt aus Bundesmitteln Konzepte zur Verbesserung von Studienbedingungen und Lehrqualität. Das MINT-Kolleg wird daraus voraussichtlich 7,8 Millionen Euro, gemeinsam für die Standorte Karlsruhe und Stuttgart, für eine Laufzeit von fünf Jahren erhalten.

Über das MINT-Kolleg Baden-Württemberg können Studieninteressierte und Studienanfänger zunächst online ihren Leistungsstand testen und sich beraten lassen. Der Präsenzunterricht findet optional während der Vorlesungszeit in je 14-tägigen Modulen statt (pro Semester sieben Module à zwei Wochen). Die Online-Lernprogramme laufen ganzjährig und enthalten neben dem Lernstoff auch Übungen, Musterlösungen und Stationen zur Leistungskontrolle. Ergänzend zum Fachunterricht lernen die Teilnehmer in Ringvorlesungen Studienfächer und Arbeitswelt der MINT-Berufe kennen und erfahren, welche Chancen diese insbesondere für Frauen bieten. Eine Einführung in Arbeitstechniken, die Nutzung von Universitätseinrichtungen wie Bibliotheken, Rechenzentren und Labore, Programmierkurse, ingenieurwissenschaftliche Übungen und Seminare runden das Programm ab. Neben dem bis zu zweisemestrigen Programm bietet das MINT-Kolleg Baden-Württemberg im September auch Vorkurse zur Mathematik an: Sie erlauben es Studienanfängerinnen und Studienanfängern, ihre Schulkenntnisse aufzufrischen und zur vertiefen. Die Kurse bereiten damit auf die mathematischen Lehrinhalte der technischen, naturwissenschaftlichen und betriebswirtschaftlichen Studiengänge vor. Darüber hinaus finden im September 2011 Physik- und Chemie-Praktika sowie ein Programmierkurs Java statt.

Das MINT-Kolleg wird die ersten Studierenden zum Wintersemester 2011/2012 aufnehmen. Teilnehmen kann freiwillig, wer in ein entsprechendes Fachstudium an der Universität Stuttgart beziehungsweise am KIT eingeschrieben ist – insbesondere falls Unsicherheit in der Wahl des konkreten Studiengangs besteht. Die Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer des MINT-Kollegs können auch bereits Module und Praktika aus dem Fachstudium absolvieren und damit zugleich spätere Studienphasen entlasten.

Regeleinstieg ist zum Vorlesungsbeginn am 17. Oktober. Weitere Einstiegsmöglichkeiten nach der Weihnachtspause sowie zum Sommersemester ermöglichen es den Interessierten, das Angebot flexibel zu nutzen und bei Erkennen fachlicher Defizite im ersten Semester schnell zu reagieren. Der Vorkurs im Fach Mathematik findet an der Universität Stuttgart als vierwöchige Präsenzveranstaltung vom 19. September bis zum 12. Oktober statt, die Anmeldung ist bereits möglich. Der ebenfalls vierwöchige Mathematik-Vorkurs am KIT startet am 5. September. Die Pyhsik- und Chemie-Praktika beginnen am 12. September und dauern zwei Wochen, der Programmierkurs Java findet von 12. bis zum 30. September statt (Anmeldung ab Mitte Juni möglich).

Nähere Informationen zu Inhalten und Bewerbung bietet die Online-Plattform www.mint-kolleg.de, die fortlaufend ergänzt wird.


Die Universität Stuttgart mit rund 21.000 Studierenden pflegt ein interdisziplinäres Profil mit Schwerpunkten in den Natur- und Ingenieurwissenschaften. Ihre herausragende Stellung als weltweit vernetzte Forschungsuniversität spiegelt sich unter anderem im Exzellenzcluster „Simulation Technology“, der Graduiertenschule „Advanced Manufacturing Engineering“ sowie zahlreichen Sonderforschungsbereichen und Forschergruppen.

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) ist eine Körperschaft des öffentlichen Rechts nach den Gesetzen des Landes Baden-Württemberg. Es nimmt sowohl die Mission einer Universität als auch die Mission eines nationalen Forschungszentrums in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft wahr. Thematische Schwerpunkte der Forschung sind Energie, natürliche und gebaute Umwelt sowie Gesellschaft und Technik, von fundamentalen Fragen bis zur Anwendung. Mit rund 9400 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern, darunter mehr als 6000 in Wissenschaft und Lehre, sowie 24 500 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der größten Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas. Das KIT verfolgt seine Aufgaben im Wissensdreieck Forschung – Lehre – Innovation.

le, 20.05.2011

Weiterer Kontakt:

MINT-Kolleg Karlsruher Institut für Technologie Andrea Nitsche Tel.: + 49 721 608-41992 E-Mail: andrea nitscheXnv8∂kit edu Universität Stuttgart Dr. Raphael Krug Tel.: +49 711 685-84216 E-Mail: krugSqk8∂mint-kolleg de
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseBqw8∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.