Press Release 079/2011

European Science Culture Award Granted to Joachim Knebel

Award of the European Foundation for Culture Handed over to the KIT Expert in Berlin Today
Dr. Joachim Knebel, KIT, erhält den Europäischen Wissenschafts-Kulturpreis 2011 (Foto: Marko Priske)
Dr. Joachim Knebel, KIT, is granted the 2011 European Science Culture Award (Photo: Marko Priske)

Today, Dr. Joachim Knebel, Chief Science Officer of Karlsruhe Institute of Technology and Spokesman of the Helmholtz Nuclear Safety Research Programme, was granted the European Science Culture Award. The award of the PRO EUROPA European Foundation for Culture was handed over to Joachim Knebel today at the Jahrestagung Kerntechnik (Annual Nuclear Engineering Conference) that takes place at the Berlin Congress Center from May 17 to 19. 

In its statement, the European Foundation for Culture that grants the 2011 European Science Culture Award to Joachim Knebel points out: “With this award, we appreciate Knebel’s scientific merits for the partitioning and transmutation technology for the reduction of the radiotoxicity of high-level waste and the associated closure of the nuclear fuel cycle.”

Karlsruhe Institute of Technology and in particular the scientific institutes working under the Nuclear Safety Research Programme (NUKLEAR) have been dealing extensively with the technology of partitioning and transmutation (P&T) for about fourteen years. The NUKLEAR programme was headed by Joachim Knebel from 2002 to 2010.

The P&T strategy encompasses the chemical or electrochemical partitioning of plutonium and the minor actinides of neptunium, americium, and curium from short-lived radionuclides (mainly fission products) and their subsequent conversion into stable or short-lived isotopes by neutron reactions in special accelerator-driven systems (transmutation). As the radiotoxicity (i.e. the hazard potential) is determined mainly by plutonium and minor actinides, it can be reduced significantly by the separation of these nuclides.

In 2005, the team headed by Joachim Knebel succeeded in initiating the largest European transmutation project EUROTRANS and have it approved by the European Commission. This project bundled scientific competences of about 400 scientists from 15 European countries and the USA, Russia, Belarus, and Japan to develop a feasible transmutation machine within a period of five years. The 36 partners from industry and research, together with 17 universities, submitted a scientifically qualified concept that is now planned to be implemented under the name of MYRRHA within the European Strategy Forum for Research Infrastructures (ESFRI) at the Belgian Nuclear Research Center SCK-CEN in Mol. Under the direction of Joachim Knebel, the research team in Karlsruhe has laid the scientific-technical cornerstone for a transmutation machine becoming reality and the recycling of high-level waste coming one step closer. 

European Culture Awards are granted for excellent services, initiatives, and cultural achievements in various categories, among others in science. They are under the auspices of the President of the Council of Europe and the European Parliament and are awarded to persons in recognition for their commitment to and their talents in European culture and science.

 

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,600 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 23,300 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

jh, 17.05.2011
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseZyu0∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Inge Arnold
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing (PKM)
Phone: +49 721 608-22861
Fax: +49 721 608-25080
inge arnoldQxt4∂kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseVuz9∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-41105.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail

Presseinformation 079/2011

Europäischer Wissenschafts-Kulturpreis an Joachim Knebel verliehen

KIT-Experte heute in Berlin mit Preis der Europäischen Kulturstiftung ausgezeichnet
Dr. Joachim Knebel, KIT, erhält den Europäischen Wissenschafts-Kulturpreis 2011 (Foto: Marko Priske)
Dr. Joachim Knebel, KIT, erhält den Europäischen Wissenschafts-Kulturpreis 2011 (Foto: Marko Priske)

Heute wurde Dr. Joachim Knebel, Chief Science Officer am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie und Sprecher des Helmholtz-Programms Nukleare Sicherheitsforschung, mit dem Europäischen Wissenschafts-Kulturpreis ausgezeichnet. Joachim Knebel erhielt den Preis der Europäischen Kulturstiftung PRO EUROPA im Rahmen der Jahrestagung Kerntechnik, die vom 17. bis 19. Mai im Berliner Congress Center stattfindet.

Die Würdigung der Europäischen Kulturstiftung für den Europäischen Wissenschafts-Kulturpreis 2011 an Joachim Knebel lautet: „Wir würdigen damit die wissenschaftlichen Verdienste um die Technologie ‚Partitioning und Transmutation‘ zur Reduzierung der Radiotoxizität des hochradioaktiven Abfalles und der damit verbundenen Schließung des nuklearen Brennstoffkreislaufes.“

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie, speziell die im Programm Nukleare Sicherheitsforschung (NUKLEAR) zusammengefassten wissenschaftlichen Institute, befasst sich seit etwa 14 Jahren intensiv mit der Technologie ‚Partitioning und Transmutation (P&T)‘. Das Programm NUKLEAR wurde von 2002 bis 2010 von Joachim Knebel geleitet.

Die Strategie von P&T umfasst die chemische oder elektrochemische Abtrennung (Partitioning) von Plutonium und den minoren Actiniden Neptunium, Americium und Curium von den kurzlebigen Radionukliden (hauptsächlich den Spaltprodukten) und ihre anschließende Umwandlung in stabile oder kurzlebige Isotope durch Neutronenreaktionen in speziellen Beschleuniger getriebenen Anlagen (Transmutation). Da hauptsächlich Plutonium und die minoren Actiniden für die Radiotoxizität (d. h. das Gefährdungspotenzial) ver-antwortlich sind, kann durch Abtrennung dieser Nuklide die Radio-toxizität des verbleibenden Abfalls beträchtlich reduziert werden.

Im Jahr 2005 gelang es dem Team um Joachim Knebel, das größte europäische Transmutationsprojekt EUROTRANS zu initiieren und bei der Europäischen Kommission zur Genehmigung zu bringen. Dabei wurde die wissenschaftliche Kompetenz von etwa 400 Wissenschaftlern aus 15 europäischen Ländern sowie den USA, Russland, Weißrussland und Japan gebündelt und über eine Zeit von fünf Jahren auf die Entwicklung einer realisierbaren Transmutationsmaschine konzentriert. Die 36 Partner aus Industrie und Forschung schufen zusammen mit 17 Universitäten einen wissenschaftlich qualifizierten Entwurf, der jetzt im Rahmen des Europäischen Strategieforums für Forschungsinfrastrukturen (ESFRI) im belgischen Kernforschungszentrum SCK-CEN in Mol unter dem Namen MYRRHA realisiert werden soll. Das Forscherteam in Karlsruhe hat unter Führung von Joachim Knebel den wissenschaftlich-technischen Grundstein dafür gelegt, dass eine Transmutationsmaschine Wirklichkeit wird und die Rezyklierung des hochradioaktiven Abfalls einen Schritt näher rückt.

Die Europäischen Kulturpreise werden für herausragende Leistungen, Initiativen und Kulturwerke in verschiedenen Kategorien, u. a. der Wissenschaft, verliehen. Sie stehen unter der Schirmherrschaft der Präsidenten des Europarates und des Europäischen Parlaments und werden an Persönlichkeiten vergeben, die sich durch ihr Engagement und ihr Talent um die Kultur und die Wissenschaft Europas verdient gemacht haben.

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) ist eine Körperschaft des öffentlichen Rechts nach den Gesetzen des Landes Baden-Württemberg. Es nimmt sowohl die Mission einer Universität als auch die Mission eines nationalen Forschungszentrums in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft wahr. Thematische Schwerpunkte der Forschung sind Energie, natürliche und gebaute Umwelt sowie Gesellschaft und Technik, von fundamentalen Fragen bis zur Anwendung. Mit rund 9400 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern, darunter mehr als 6000 in Wissenschaft und Lehre, sowie 24 500 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der größten Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas. Das KIT verfolgt seine Aufgaben im Wissensdreieck Forschung – Lehre – Innovation.

jh, 17.05.2011

Weiterer Kontakt:

Inge Arnold
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing (PKM)
Tel.: +49 721 608-22861
Fax: +49 721 608-25080
inge arnoldFdz5∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseWdp1∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.