Press Release 075/2011

Excellent Environmental Research

Savings Bank Foundation and KIT Grant Environmental Awards to Young KIT Scientists
In diesem Jahr werden die Umweltpreise für zwei Dissertationen, drei Diplom-  und eine Studienarbeit vergeben (Foto: Gabi Zachmann)
This year, environmental awards are granted to two PhD and three diploma theses as well as to one student project. (Photo: Gabi Zachmann)

Measurement of meteorological data by a tram, research into biofuels based on straw or algae: KIT research covers a wide scope of environmental topics. For the 31st time, the Savings Bank Foundation and KIT grant environmental awards to young KIT scientists whose research projects may contribute to preserving our environment. This year, the award in the total amount of EUR 10,000 goes to six projects in the fields of chemical and mechanical engineering, geosciences and economics, architecture, and chemistry. Michael Huber, Chairman of the Sparkasse (savings bank) Karlsruhe-Ettlingen, and KIT Vice-President Dr. Elke Luise Barnstedt will hand over the awards on May 19 at the Allgemeines Verfügungsgebäude (Campus South, building 50.41, Adenauerring 20) at 17 hrs.

The first prize of EUR 2,500 each goes to Markus Delay and Massimo Genoese for their PhD theses.

Ecologist Markus Delay submitted a PhD thesis entitled “Contribution to Evaluating the Recyclability of Waste Materials.” If these materials are applied to soil, a “seepage water prognosis” is required according to the German federal soil protection regulations. This prognosis is intended to estimate the introduction of substances into the groundwater. So far, statistical shaking tests have been used for this purpose. However, they do not allow for any close-to-reality estimation of the release of substances from solids over time. Delay has developed a close-to-reality, dynamic column elution process that allows to vary central factors influencing the release of substances, considers various precipitation events, and takes into account flow interruptions and fluctuations of the flow rate. This process is associated with a reasonable expenditure.

Economic engineer Massimo Genoese wrote a PhD thesis on “The Development and Application of an Agent-based Simulation Model for the German Electricity Market.” Due to liberalization, increasing efforts to reduce greenhouse gas emissions, and the massive extension of renewable energies, the electricity sector has changed considerably. New market places for electricity and CO2 emission rights have been generated. In view of this change, an agent-based simulation is a promising approach to analyzing the actors individually, reaching a high flexibility of the models, and to taking into account interactions between electricity costs and the planning of capacity extensions.

EUR 1,500 each are granted to three diploma theses by the Savings Bank Foundation and KIT. Fabian Müller from the Department of Architecture has contributed to improving the integrated urban development concept for Filderstadt, which started in 2008. In his diploma thesis, he developed a planning vision with the activation of “remote population groups” by alternative media elements, the development of visualizations and picture language, and a sensitization for the functioning of a city by a combination of factual data with spatial representations in a geo-information system. The geodesist Thomas Fuhrmann focused on the interaction of signals of global satellite navigation systems and the Earth’s atmosphere. His GPS analysis strategy allows for the inexpensive and precise determination of the water vapor content of the atmosphere by global navigation satellite system observations. The diploma thesis of Claudia Melanie Diehm concentrates on the catalytic partial oxidation of fuels in reformers, in the course of which hydrogen is generated by the catalytic combustion of a fuel. This hydrogen can be used in fuel cells of modern electricity generators for heating and cooling trucks. In her thesis, the chemist combines this type of power production that reduces the consumption of fossil fuels and the emission of greenhouse gases with the use of biofuels based on renewable resources and she determines optimum fuel mixtures.

For his student project on the concept of a small wind power plant, Aljoscha Göbel is granted EUR 500. So far, small wind power plants have not been economically efficient. The components of various plant types are too costly and wind conditions at low height are not optimum. The student of mechanical engineering tested ascending wind turbines to solve this problem.

The environmental award of the Savings Bank Foundation and KIT does not only honor extraordinary scientific activities, but also projects that are of public interest in the broadest sense and may contribute to solving environmental problems. One semester prior to the granting of the awards, the KIT departments submit their proposals from among all PhD and diploma theses, student projects, and other student activities. A foundation council decides on the winners of the award in a multi-stage evaluation process.

 

 

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,600 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 23,300 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

tr, 12.05.2011
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseWum7∂kit edu

The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseTve5∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-41105.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail

Presseinformation 075/2011

Ausgezeichnete umweltrelevante Forschung

Sparkassen-Stiftung und KIT belohnen KIT-Nachwuchswissenschaftler mit Umweltpreisen
In diesem Jahr werden die Umweltpreise für zwei Dissertationen, drei Diplom-  und eine Studienarbeit vergeben (Foto: Gabi Zachmann)
In diesem Jahr werden die Umweltpreise für zwei Dissertationen, drei Diplom- und eine Studienarbeit vergeben (Foto: Gabi Zachmann)

Ob Wetterdatenmessung per Tram, Forschung zu Biokraftstoffen aus Stroh oder Algen: Am KIT wird breit zu umweltrelevanten Themen geforscht. Die Sparkassen-Stiftung und das KIT zeichnen Forschungsarbeiten von KIT-Nachwuchswissenschaf-tlern, die zum Erhalt der Lebensgrundlage Umwelt beitragen können, zum 31. Mal mit Umweltpreisen aus. 2011 geht die Preissumme von 10.000 Euro an sechs Projekte aus dem Chemieingenieurwesen und Maschinenbau, den Geo- und Wirtschaftswissenschaften, der Architektur und Chemie. Michael Huber, Vorstand der Sparkasse Karlsruhe Ettlingen und KIT-Vizepräsidentin Dr. Elke Luise Barnstedt vergeben die Preise am 19. Mai im Allgemeinen Verfügungsgebäude (Campus Süd, Geb. 50.41, Adenauerring 20) um 17 Uhr.

Der erste Preis geht an Markus Delay und Massimo Genoese für ihre Dissertationen, die mit jeweils 2.500 Euro prämiert wurden.

Diplom-Geoökologe Markus Delay liefert mit seiner Dissertation einen „Beitrag zur Beurteilung der Wiederverwertbarkeit von Abfallmaterialien“. Werden diese Materialien auf oder in den Boden eingebracht, verlangt die deutsche Bundes-Bodenschutzverordnung eine „Sickerwasserprognose“, bei der die Stoffeinträge in das Grundwasser abgeschätzt werden sollen. Bislang wurden vor allem statische Schüttelversuche eingesetzt, die allerdings keine realitätsnahe Abschätzung im Hinblick auf zeitliche Komponente der Stoffreisetzung aus Feststoffen zulassen. Hingegen konnte Delay ein mit vertretbarem Aufwand verbundenes, realitätsnahes, dynamisches Säulenelutionsverfahren entwickeln, das es zulässt, zentrale Einflussfaktoren der Stofffreisetzung zu variieren, verschiedene Niederschlagsereignisse zu berücksichtigen und Fließunterbrechungen und Wechsel der Fließgeschwindigkeit einzubeziehen.

Wirtschaftsingenieur Massimo Genoese widmete seine Doktorarbeit dem Thema „Entwicklung und Anwendung eines agentenbasierten Simulationsmodells für den deutschen Strommarkt“. Ein Umbruch der Elektrizitätswirtschaft hat stattgefunden - durch Liberalisierung, verstärkte Anstrengungen zur Reduktion von Treibhausgasemissionen und den massiven Ausbau erneuerbarer Energien. Neue Marktplätze für Elektrizität und CO2-Emissionsrechte sind entstanden. Eine agentenbasierte Simulation ist angesichts dieses Wandels ein vielversprechender Ansatz, um Aspekten wie einer individuellen Betrachtung der Akteure, einer hohe Flexibilität der Modelle sowie der Erfassung von Wechselwirkungen zwischen Strompreisen und der Kapazitätsausbauplanung Rechnung zu tragen.

Mit jeweils 1.500 Euro zeichnen die Sparkassenstiftung und das KIT als zweite Preise drei Diplomarbeiten aus. Fabian Müller aus der Architekturfakultät trug mit seiner Diplomarbeit dazu bei, dass das 2008 gestartete integrierte Stadtentwicklungskonzept für Filderstadt verbessert wurde. Eine planerische Zukunftsvision konnte entstehen, indem „beteiligungsfernen Schichten“ durch alternative Medienbausteine aktiviert, Visualisierungen und eine vermittelnde Bildsprache entwickelt wurden sowie eine Sensibilisierung für die Funktionsweise der Stadt durch die Verknüpfung von Sachdaten mit räumlichen Darstellungen in einem Geoinformationssystem entstand. Geodät Thomas Fuhrmann legte im Rahmen seiner Arbeit den Fokus auf die Interaktion von Signalen von globalen Satellitennavigationssystemen und Erdatmosphäre: seine entwickelte GPS-Analysestrategie erlaubt die kostengünstige und präzise Bestimmung des Wasserdampfgehaltes in der Atmosphäre durch Globale Navigationsatellitensystem-Beobachtungen. Die Diplomarbeit von Claudia Melanie Diehm dreht sich um die katalytische Partialoxidation von Kraftstoffen in Reformern, bei der durch katalytische Verbrennung eines Kraftstoffes Wasserstoff erzeugt wird, der zur Speisung von Brennstoffzellen in mobilen Stromerzeugern verwendet werden kann, die Strom zum Beispiel für die Heizung und Kühlung in Lastkraftwagen bereitstellen. In der Arbeit der Chemikerin wird diese Art der Stromerzeugung, die den Verbrauch fossiler Brennstoffe und die Emission von Treibhausgasen senkt, mit der Verwendung von Biokraftstoffen aus nachwachsenden Rohstoffen kombiniert und optimale Kraftstoffmischungen ermittelt.

Für seine Studienarbeit über ein Konzept einer Kleinwindkraftanlage erhielt Aljoscha Göbel 500 Euro. Bis zum jetzigen Zeitpunkt sind Kleinwindkraftanlagen wirtschaftlich nicht reizvoll: die Komponenten verschiedener Anlagetypen sind zu teuer und die Windbedingungen in geringer Höhe sind nicht optimal. Der Maschinenbaustudierende testete die Möglichkeiten einer Aufwind-Windturbine als Lösung.

Die Sparkassen-Stiftung und das KIT zeichnen mit ihrem Umweltpreis nicht nur außergewöhnliche wissenschaftliche Arbeiten, sondern auch Projekte aus, die im weitesten Sinne dem Allgemeinwohl dienen und zur Lösung von Umweltproblemen beitragen können. Ein Semester vor der Preisverleihung reichen die KIT-Fakultäten ihre Vorschläge aus ihren Dissertationen, Diplomarbeiten, Projektstudien und anderen studentischen Arbeiten ein. Über die Preisvergabe entscheidet ein Stiftungsrat nach mehrstufiger Begutachtung.

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) ist eine Körperschaft des öffentlichen Rechts nach den Gesetzen des Landes Baden-Württemberg. Es nimmt sowohl die Mission einer Universität als auch die Mission eines nationalen Forschungszentrums in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft wahr. Thematische Schwerpunkte der Forschung sind Energie, natürliche und gebaute Umwelt sowie Gesellschaft und Technik, von fundamentalen Fragen bis zur Anwendung. Mit rund 9400 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern, darunter mehr als 6000 in Wissenschaft und Lehre, sowie 24 500 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der größten Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas. Das KIT verfolgt seine Aufgaben im Wissensdreieck Forschung – Lehre – Innovation.

tr, 12.05.2011

Weiterer Kontakt:

Tatjana Rauch
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing (PKM)
Tel.: +49 721 608-46047
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
tatjana rauchFjm1∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseJxj9∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.