Press Release 074/2011

Progress of Phosphorus Recycling

Path-breaking Project in Bavaria: Technical and Scientific Coordination by KIT – Pilot Plant Starts Operation
Entscheidende Phase: Das am KIT weiterentwickelte Verfahren zur Phosphor-Rückgewinnnung wird jetzt in einem Pilotprojekt erprobt. (Foto: CMM)
Decisive phase: The phosphorus recovery method that has been further developed by KIT is now tested in a pilot project. (Photo: CMM)

Phosphorus is a vitally important element, its resources are finite and irreplaceable. Usable resources worldwide will suffice for about another 100 years. KIT scientists have now optimized a method to recover phosphorus from wastewater. This method is used in a pilot project at the wastewater treatment plant of the city of Neuburg in Bavaria. On Thursday, May 12, the plant will start operation.

The project that started in spring last year is coordinated technically and scientifically by the Competence Center for Material Moisture (CMM) of KIT. Now, the third and decisive phase is starting. Laboratory and semi-technical experiments were successful. “Based on these experiments, we expect a successful operation of the wastewater treatment plant in the pilot phase,” says the Head of CMM, Dr. Rainer Schuhmann.

The project is aimed at separating a part of the phosphorus from the wastewater and at recycling it as a raw phosphate substitute. For this purpose, the P-RoC (Phosphorus Recovery from Waste and Process Water by Crystallization) has been further developed by the researchers under the direction of Schuhmann. In this way, phosphate dissolved in the wastewater phase can be recovered as a phosphate-containing product by crystallization on calcium silicate hydrate phases (CSH). Schuhmann explains that the simple and effective principle “yields a product that can be used as a fertilizer without any further processing.” Cooperation partners are the companies of Cirkel GmbH & Co. KG, Rheine, and HeidelbergCement AG.

If everything proceeds as planned, the pilot phase at Neuburg will be completed in about half a year. Then, an evaluation will be made in order to determine technical and economic efficiencies of the process. “After this, we will know whether 20, 30 or even more percent of the about 30 tons of phosphorus arising annually can be recovered from the wastewater at Neuburg,” says Rainer Schuhmann. But the scientists are sure: “The quality of the recycled phosphorus is excellent, because it is completely available to plants and supplies several nutrients.”

After the pilot phase, the project partners will also decide whether phosphorus recovery may be a new source of income for municipalities like Neuburg. After all, the costs of a ton of phosphate ore on the commodity market increased from 40 to 430 US$ from April 2007 to August 2008. Presently, the price is 120 US$ per ton.

 

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,600 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 23,300 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

ele, 10.05.2011
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseWyp8∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Klaus Rümmele
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing (PKM)
Phone: +49 721 608-48153
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
klaus ruemmeleKsj3∂kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseHcv2∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-41105.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail

Presseinformation 074/2011

Phosphor-Recycling macht Fortschritte

Wegweisendes Umweltprojekt in Bayern: technisch-wissenschaftliche Koordination am KIT – Pilotanlage geht in Betrieb
Entscheidende Phase: Das am KIT weiterentwickelte Verfahren zur Phosphor-Rückgewinnnung wird jetzt in einem Pilotprojekt erprobt. (Foto: CMM)
Entscheidende Phase: Das am KIT weiterentwickelte Verfahren zur Phosphor-Rückgewinnnung wird jetzt in einem Pilotprojekt erprobt. (Foto: CMM)

Phosphor gehört zu den lebenswichtigen Elementen, ist endlich und nicht austauschbar. Die weltweit wirtschaftlich erschließbaren Reserven reichen noch circa 100 Jahre. Wissenschaftler am KIT haben nun ein Verfahren zur Rückgewinnung von Phosphor aus Abwasser weiterentwickelt, das die Stadt Neuburg in Bayern in einem Pilotprojekt im Klärwerk einsetzt. Am Donnerstag, 12. Mai, geht die Anlage in Betrieb.

In Händen des Kompetenzzentrums für Materialfeuchte (CMM) am KIT liegt die technisch-wissenschaftliche Koordination des Projekts, das im Frühjahr vergangenen Jahres startete. Nun geht es in seine dritte und entscheidende Phase. Die Labor- und Halbtechnikversuche waren erfolgreich: „Sie lassen für den Pilotzeitraum auf der Kläranlage ebenfalls einen erfolgreichen Betrieb erwarten“, sagt der Leiter des CMM, Dr. Rainer Schuhmann.

Ziel des Projektes ist es, Phosphor teilweise aus Abwasser auszusondern und als wieder verwertbares Produkt einen Rohphosphat-Ersatzstoff zu generieren. Dazu haben die Forscher um Schuhmann das P-RoC-Verfahren (Phosphorus Recovery from waste and process water by Crystallisation) weiterentwickelt. Damit lässt sich in der Abwasserphase gelöstes Phosphat mittels Kristallisation an Calcium-Silicat-Hydrat-Phasen (CSH) als phosphathaltiges Produkt zurückgewinnen. Dieses einfache und effektive Prinzip, so erklärt Schuhmann, „liefert ein pflanzenverfügbares Produkt, das zum Beispiel ohne weitere Aufbereitung als Düngemittel einsetzbar ist.“ Kooperationspartner im Projekt sind auch die Firma Cirkel GmbH & Co. KG aus Rheine und die HeidelbergCement AG.

Läuft alles nach Plan, wird die Pilotphase in Neuburg in etwa in einem halben Jahr abgeschlossen sein. Danach erfolgt eine Evaluierung, die insbesondere auch Aufschluss geben soll über die Effizienz und die Wirtschaftlichkeit des P-RoC-Verfahrens. „Dann wird man wissen, ob 20, 30 oder noch mehr Prozent der jährlich anfallenden circa 30 Tonnen Phosphor aus dem Neuburger Abwasser zurückgewonnen werden können“, sagt Rainer Schuhmann. Eines sei jedoch schon jetzt sicher: „Die Qualität des recycelten Phosphors ist hervorragend, weil er vollständig pflanzenverfügbar ist und mehrere Pflanzennährstoffe zur Verfügung stellt.“

Beurteilen wollen die Projektbeteiligten dann auch, ob sich mit der Phosphor-Rückgewinnung für Kommunen wie Neuburg eine lohnenswerte neue Einnahmequelle auftut. Immerhin stieg der Preis für die Tonne Phosphaterz an den Rohstoffbörsen von April 2007 bis August 2008 von 40 auf 430 US-Dollar pro Tonne. Aktuell liegt er bei  120 US-Dollar pro Tonne.

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) verbindet seine drei Kernaufgaben Forschung, Lehre und Innovation zu einer Mission. Mit rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern sowie 25 000 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der großen natur- und ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas.

KIT – Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft

ele, 10.05.2011

Weiterer Kontakt:

Klaus Rümmele
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing (PKM)
Tel.: +49 721 608-48153
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
klaus ruemmelePap2∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseVih8∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.