Press Release 059/2011

More Autonomy for KIT

The Federal Republic of Germany and State Agree on Basic Elements for the Further Development of Karlsruhe Institute of Technology
KIT-Fahne
(Photo: Andrea Fabry)

Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) will be principal of its civil servants and employer of its employees in the future. KIT will continue to be a public corporation according to the legislation of the state of Baden-Württemberg, but no state institution. Moreover, KIT shall largely become the owner of its assets. These are the basic elements for the further development of Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), which were agreed upon by the state of Baden-Württemberg and the Federal Republic of Germany.

Today, the State Council of Ministers adopted a corresponding agreement, by which KIT will be granted more scope for acting in its own responsibility. The agreement was signed by the Federal Minis-ter of Education and Research, Professor Annette Schavan, and State Minister of Science, Professor Frankenberg. It is aimed at further harmonizing the partly differing regulations for the university sector and the large-scale research sector of KIT.

“These basic elements serve to implement reform steps envisaged by the KIT Administrative Agreement concluded by the Federal Re-public of Germany and the State of Baden-Württemberg in June 2009. We thank the Federal Republic and the State for this im-portant step towards more autonomy for KIT,” said Professor Horst Hippler, President of KIT. “We gratefully acknowledge the excellent support by the ministries. Growing autonomy of KIT is an incentive and mission. We highly welcome the extension of our scope of action in the future. It will contribute to further enhancing the scientific quality of research, teaching, and innovation,” emphasized KIT President Professor Eberhard Umbach.

According to the basic elements agreed upon, KIT will replace the State and become the principal of its public servants and employer of its employees. In addition, the so far different tariff regulations for the employees on Campus North and Campus South will be harmonized. The respective funds from the state and federal budgets will be allocated or granted to KIT as funds for autonomous use. Furthermore, it is envisaged to give KIT the right to place construction contracts. In an experiment phase of five years’ duration, KIT shall be authorized to place construction contracts on KIT Campus East (Mackensen site) in its own respon-sibility. For this, the State will grant an annual budget for construction projects in the amount of EUR 4 million.

Since the foundation of KIT in October 2009, working groups of the State and the Federal Republic, including KIT, have discussed the further development of KIT. The basic elements still remain to be implemented partly on the federal level and partly on the state level.

Details of the “Agreement between the Federal Republic of Germany and the State of Baden-Württemberg on the Basic Elements for the Further Development of Karlsruhe Institute of Technology” can be found on the website of the Ministry of Science, Research, and the Arts: www.mwk.baden-wuerttemberg.de/forschung/kit

 

Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) is a public corporation according to the legislation of the state of Baden-Württemberg. It fulfills the mission of a university and the mission of a national research center of the Helmholtz Association. KIT focuses on a knowledge triangle that links the tasks of research, teaching, and innovation.

lg, 12.04.2011
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseBoz5∂kit edu

Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter:presseYpf2∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail

Presseinformation 059/2011

Mehr Autonomie für das KIT

Bund und Land verständigen sich über Eckpunkte zur Weiterentwicklung des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie
KIT-Fahne
(Foto: Andrea Fabry)

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) wird künftig Dienstherr für seine Beamten und Arbeitgeber für seine Angestellten sein. Das KIT wird weiterhin Körperschaft des öffentlichen Rechts nach den Gesetzen des Landes Baden-Württemberg sein, jedoch keine „staatliche Einrichtung“. Außerdem soll das KIT in weitem Umfang selbst Eigentümer des Vermögens werden. Auf diese Eckpunkte für die Weiterentwicklung des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie (KIT) hat sich das Land Baden-Württemberg mit dem Bund verständigt.

Der Ministerrat des Landes hat heute eine entsprechende Vereinbarung gebilligt, die dem KIT mehr Spielräume für eigenverantwortliches Handeln einräumt. Diese haben die Bundesministerin für Bildung und Forschung, Professor Annette Schavan und Wissenschaftsminister Professor Peter Frankenberg unterzeichnet. Mit der Vereinbarung sollen auch die zum Teil unterschiedlichen Regelungen für den Universitäts- und den Großforschungsbereich weiter harmonisiert werden.

„Mit den Eckpunkten werden nun Reformschritte umgesetzt, welche die KIT-Verwaltungsvereinbarung vom Juni 2009 zwischen Bund und Land vorsieht. Wir danken dem Bund und dem Land für diesen wichtigen Schritt hin zu mehr Autonomie für das KIT“, so Professor Horst Hippler, Präsident des KIT. „Wir freuen uns über die hervorragende Unterstützung der Ministerien. Die wachsende Eigenständigkeit des KIT ist Ansporn und Aufgabe. Wir begrüßen es sehr, dass wir künftig noch mehr Gestaltungsspielraum haben, so können wir die wissenschaftliche Qualität in Forschung, Lehre und Innovation weiter steigern“, sagt KIT-Präsident Professor Eberhard Umbach.

Die Eckpunkte sehen unter anderem vor, dass das KIT – anstelle des Landes – Dienstherr für seine Beamten und Arbeitgeber für seine Angestellten wird. Außerdem werden die bisher unterschiedlichen Tarifbestimmungen der Beschäftigten am Campus Nord und Campus Süd harmonisiert. Die Mittel aus dem Landes- und Bundeshaushalt werden dem KIT als Mittel zur selbständigen Verwendung zur Erfüllung der übertragenen Aufgaben zugewiesen bzw. zugewendet. Ebenso ist eine Bauherreneigenschaft für das KIT in Sicht: In einer fünfjährigen Experimentierphase soll das KIT Baumaßnahmen auf dem KIT-Campus Ost (Mackensengelände) eigenverantwortlich durchführen können; dafür will das Land jährlich ein Baubudget in Höhe von vier Millionen Euro bereitstellen.

Seit der Gründung des KIT im Oktober 2009 haben Arbeitsgruppen von Land und Bund unter Einbezug des KIT Gespräche über die Weiterentwicklung des KIT geführt. Die Eckpunkte bedürfen noch der Umsetzung teils auf Bundes-, teils auf Landesebene.

Einzelheiten zu der „Vereinbarung zwischen der Bundesrepublik Deutschland und dem Land Baden-Württemberg über die Eckpunkte zur Weiterentwicklung des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie“ ist auf der Webseite des Ministeriums für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Kunst einsehbar:
www.mwk.baden-wuerttemberg.de/forschung/kit

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) ist eine Körperschaft des öffentlichen Rechts nach den Gesetzen des Landes Baden-Württemberg. Es nimmt sowohl die Mission einer Universität als auch die Mission eines nationalen Forschungszentrums in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft wahr. Das KIT verfolgt seine Aufgaben im Wissensdreieck Forschung – Lehre – Innovation.

 

lg, 12.04.2011
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseVqz0∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.