Home | deutsch | Legals | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Contact:
Monika Landgraf
Chief Press Officer, Head of Press Office

Phone: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
e-mail

Press Release 058/2011

Greenhouse Gases from Forest Soils

Reactive Nitrogen Causes Much Higher Climate-damaging Nitrous Oxide Emissions in European Forests than Previously Estimated by the IPCC
Die Waldböden emittieren klimaschädliches Lachgas. Die Ursache sind reaktive  Stickstoffverbindungen aus Industrie und Landwirtschaft. (Foto: KIT)
Forest soils emit climate-damaging nitrous oxide. The causes are reactive nitrogen compounds from industry and agriculture. (Photo:Gabi Zachmann, KIT)

Reactive nitrogen compounds from agriculture, transport, and industry lead to increased emissions of the greenhouse gas nitrous oxide (N2O) from forests in Europe. Nitrous oxide emission from forest soils is at least twice as high as estimated so far by the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC). This is one of the key messages of the first study on nitrogen in Europe (European Nitrogen Assessment, ENA) that is presented this week at the International Conference ”Nitrogen and Global Change 2011“ in Edinburgh, Scotland.

Reactive nitrogen compounds (e.g. NH3 and NOx) are mainly of anthropogenic origin. After their deposition to forests via air, they are partly converted into nitrous oxide (N2O). Following carbon dioxide and methane, nitrous oxide is the third most important greenhouse gas. One kilogramme of nitrous oxide is about 300 times as greenhouse-effective as the same amount of carbon dioxide.


The ENA study performed by more than 200 scientific and political experts from 21 countries and 89 organisations concludes that the consequences of reactive nitrogen from air in the European forests so far has been underestimated significantly. Based on the information now available, about 2 to 6% of the atmospheric reactive nitrogen is converted into nitrous oxide that is emitted from forest soil into the atmosphere again. The corresponding estimate of the IPCC so far was about 1% only.

Over a forest area of 188 million hectares, deposition of reactive nitrogen increased from 1860 to 2000 by 1.5 million tons per year. This corresponds to an increase in reactive nitrogen per hectare forest by about 8 kilogrammes.

The increased atmospheric input of reactive nitrogen mainly comes from fertiliser use in agriculture and the associated volatilisation of ammonia and from nitrogen oxide emissions due to the combustion of fossil fuels or biomass burning.

Increased deposition of reactive nitrogen to forests does not only result in climate-damaging nitrous oxide emissions from forest soils, but also in a loss of diversity of plant and animal species and enhanced nitrate emissions into water.

When presenting this part of the ENA study in Edinburgh, Professor Klaus Butterbach-Bahl emphasised: “The present atmospheric reactive nitrogen deposition is much too high. Our analysis shows that significant reductions in particular of ammonia emissions from agricultural activities are needed to reduce nitrous gas emissions from forest
soils.”

Klaus Butterbach-Bahl is professor at Karlsruhe Institute of Technol-ogy (KIT). He is heading the Atmospheric Environmental Research Division of the Institute of Meteorology and Climate Research (IMK-IFU) and lead author of the ENA chapter 19 on reactive nitrogen as a threat to the European greenhouse balance.

The ENA study is the first study describing the multiple threats of nitrogen pollution, including its ecological and economic impacts, i.e. its contribution to climate change and biodiversity loss on the European scale. The ENA study also identifies the regions at greatest risk in Europe and outlines actions to be taken to reduce the risks to protect the environment and public health.

The ENA study was conducted for the Air Convention of the United Nations Economic Commission for Europe and funded by the European Science Foundation.

Parallel to the ENA presentation, a commentary by the lead editor Dr Mark Sutton from the Centre for Ecology & Hydrology, Great Britain, was published in Nature on 11 April. This commentary outlines why the reduction of nitrogen emissions is one of the central challenges in the twenty-first century. Dr Sutton commented: “This is an extremely important finding. It means that nitrogen release into the atmosphere from industry and agriculture is having a much bigger impact on nitrous gas emissions from soils than previously recognised. It provides a further argument of why it is vital to reduce emissions of nitrogen oxides and ammonia with benefits all round for climate, air quality, and biodiversity.” (Nature 472, pages 159-161, April 14, 2011)


Information for Journalists:
For an interview of Dr Mark Sutton, contact
Barnaby Smith, Centre for Ecology & Hydrology Press Office, bpgsGee1∂ceh ac uk / +44(0)7920 295 384

For an interview of Prof Klaus Butterbach-Bahl, contact
Monika Landgraf, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Press Office, presseLcr3∂kit edu / +49(0) 721 608-47414

The ENA study will be formally launched on 11 April, the first day of the Nitrogen and Global Change 2011 Conference in Edinburgh (11 to 15 April 2011). http://www.nitrogen2011.org/webfm_send/42.
If you wish to attend the conference, please contact Barnaby Smith bpgsFgs5∂ceh ac uk .

The full assessment is available on the Nitrogen in Europe website: http://www.nine-esf.org/ (Click on ENA press left hand menu) to access pdf copies of the Assessment chapters.

The ENA study is being published by: Cambridge University Press www.cambridge.org/9781107006126.

Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) is a public corporation according to the legislation of the state of Baden-Württemberg. It fulfills the mission of a university and the mission of a national research center of the Helmholtz Association. Research activities focus on energy, the natural and built environment as well as on society and technology and cover the whole range extending from fundamental aspects to application. With about 9400 employees, including more than 6000 staff members in the science and education sector, and 24500 students, KIT is one of the biggest research and education institutions in Europe. Work of KIT is based on the knowledge triangle of research, teaching, and innovation.

lg, 11.04.2011

For further information, please contact:

Barnaby Smith Centre for Ecology & Hydrology Tel.: + 44 (0) 7920 295 384 E-Mail: bpgsYjt1∂ceh ac uk Monika Landgraf Karlsruher Institut für Technologie Tel: +48 (0) 721 608 47414 E-Mail: presseEzt5∂kit edu
The photo of printing quality may be requested by presseNxo5∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414. The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail

Presseinformation 058/2011

Treibhausgase aus Waldböden

Reaktiver Stickstoff verursacht in den Wäldern Europas erheblich höhere klimaschädliche Lachgas-Emissionen als bisher vom Weltklimarat angenommen.
Die Waldböden emittieren klimaschädliches Lachgas. Die Ursache sind reaktive  Stickstoffverbindungen aus Industrie und Landwirtschaft. (Foto: KIT)
Die Waldböden emittieren klimaschädliches Lachgas. Die Ursache sind reaktive Stickstoffverbindungen aus Industrie und Landwirtschaft. (Foto: Gabi Zachmann, KIT)

Reaktive Stickstoffverbindungen aus Landwirtschaft, Verkehr und Industrie führen zu erhöhten Emissionen des Treibhausgases Lachgas (N2O) aus den Wäldern Europas. Die Lachgasemission aus dem Waldboden ist mindestens doppelt so hoch wie der Weltklimarat (Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change, IPCC) bisher angenommen hatte. Das ist eine der Kernbotschaften des ersten Gutachtens zu Stickstoff in Europa (European Nitrogen Assessment, ENA), das diese Woche im Rahmen der Internationalen Konferenz „Nitrogen and Global Change 2011“ in Edinburgh, Schottland, vorgestellt wird.

Die hauptsächlich vom Menschen verursachten reaktiven Stickstoffverbindungen (z.B. NH3 und NOx) werden nach ihrem Eintrag über die Luft in den Wäldern teilweise zu Lachgas (N2O) umgewandelt. Lachgas gehört nach Kohlendioxid und Methan zu den Hauptverursachern des Treibhauseffekts. Dabei ist ein Kilogramm Lachgas rund 300 Mal treibhauswirksamer als die gleiche Menge Kohlendioxid.

Das nun vorliegende ENA-Gutachten, an dem mehr als 200 Experten aus 21 Ländern aus Wissenschaft und Politik und 89 Organisationen mitgewirkt haben, besagt, dass die Auswirkungen von Einträgen von reaktivem Stickstoff aus der Luft in die Wälder Europas bisher deutlich unterschätzt wurden. Die Studie zeigt, dass etwa 2 bis 6 Prozent des reaktiven Stickstoffs aus der Luft in Lachgas umgewandelt werden, das aus dem Waldboden wieder in die Atmosphäre aufsteigt. Der Weltklimarat (IPCC) war bisher von einer Menge von nur etwa 1 Prozent ausgegangen.

Bezogen auf eine Waldfläche von 188 Mio. Hektar hat sich der Eintrag reaktiven Stickstoffs im Vergleich zum Jahr 1860 im Jahr 2000 um 1,5 Mio. Tonnen erhöht. Dies bedeutet eine Steigerung von etwa 8 Kilogramm reaktiven Stickstoff pro Hektar Wald.

Die Ursache für den gestiegenen atmosphärischen Eintrag von reaktivem Stickstoff sind zum einen die landwirtschaftliche Düngung und damit verbundene Ammoniak-Emmissionen, zum anderen die Stickoxid-Emissionen durch Verbrennung fossiler Energieträger, aber auch die Biomasseverbrennung.

Die Konsequenzen der chronisch erhöhten Einträge von reaktivem Stickstoff in Wälder sind neben den klimaschädlichen Lachgasemissionen aus den Waldböden unter anderem auch eine Veränderung der Artenvielfalt bei Pflanzen und Tieren und erhöhte Nitratausträge ins Wasser.

Bei der Vorstellung dieses Teils des ENA-Gutachtens in Edinburgh betonte Professor Klaus Butterbach-Bahl:  “Der atmosphärische Eintrag von reaktivem Stickstoff ist bei weitem zu hoch. Unsere Analyse zeigt, dass gravierende Reduktionen - besonders der Ammoniakemissionen aus der Landwirtschaft - erforderlich sind, um die Lachgasemissionen aus Waldböden zu reduzieren.”

Klaus Butterbach-Bahl ist Professor am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT). Er leitet den Bereich „Atmosphärische Umweltforschung“ des Instituts für Meteorologie und Klimaforschung (IMK-IFU) und ist Leitautor des ENA-Kapitels Nr. 19 zu reaktivem Stickstoff als Gefahr für die EU-Treibhausbilanz („Nitrogen as a threat to the European greenhouse balance“).

Die ENA Studie ist das erste Gutachten, das die vielfältigen Gefahren durch zu hohe Stickstoffeinträge mit ihren ökölogischen und ökonomischen Auswirkungen im gesamteuropäischen Kontext beschreibt, vor allem den Beitrag zum Klimawandel und zum Rückgang der Artenvielfalt. Die ENA Studie beschreibt zudem, welche Regionen in Europa besonders gefährdet sind und durch welche Maßnahmen die Risiken verringert werden können, um die Umwelt und die Gesundheit der Bevölkerung zu schützen.

Das ENA-Gutachten wurde für die UN-Kommission für Luftreinhaltung (‘Air Convention’ of the United Nations Economic Commission for Europe) erstellt und durch die Europäische Kommission und die Europäische Wissenschaftsstiftung finanziert.

Zeitgleich mit der Vorstellung des ENA-Gutachtens publiziert die Zeitschrift Nature am 11. April einen Kommentar des leitenden Editors Dr. Mark Sutton vom Centre for Ecology & Hydrology, Grossbritannien. Dieser Kommentar zeigt auf, warum die Verminderung von Stickstoffemissionen eines der zentralen Umweltherausforderungen des einundzwanzigsten Jahrhunderts ist. Dr. Sutton betont: „Dies ist ein herausragendes Ergebnis. Es zeigt, dass Stickstoffemissionen durch die Industrie und die Landwirtschaft in die Atmosphäre wesentlich größere Auswirkungen auf Lachgasemissionen aus Böden haben als bisher angenommen. Dieses Ergebnis liefert zusätzliche Argumente für die Rückführung der Emissionen von Stickstoffoxiden und Ammoniak, was entsprechend positive Auswirkungen für Klima, Luftqualität und Biodiversität hätte.” (Nature 472, Seiten 159-161, 14. April, 2011)


Hinweise für Journalisten:
Kontakt für Interviewwünsche mit Dr. Mark Sutton:
Barnaby Smith, Centre for Ecology & Hydrology Press Office, bpgsGly3∂ceh ac uk / +44(0)7920 295 384

Kontakt für Interviewwünsche mit Prof. Klaus Butterbach-Bahl:
Monika Landgraf, Karlsruher Institut für Technologie, PKM Abteilung Presse, presseAdh7∂kit edu / +49(0) 721 608-47414.

Das ENA-Gutachten wird am 11. April, dem ersten Tag der Konferenz “Nitrogen and Global Change 2011” in Edinburgh (11. bis 15. April 2011) vorgestellt. http://www.nitrogen2011.org/webfm_send/42.
Für die Teilnahme am Kongress kontaktieren Sie bitte Barnaby Smith bpgsNgo7∂ceh ac uk .



Das komplette Gutachten ist auf der Webseite “Nitrogen in Europe” verfügbar: http://www.nine-esf.org/  (Klick auf ENA press linkes Menü). Dort haben Sie Zugang zu den einzelnen Kapiteln der Studie.

Die ENA-Studie wird veröffentlicht in: Cambridge University Press www.cambridge.org/9781107006126.

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) ist eine Körperschaft des öffentlichen Rechts nach den Gesetzen des Landes Baden-Württemberg. Es nimmt sowohl die Mission einer Universität als auch die Mission eines nationalen Forschungszentrums in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft wahr. Thematische Schwerpunkte der Forschung sind Energie, natürliche und gebaute Umwelt sowie Gesellschaft und Technik, von fundamentalen Fragen bis zur Anwendung. Mit rund 9400 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern, darunter mehr als 6000 in Wissenschaft und Lehre, sowie 24 500 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der größten Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas. Das KIT verfolgt seine Aufgaben im Wissensdreieck Forschung – Lehre – Innovation.

lg, 11.04.2011

Weiterer Kontakt:

Barnaby Smith Centre for Ecology & Hydrology Tel.: + 44 (0) 7920 295 384 E-Mail: bpgsMqh7∂ceh ac uk Monika Landgraf Karlsruher Institut für Technologie Tel: +48 (0) 721 608 47414 E-Mail: presseAij5∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseIoi7∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.