Press Release 057/2011

Felix Burda Award for KIT Cancer Prevention Initiative

German Cancer Prevention Award Granted to Volker List and Andrea Stahl from the Medical Ser-vices Unit of Karlsruhe Institute of Technology
Im Berliner „Adlon“ bei der Awardverleihung (v.l.n.r.): Moderatorin Barbara Schöneberger,  Dres. Andrea Stahl und Volker List, Laudator Dr. Joachim Breuer (DGUV) und  KIT-Präsident Professor Eberhard Umbach (Foto: Felix Burda Stiftung)
Awards ceremony at the ”Adlon“ hotel in Berlin (from left to right): Presenter Barbara Schöneberger, Dres. Andrea Stahl and Volker List, laudator Dr. Joachim Breuer (DGUV), and KIT President Professor Eberhard Umbach. (Photo: Felix Burda Foundation)

Karlsruhe Institute of Technology is attaching great importance to enhancing workplace health. Among the measures taken are projects for the prevention of cancer and cardiovascular diseases and actions launched by the Health Network for more physical exercise and better prevention of addiction and nutrition. In the category of “Prevention at Work”, the Felix Burda Foundation has now honored the KIT Medical Services Unit for its bowel cancer prevention action for KIT employees.

In 2009, a bowel cancer prevention action was organized for the third time on today’s Campus North of Karlsruhe Institute of Tech-nology. To increase the response rate compared to the two previous years, however, the Medical Services Unit decided to address all employees over 40. In addition, the stool test gadget and all necessary information were sent personally to the employees at their workplaces via internal mail. They did not have to come to the first-aid station to collect them. This considerably reduced the inhibition threshold: The participation rate reached 52% of the 2400 employees contacted.

In addition, presentations and lectures on bowel cancer prevention and on risk factors like lacking physical exercise and wrong diet were offered. The tests were evaluated by the laboratory of the Medical Services Unit. In case of a positive finding, the KIT physi-cians were available for detailed conversation and provided addi-tional information. Most of the addressees accepted this offer. “This special, well-thought-out action organized in addition to daily routine work would not have been that successful without the active support by KIT’s Presidential Committee, in particular KIT Vice President Dr. Alexander Kurz, and the high commitment of all staff members of the Medical Services Unit,” emphasized Dr. Volker List, Head of the Medical Services Unit.

The high participation rate also convinced the 18 experts of the Felix Burda Award jury. Since 2003, the Felix Burda Foundation has been granting this award annually to the most successful and most innovative projects in the field of bowel cancer prevention. The KIT “Bowel Cancer Prevention 2009 and 2010” action was one of more than 60 applications nominated by the jury in the category of “Prevention at Work”, one of five award categories. The jury also considered the high acceptance of the talks offered by KIT’s physi-cians during the prevention action to be a brilliant idea. As a result of this support, nearly all positive findings were cleared up further by a coloscopy. Even at large enterprises with an accordingly large medical service unit, this hardly is the case.

In its category, the KIT action won over three competitors. During an awards gala presented by Barbara Schöneberger at the Adlon Kempinski Hotel, Berlin, the award was handed over to Volker List, Andrea Stahl, and KIT President Professor Eberhard Umbach on Sunday evening. The award was designed by the artist Christian Eckert in memory of his friend Felix Burda, who died from bowel cancer. This year, about 300 prominent supporters of the foundation and stars from show business, politics, industry, and science met at the luxurious hotel in Berlin to celebrate the 10th anniversary of the foundation.

KIT is systematically extending its actions relating to in-plant health management developed by the precursory institutions of Universität Karlsruhe and Forschungszentrum Karlsruhe to permanently and sustainably promote the health of its employees. The Medical Services Unit focuses on holistic health care. Cancer prevention pro-jects are being performed or planned. Offers relating to the preven-tion of cardiovascular diseases, such as stress ECGs, checks of the risk factors of blood pressure, overweight, disturbances of bone metabolism, stress management, and other psychic stress factors, are on the agenda as is the improved reintegration of employees after longer diseases. In 2010, the KIT Health Network was established. In the same year, this Network for the first time organized the Health Days under the heading of “Fit im KIT – mit Körper, Geist und Seele” (Fit at KIT – with body, spirit, and soul). “KIT employees participated in an extensive program with information stands, workshops, and physical exercises and actions concerning stress relaxation, nutrition, and safety,” explained Dr. Andrea Stahl, one of two Heads of the Network. When organizing these measures, KIT also provides scientific input. The Institute for Sports and Sports Science, the House of Competence, and the Medical Services Unit jointly execute the “Fit for Life” study that focuses on the impact of endurance training on the physical, psychic, and mental health of KIT trainees.

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,600 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 23,300 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

tr, 11.04.2011
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseXfz2∂kit edu

The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseOwj5∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-41105.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail

Presseinformation 057/2011

Felix Burda Award für Mitarbeiter-Prävention des KIT

Volker List und Andrea Stahl aus den Medizinischen Diensten des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie mit deutschem Präventionspreis ausgezeichnet.
Im Berliner „Adlon“ bei der Awardverleihung (v.l.n.r.): Moderatorin Barbara Schöneberger,  Dres. Andrea Stahl und Volker List, Laudator Dr. Joachim Breuer (DGUV) und  KIT-Präsident Professor Eberhard Umbach (Foto: Felix Burda Stiftung)
Im Berliner „Adlon“ bei der Awardverleihung (v.l.n.r.): Moderatorin Barbara Schöneberger, Dres. Andrea Stahl und Volker List, Laudator Dr. Joachim Breuer (DGUV) und KIT-Präsident Professor Eberhard Umbach (Foto: Felix Burda Stiftung)

Betriebliche Gesundheitsförderung wird am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie groß geschrieben und konsequent ausgebaut: mit Projekten zur Krebsvorsorge- und zur Prävention von Herz/Kreislauferkrankungen und durch Aktionen des Netzwerks Gesundheit rund um die Themen Bewegung, Suchtprävention und Ernährung. Nun zeichnete die Felix Burda Stiftung die Medizinischen Dienste des KIT für eine Darmpräventionsaktion für Mitarbeiter in der Kategorie „Prevention at work“ mit ihrem Award aus.

Zum dritten Mal fand 2009 am heutigen Campus Nord des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie eine Darmkrebsvorsorgeaktion statt. Doch es bedurfte einer wirkungsvollen Idee, um die Resonanz im Vergleich zu den zwei Vorjahren zu erhöhen. Die Medizinischen Dienste entschlossen sich die Vorsorgeaktion auf alle Mitarbeiter ab 40 Jahren auszudehnen, zudem erhielten die Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter erstmalig den Stuhltest und alle weiteren notwendigen Informationen per Hauspost persönlich an ihren Arbeitsplatz und mussten diesen nicht mehr in der Medizinischen Ambulanz abholen. Offensichtlich wurde dadurch die Hemmschwelle deutlich gesenkt: die Teilnahme lag nun bei 52 Prozent der angeschriebenen 2.400 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter.

Kombiniert wurde diese Aktion darüber hinaus mit Vorträgen zur Darmkrebsvorsorge und zu den Risikofaktoren Bewegungsmangel und falsche Ernährung. Das Labor der Medizinischen Dienste leistete die vollständige Auswertung der Tests. Bei positivem Testergebnis boten die Medizinischen Dienste ein ausführliches Aufklärungsgespräch mit den Betriebsärztinnen oder -ärzten an, das die Angesprochenen überwiegend wahrnahmen. „Diese neben der täglichen Routine durchgeführte Sonderaktion mit durchdachtem Gesamtkonzept wäre ohne die aktive Unterstützung durch das KIT-Präsidium, insbesondere durch KIT-Vizepräsident Dr. Alexander Kurz, und den starken Einsatz aller Mitarbeiter der Medizinischen Dienste niemals so erfolgreich geworden“, so Dr. Volker List, Leiter der Medizinischen Dienste.

Die hohe Teilnahmequote überzeugte auch die 18-köpfige Expertenjury des Felix Burda Awards, mit dem die gleichnamige Stiftung seit 2003 jährlich die erfolgreichsten und innovativsten Projekte auf dem Gebiet der Darmkrebsvorsorge auszeichnet: Bei mehr als 60 Bewerbungen nominierte die Jury in der Sparte „Prevention at work“ – eine von fünf Award-Kategorien – die Aktion „Darmkrebsvorsorge 2009 und 2010“ des KIT. Als vorbildlich schätzte die Jury bei der Präventionsmaßnahme des KIT auch die hohe Akzeptanz der beratenden Begleitung durch die Betriebsärzte ein. Sie bewirkte, dass fast alle positiven Befunde durch eine Darmspiegelung weiter abgeklärt werden konnten. Das ist selbst in großen Unternehmen mit einem ausgedehnten werksärztlichen Dienst kaum der Fall.

In ihrer Kategorie konnte sich die Aktion des KIT gegen drei Konkurrenten durchsetzten. So konnten Volker List, Andrea Stahl und KIT-Präsident Professor Eberhard Umbach im Berliner Adlon Kempinski am Sonntagabend bei einer von Barbara Schöneberger moderierten Gala die Award-Trophäe entgegennehmen. Der Künstler Christian Eckert entwarf diese in Gedenken an seinen an Darmkrebs verstorbenen Freund Felix Burda. Zum zehnjährigen Jubiläum der Stiftung trafen sich rund 300 prominente Unterstützer der ersten Stunde und Größen aus Showbusiness, Politik, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft im luxuriösen Berliner Traditionshotel.

Das KIT weitet systematisch die von den Vorgänger-Institutionen Universität und Forschungszentrum Karlsruhe seit Mitte der 90er Jahre entwickelten Handlungsfelder des betrieblichen Gesundheitsmanagements aus, um die Gesundheit von Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern dauerhaft und nachhaltig zu  fördern. Gerade für die Medizinischen Dienste steht dabei die ganzheitliche medizinische Betreuung  im Vordergrund. Projekte zur Krebsvorsorge werden durchgeführt oder sind in Planung. Angebote zur Vorsorge von Herz/Kreislauferkrankungen wie Belastungs-EKGs, die Überprüfung der Risikofaktoren Bluthochdruck, Übergewicht und Stoffwechselstörungen, Stressbewältigung und andere psychische Belastungsfaktoren stehen ebenso auf der Agenda wie die Verbesserung der Wiedereingliederung für längerfristig erkrankte Mitarbeiter. 2010 entstand das KIT-Netzwerk Gesundheit, das im Gründungsjahr zum ersten Mal die Gesundheitstage „Fit im KIT - Mit Körper, Geist und Seele“ veranstaltete. „Die KIT-Mitarbeiter erwartete hierbei ein umfangreiches Programm mit Informationsständen, Schnupperworkshops, Mitmachangeboten zu den Themen Bewegung, Entspannung, Ernährung und Sicherheit“, so Dr. Andrea Stahl, eine der beiden Leiterinnen des Netzwerkes. Bei diesen Maßnahmen profitiert das KIT auch von seinem wissenschaftlichen Input: so führen das Institut für Sport und Sportwissenschaft, das House of Competence und die Medizinischen Dienste gemeinsam die „Fit for life“-Studie durch, bei der die Auswirkung von Ausdauertraining auf die körperliche, seelische und geistige Gesundheit von KIT-Auszubildenden untersucht wird.

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) ist eine Körperschaft des öffentlichen Rechts nach den Gesetzen des Landes Baden-Württemberg. Es nimmt sowohl die Mission einer Universität als auch die Mission eines nationalen Forschungszentrums in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft wahr. Thematische Schwerpunkte der Forschung sind Energie, natürliche und gebaute Umwelt sowie Gesellschaft und Technik, von fundamentalen Fragen bis zur Anwendung. Mit rund 9400 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern, darunter mehr als 6000 in Wissenschaft und Lehre, sowie 24 500 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der größten Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas. Das KIT verfolgt seine Aufgaben im Wissensdreieck Forschung – Lehre – Innovation.

tr, 11.04.2011

Weiterer Kontakt:

Tatjana Rauch
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing (PKM)
Tel.: +49 721 608-46047
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
tatjana rauchKmk0∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseRdt8∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.