Press Release 053/2011

Karlsruhe: City of Microbes for Four Days

Annual Conference of the Association for General and Applied Microbiology from April 3 to 6 in Karlsruhe
Ein Pilzmyzel des Schimmelpilzes Aspergillus niger. Dieser Pilz wird nicht nur zur Gewinnung von Zitronensäure, sondern auch für viele moderne biotechnologische Anwendungen eingesetzt. (Foto: BASF SE)
Mycelium of the Aspergillus niger mold fungus. This fungus is not only used to extract citric acid, but also for many modern bioengineering applications. (Photo: BASF SE)

Microorganisms are among the most successful organisms in the world and irreplaceable for life on Earth. Their enormous significance and variety are accounted for by the conference of the Association for General and Applied Microbiology (VAAM) from April 3 to 6 in Karlsruhe. This year’s conference organized by scientists from Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), Max Rubner Institute, and BASF SE will focus on cellular biology, environmental microbiology, bioengineering, and microbial communities.

More than 1200 microbiologists from Germany and abroad are expected to attend the conference that will take place at the Stadthalle and start on Sunday, 16.00 hrs, with the public presentation: “The Last Meters to the Tap: Microbiology in the Drinking Water Pipe.” The lecturer will be Professor Hans Curt Flemming from the University of Duisburg-Essen. He will bring light into the grey area of house installations. Here, even the best drinking water may lose its quality in particular when unsuitable materials are used, but also by additional devices for “water improvement”. How good is monitoring? Which materials are permitted and licensed? How can problems be avoided? Do we all have to drink water from bottles? These and other questions will be answered by the presentation.

On the following days, 17 plenary presentations will be given by internationally leading scientists. For example, Professor Antje Boetius from the Max Planck Institute for Marine Microbiology, Bremen, will provide insight into the fascinating world of the deep sea. She will concentrate on the microbial decomposition of hydrocarbons, such as petroleum. After the catastrophe in the Gulf of Mexico last year, this topic is of high current importance. Another current aspect of microbiology will be covered by Professor Don Cowan from the University of Western Cape, South Africa: Only very few microor-ganisms are cultivable by man. With molecular methods it is now possible to open up the gigantic potential of non-cultivable bacteria. Professor Peter Graumann from the University of Freiburg and Dr. Stephen Osmani from Ohio State University, USA, will present latest findings regarding the structure and functioning of cells of bacteria and fungi. Plant-microbe interactions will be dealt with by Assistant Professor Dr. Jens Boch from the University of Halle-Wittenberg and Professor Paola Bonfante from the University of Turin. They will report about plant-damaging bacteria and symbiotic fungi. 

A number of exhibitors will accompany the conference and present their products. New technologies will be described in workshops. At the career symposium, young scientists may inform themselves about professional chances in this field. Among others, Ulrike Gerischer, science coordinator at the Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry, Göttingen, will speak about the “Plan B” in the academic career. More than 200 mainly young scientists will present their activities in short lectures and by more than 660 posters. On Monday, April 4, the VAAM will grant a research award to an excellent young scientist. In addition, four awards will be granted to Ph. D. students for excellent Ph. Ds. in the field of microbiology. “The VAAM conference is not only a forum for established microbiologists, but also a platform for young scientists to familiarize with the numerous aspects of microbiology in fundamental research and application,” underlines the chairman of the conference, Professor Reinhard Fischer from the KIT Institute for Applied Biosciences. The VAAM attaches high importance to giving young scientists the opportunity to present their work. “Microbial research in Germany is accomplished mainly by Ph. D. students. Scientific breakthroughs do not only depend on a good idea of the supervisor, but also and always on experimentally skilled hardworking scientists,” says Fischer. The VAAM conference will also consider the work-life balance. Fischer is rather pleased that children will be cared for at the conference venue, such that parents will be able to attend the conference.

The Association for General and Applied Microbiology (VAAM) celebrated its 25th anniversary last year. It represents about 3300 scientists who have specialized in microbiology and work in industry and research. The scope of research extends from bacteria and fungi in food stuffs and water bodies to pathogens, genome analyses, and the industrial use of microorganisms and their enzymes.

More information on the conference is offered at: www.vaam2011.de

Background Information on Microbiology:
Although microorganisms have a size of a few thousandths of a millimeter only, they are among the most successful organisms in the world and irreplaceable for life on Earth. Their small size is more than compensated by their number. A gram of soil may contain several millions of bacteria, fungi, and other microorganisms. They are found in the perpetual ice of the pole regions and high mountains as well as in hot springs in the deep sea. And they also play a big role for man, as they live on our skin and in our digestive tract. The total number of microorganisms colonizing us exceeds by far that of our own body cells.

The modern era of microbiology started in the last 19th century. Diseases like tuberculosis, diphtheria, cholera, or pest are caused by bacteria and killed thousands of people annually in former times. Renowned scientists like Emil von Behring, Robert Koch, Paul Ehrlich or Louis Pasteur studied these infectious diseases. Thanks to their pioneer activities, these diseases were found to be caused by bacterial infections, vaccines were developed, and the hygiene standards in hospitals were improved. Another milestone was the discovery of antibiotics during the war, as a result of which many diseases were eradicated nearly completely. Still, bacteria are not only of medical relevance, but extremely important to the cycles of matter on Earth. They play a significant role in the decomposition of all organic materials produced by plants. They oxidize the bound carbon back to carbon dioxide that is then used by the plants to form carbohydrates. Similarly, nitrogen, phosphorus, and other minerals are returned to the soil. Without the activity of microorganisms, life on Earth would die rapidly. The metabolic capacity of bacteria and fungi has been used by man since millennia. Classical bioengineering products are beer, wine, yogurt or cheese. Without bacteria, yeasts, or filament fungi, these products would not have been feasible. Lately, bacteria and fungi are applied in modern engineering, for example for the production of vitamins. The number of chemical products produced with methods of so-called white bioengineering based on microorganisms is expected to increase significantly in the future.

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,600 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 23,300 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

rl, 29.03.2011
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseRex2∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Inge Arnold
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing (PKM)
Phone: +49 721 608-22861
Fax: +49 721 608-25080
inge arnoldJsl6∂kit edu


The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail

Presseinformation 053/2011

Karlsruhe: Vier Tage Stadt der Mikroben

Vom 3. bis 6. April findet in Karlsruhe die Jahrestagung der Vereinigung für Allgemeine und Angewandte Mikrobiologie (VAAM) statt.
Ein Pilzmyzel des Schimmelpilzes Aspergillus niger. Dieser Pilz wird nicht nur zur Gewinnung von Zitronensäure, sondern auch für viele moderne biotechnologische Anwendungen eingesetzt. (Foto: BASF SE)
Ein Pilzmyzel des Schimmelpilzes Aspergillus niger. Dieser Pilz wird nicht nur zur Gewinnung von Zitronensäure, sondern auch für viele moderne biotechnologische Anwendungen eingesetzt. (Foto: BASF SE)

Mikroorganismen gehören zu den erfolgreichsten Organismen der Welt und sind für das Leben auf der Erde unersetzlich. Ihrer enormen Bedeutung und Vielfalt trägt die Tagung der Vereinigung für Allgemeine und Angewandte Mikrobiologie (VAAM) vom 3. bis 6. April in Karlsruhe Rechnung. Die Veranstaltung, die von Wissenschaftlern des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie (KIT), des Max Rubner-Instituts und der BASF SE organisiert wird, beschäftigt sich dieses Jahr mit Zellbiologie, Umweltmikrobiologie, Biotechnologie sowie mit mikrobiellen Lebensgemeinschaften.

Die Tagung, zu der mehr als 1200 Mikrobiologen aus dem In- und Ausland erwartet werden, findet in der Stadthalle statt und beginnt am Sonntag um 16.00 Uhr mit dem öffentlichen Vortrag: „Die letzten Meter bis zum Wasserhahn: Mikrobiologie in der Trinkwasserleitung“. Referent ist Professor Hans Curt Flemming von der Universität Duisburg-Essen. Er bringt Licht in eine Grauzone: die Hausinstallation. Hier kann auch das beste Trinkwasser seine Qualität verlieren; besonders dann, wenn ungeeignete Werkstoffe verwendet werden, aber auch durch Zusatzgeräte, die der „Wasserverbesserung“ dienen. Wie gut ist die Überwachung? Welche Materialien sind zugelassen? Kann es zu Epidemien kommen, und wie lassen sich Probleme vermeiden? Müssen wir jetzt alle Flaschenwasser trinken? Diese und andere Fragen beantwortet der Vortrag.

An den folgenden Tagen werden 17 Plenarvorträge von international führenden Wissenschaftlern geboten. So gibt etwa Professorin Antje Boetius vom Bremer Max-Planck-Institut für Marine Mikrobiologie einen Einblick in die faszinierende Welt der Tiefsee. Dabei geht es um den mikrobiellen Abbau von Kohlenwasserstoffen wie zum Beispiel Öl. Durch die Katastrophe im Golf von Mexico im vergangenen Jahr ist das Thema von besonderer Aktualität. Einem weiteren aktuellen Aspekt der Mikrobiologie widmet sich Professor Don Cowan von der University of Western Cape, Südafrika: Bislang ist nur der kleinste Teil der Mikroorganismen durch den Menschen kultivierbar. Mit molekularen Methoden ist es heute möglich, das riesige Potenzial der nicht-kultivierbaren Bakterien zu erschließen. Professor Peter Graumann von der Universität Freiburg und Dr. Stephen Osmani von der Ohio State University, USA, referieren über neuesten Erkenntnisse zum Aufbau und der Funktion der Zellen von Bakterien und Pilzen. Den Pflanzen-Mikroben-Interaktionen widmen sich Privatdozent Dr. Jens Boch von der Universität Halle-Wittenberg und Professorin Paola Bonfante von der Universität Turin, indem sie über pflanzenschädigende Bakterien und symbiotisch lebende Pilze berichten.

Eine Vielzahl von Ausstellern begleitet die Tagung mit einer Produktpräsentation. Außerdem werden in Workshops neue Technologien vorgestellt. Insbesondere für Nachwuchswissenschaftler ist das Karriere-Symposium interessant, das über Berufschancen in diesem Fachgebiet informiert. Unter anderem spricht Ulrike Gerischer, Wissenschaftskoordinatorin am Göttinger Max-Planck-Institut für biophysikalische Chemie, über den „Plan B“ in der akademischen Laufbahn. Mehr als 200 überwiegend junge Wissenschaftler stellen außerdem in Kurzvorträgen sowie auf über 660 Postern ihre Arbeit vor. Die VAAM verleiht außerdem am Montag, den 4. April in der Stadthalle einen Forschungspreis an einen herausragenden Nachwuchswissenschaftler. Zudem werden vier Doktorandenpreise für herausragende Promotionen auf dem Gebiet der Mikrobiologie vergeben. „Die VAAM-Tagung ist nicht nur ein Forum für etablierte Mikrobiologen, sondern auch eine Plattform für junge Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler, um die vielfältigen Aspekte der Mikrobiologie in Grundlagenforschung und Anwendung kennenzulernen“, betont Tagungsleiter Professor Reinhard Fischer vom KIT-Institut für Angewandte Biowissenschaften. Das Angebot an junge Wissenschaftler, ihre Arbeiten zu präsentieren, hat eine große Bedeutung in der VAAM: „Die mikrobielle Forschung in Deutschland wird überwiegend von Promovierenden geleistet. Wissenschaftliche Durchbrüche hängen nicht nur von einer guten Idee des Betreuers ab, sondern immer auch von experimentell geschickten, hart arbeitenden Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern“, so Fischer. Die VAAM-Tagung setzt auch in puncto Work-Life-Balance Zeichen. Er freue sich, so Fischer, dass man es dank einer Kinderbetreuung vor Ort auch Eltern kleiner Kinder ermöglichen könne, die Tagung zu besuchen.

Die Vereinigung für Allgemeine und Angewandte Mikrobiologie (VAAM) feierte im vergangenen Jahr ihr 25-jähriges Jubiläum. Sie vertritt rund 3300 mikrobiologisch orientierte Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler aus Forschung und Industrie. Die Bandbreite der Forschung reicht von Bakterien und Pilzen in Lebensmitteln und Gewässern über Krankheitserreger bis hin zu Genomanalysen und industrieller Nutzung von Mikroorganismen und ihren Enzymen.

Mehr Infos zur Tagung unter: www.vaam2011.de

Hintergrundinformation zur Mikrobiologie:
Obwohl Mikroorganismen nur wenige Tausendstel Millimeter groß sind, gehören sie zu den erfolgreichsten Organismen der Welt und sind für das Leben auf der Erde unersetzlich. Die geringe Größe machen sie durch ihre Anzahl mehr als wett. Ein Gramm Boden kann mehrere Millionen Bakterien, Pilze und andere Mikroorganismen enthalten. Man findet sie sowohl im ewigen Eis der Pole und Hochgebirge als auch in heißen Quellen in der Tiefsee. Sie spielen aber auch unmittelbar für Menschen eine große Rolle, denn sie leben auf unserer Haut und in unserem Verdauungstrakt. Insgesamt besiedeln uns mehr Mikroorganismen als wir eigene Körperzellen besitzen.

Das moderne Zeitalter der Mikrobiologie begann Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts. Krankheiten wie Tuberkulose, Diphtherie, Cholera oder Pest werden durch Bakterien verursacht und haben früher jedes Jahr Tausende von Menschen getötet. Diesen Infektionskrankheiten haben sich renommierte Wissenschaftler wie Emil von Behring, Robert Koch, Paul Ehrlich oder Louis Pasteur gewidmet. Durch ihre pionierhaften Arbeiten wurden diese Krankheiten auf bakterielle Infektionen zurückgeführt, Impfstoffe entwickelt und der Hygienestandard in den Krankenhäusern verbessert. Ein weiterer Meilenstein war die Entdeckung der Antibiotika in den Kriegsjahren, wodurch viele Krankheiten fast ausgerottet wurden. Aber Bakterien haben nicht nur medizinische Bedeutung, sondern sind auch für die Stoffkreisläufe auf der Erde extrem wichtig. Sie sind maßgeblich am Abbau allen organischen Materials beteiligt, das durch Pflanzen produziert wird. Sie oxidieren den gebundenen Kohlenstoff wieder zu Kohlendioxid, das dadurch den Pflanzen zur Bildung von Kohlenhydraten zur Verfügung steht. Ähnlich werden Stickstoff, Phosphor und andere Mineralien dem Boden wieder zugeführt. Ohne die Aktivität der Mikroorganismen käme das Leben auf der Erde schnell zum Erliegen. Die metabolischen Fähigkeiten der Bakterien und Pilze hat sich der Mensch schon seit Jahrtausenden zunutze gemacht. Produkte der klassischen Biotechnologie umfassen Bier, Wein, Joghurt oder Käse, die ohne Bakterien, Hefen und filamenöse Pilze nicht denkbar wären. Neuerdings werden Bakterien und Pilze vielfältig in der modernen Biotechnologie eingesetzt, beispielsweise zur Produktion von Vitaminen. Es ist zu erwarten, dass in Zukunft deutlich mehr chemische Produkte mit den Methoden der sogenannten weißen Biotechnologie hergestellt werden und damit letztlich auf Mikroorganismen zurückgehen.

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) ist eine Körperschaft des öffentlichen Rechts nach den Gesetzen des Landes Baden-Württemberg. Es nimmt sowohl die Mission einer Universität als auch die Mission eines nationalen Forschungszentrums in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft wahr. Thematische Schwerpunkte der Forschung sind Energie, natürliche und gebaute Umwelt sowie Gesellschaft und Technik, von fundamentalen Fragen bis zur Anwendung. Mit rund 9400 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern, darunter mehr als 6000 in Wissenschaft und Lehre, sowie 24 500 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der größten Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas. Das KIT verfolgt seine Aufgaben im Wissensdreieck Forschung – Lehre – Innovation.

rl, 29.03.2011

Weiterer Kontakt:

Inge Arnold
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing (PKM)
Tel.: +49 721 608-22861
Fax: +49 721 608-25080
inge arnoldWaq7∂kit edu