Home | deutsch  | Plain Language | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Contact:
Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseLyh4∂kit edu

Press Release 046/2011

Daimler AG, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, and the State of Baden-Wuerttemberg Launch PhD Re-search Group

Daimler and KIT Extend Cooperation in the Field of Electromobility with State Funding
Die Doktoranden im Promotionskolleg werden in wichtigen Feldern der Elektromobilität forschen. (Foto: Andrea Fabry)
PhD students will conduct research into major fields of electromobility. (Photo: Andrea Fabry)

Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) and Daimler AG establish a joint PhD research group focusing on electromobility. For a period of four years, Daimler will supply EUR 1.75 million in total to fund nine PhD students. The Ministry of Science, Research, and the Arts, Baden-Wuerttemberg (MWK), supports the project with another EUR 500,000. The Behr company, systems supplier of automotive industry, also is cooperation partner and funds another PhD student. The PhD research group at the Project House E-drive is open in principle to other interested small- and medium-sized enterprises for participation.

With the PhD research group, the partners wish to enhance transfer between science and industry in the future-oriented field of electro-mobility. In this way, Daimler and KIT extend their research coopera-tion under the Project House E-drive that was founded by both part-ners in 2008 to accelerate the commercialization of electric and hybrid vehicles.

The State Minister of Science, Professor Dr. Peter Frankenberg, said: “The PhD research group is a milestone in the cooperation between science and industry. It opens up new chances for young scientists to further qualify and to conduct research into a major technology for the future – in cooperation with partners from industry and with a large potential of applications in practice.” In his opinion, the high commitment of Daimler AG and the Behr company reflects the high trust of industry in the power of university research in Baden-Wuerttemberg.

Dr. Dieter Zetsche, CEO of Daimler AG and Head of Mercedes-Benz Cars: “Top technology needs top research. This is why Daimler is constantly searching for young scientists, who are among the best of their discipline, and we find them at KIT. The new PhD research group will also contribute to bringing viable ideas much more rapidly onto the road.”

“The PhD research group at the Project House E-drive is another important element of the comprehensive research and teaching activities of KIT in the field of electromobility,” emphasize the KIT Presidents, Professors Eberhard Umbach and Horst Hippler. “The PhD research group fits ideally to the Competence E strategy of KIT to study the complete system from the energy store to the electric power train not only on the level of individual components, but also on the systems level.”

For a duration of four years, ten PhD students from various engi-neering disciplines will study important aspects of electromobility, for example, power electronics or electrification of the power train. The candidates will be selected by a steering committee consisting of representatives of KIT, Daimler, and Behr. The PhD students will be supervised by KIT together with one of both partners. The rooms and laboratory infrastructure will be provided by KIT. The PhD students will conduct research at KIT for three quarters of their working time. As it is the case for shared professorships, an instrument of KIT research funding with professors working at KIT and in industry in parallel, the PhD students will also be involved in the research and development work of Daimler. To further intensify know-how transfer, the PhD research group members will participate in close-to-the-job qualification seminars and curricula of the Daimler Technical Academy. Vice versa, employees of Daimler will join training at KIT. These close interconnections make the PhD research group stand out from other research groups established so far.

The PhD students of mechanical engineering, electrical engineering, information technology, and chemical engineering will also be active in teaching their disciplines at KIT. A major constituent of the PhD program is a stay abroad of three months’ duration at companies and research institutions working in the field of electromobility.

About Daimler
By the invention of the automobile in 1886, the company founders Gottlieb Daimler and Carl Benz made history. With its business units of Mercedes-Benz Cars, Daimler Trucks, Mercedes-Benz Vans, Daimler Buses, and Daimler Financial Services, the automotive manufacturer is among the largest suppliers of premium passenger cars and the largest manufacturer of commercial vehicles worldwide. As a pioneer of automotive manufacture, Daimler is also designing future mobility today: The enterprise focuses on innovative and green technologies as well as on safe and high-quality vehicles that fascinate and enthuse their customers. As regards the development of alternative drive trains, Daimler is the only automotive manufacturer that invests in both the hybrid and the electric engine and in the fuel cell, the objective being emission-free driving in the long term.

About the MWK
The Ministry of Science, Research, and the Arts is responsible for key areas of Baden-Wuerttemberg politics. As supreme state au-thority, the Ministry is responsible for all universities of the state, for most non-university research institutions, for the scientific libraries and archives as well as for major arts institutions in Baden-Wuerttemberg. Presently, about 70 state-funded and private univer-sities exist in Baden-Wuerttemberg. Apart form the universities, more than 100 research institutions are located in Baden-Wuerttemberg, of these, 12 research institutions of the Max Planck Society, 15 institutions of the Fraunhofer Society, 13 contract research institutions, and two large-scale research institutions of the Helmholtz Association. The Ministry of Science is sharing the institutional and project funding of many of these institutions.

 

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 24,400 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

lg, 17.03.2011

Press contact:

KIT:
Monika Landgraf
Tel.: 0721 608-47414

Daimler:
Dominique Albrecht
Tel.: 0711 17-40629

MWK:
Jochen Laun
Tel.: 0711 279-3004
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseFhd8∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail

Presseinformation 046/2011

Daimler AG, Karlsruher Institut für Technologie und Land Baden-Württemberg starten Promotionskolleg

Daimler und KIT bauen ihre Zusammenarbeit in der Elektromobilität weiter aus – das Land fördert die Forschungskooperation
Die Doktoranden im Promotionskolleg werden in wichtigen Feldern der Elektromobilität forschen. (Foto: Andrea Fabry)
Die Doktoranden im Promotionskolleg werden in wichtigen Feldern der Elektromobilität forschen. (Foto: Andrea Fabry)

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) und die Daimler AG richten ein gemeinsames Promotionskolleg ein, in dem zu Themen der Elektromobilität geforscht wird. Für das Kolleg stellt Daimler über einen Zeitraum von vier Jahren insgesamt 1,75 Millionen Euro für die Förderung von neun Doktoranden zur Verfügung. Das Ministerium für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Kunst Baden-Württemberg (MWK) unterstützt das Vorhaben mit weiteren 500.000 Euro. Die Firma Behr, Systemlieferant für die Automobilindustrie, ist ebenfalls Kooperationspartner und fördert einen weiteren Kollegiaten. Das Promotionskolleg im Projekthaus e-drive steht grundsätzlich weiteren interessierten kleinen und mittleren Unternehmen zur Beteiligung offen.

Die Partner stärken mit dem Kolleg den Transfer zwischen Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft auf dem zukunftsweisenden Technologiefeld der Elektromobilität. Daimler und das KIT bauen mit dem Promotionskolleg ihre Forschungskooperation im Projekthaus e-drive weiter aus. Daimler und das KIT haben das Projekthaus e-drive 2008 als Forschungskooperation gegründet, um gezielt die Marktreife von Elektro- und Hybridfahrzeugen zu beschleunigen.

Wissenschaftsminister Professor Dr. Peter Frankenberg sagte: „Das Promotionskolleg ist ein Meilenstein der Zusammenarbeit zwischen Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft. Es bietet neue Chancen für den wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs, sich weiter zu qualifizieren und zugleich in einer zentralen Zukunftstechnologie Forschungsarbeit zu leisten - im Verbund mit Partnern aus der Wirtschaft und mit großem Potential für Anwendungen in der Praxis“. Das besondere Engagement der Daimler AG und der Firma Behr zeige, welch großes Vertrauen die Wirtschaft in die Leistungskraft der baden-württembergischen Hochschulforschung setze.

Dr. Dieter Zetsche, Vorsitzender des Vorstands der Daimler AG und Leiter Mercedes-Benz Cars: "Spitzentechnologie braucht Spitzen-forschung. Deshalb sucht Daimler kontinuierlich Nachwuchswissenschaftler, die zu den Besten ihres Fachs gehören – wir finden sie am KIT. Das neue Promotionskolleg trägt zusätzlich dazu bei, Zukunftsideen schneller auf die Straße zu bringen."

„Das Promotionskolleg im Projekthaus e-drive ist ein weiterer wichtiger Baustein in den umfangreichen Forschungs- und Lehraktivitäten des KIT im zukunftsweisenden Feld der Elektromobilität“, so die KIT-Präsidenten Professor Eberhard Umbach und Professor Horst Hippler. „Das Kolleg fügt sich hervorragend in die Strategie des KIT ein, die unter dem Stichwort ‚Competence E‘ das Gesamtsystem vom Energiespeicher bis zum elektrischen Antrieb, nicht nur anhand der Einzelkomponenten, sondern auch auf Systemebene betrachtet.“

Zehn Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden aus verschiedenen Disziplinen der Ingenieurwissenschaften werden zunächst für vier Jahre wichtige Fragen der Elektromobilität erforschen, zum Beispiel im Bereich Leistungselektronik oder Elektrifizierung des Antriebsstrangs. Die Auswahl der Kandidaten erfolgt durch ein Steering-Committee, besetzt aus Vertretern vom KIT, Daimler und Behr. Die Betreuung der Doktoranden übernimmt das KIT jeweils gemeinsam mit einem der beiden Partner. Die Räumlichkeiten und die Laborinfrastruktur stellt das KIT zur Verfügung; zu drei Vierteln ihrer Arbeitszeit werden die Doktoranden am KIT forschen. Vergleichbar mit den „Shared Professorships“, einem Instrument der KIT-Forschungsförderung, das Professoren gleichzeitig die Tätigkeit am KIT und in der Industrie erlaubt, werden die Promovierenden neben ihrer Tätigkeit am KIT auch in den Forschungs- und Entwicklungsabteilungen bei Daimler mitarbeiten. Um den Wissenstransfer weiter zu intensivieren, setzt das Promotionskolleg auf berufsnahe Qualifzierungsseminare und Curricula in der Daimler Technik-Akademie. Umgekehrt kommen Mitarbeiter von Daimler für Fortbildungen ans KIT. Durch diese enge Verzahnung hebt sich das Promotionskolleg von bisherigen Kollegien ab.

Die Promovierenden aus den Disziplinen Maschinenbau, Elektrotechnik, Informationstechnik und Chemieingenieurwesen werden sich mit ihren jeweiligen Forschungsgebieten am KIT auch in der Lehre engagieren. Fester Bestandteil ist ein jeweils dreimonatiger Auslandsaufenthalt bei Unternehmen und Forschungsinstitutionen im Bereich der Elektromobilität.


Über Daimler
Die Firmengründer Gottlieb Daimler und Carl Benz haben mit der Erfindung des Automobils im Jahr 1886 Geschichte geschrieben. Mit den Geschäftsfeldern Mercedes-Benz Cars, Daimler Trucks, Mercedes-Benz Vans, Daimler Buses und Daimler Financial Services gehört der Fahrzeughersteller zu den größten Anbietern von Premium-Pkw und ist der größte weltweit aufgestellte Nutzfahrzeug-Hersteller. Als Pionier des Automobilbaus gestaltet Daimler auch heute die Zukunft der Mobilität: Das Unternehmen setzt dabei auf innovative und grüne Technologien sowie auf sichere und hochwertige Fahrzeuge, die ihre Kunden faszinieren und begeistern. Daimler investiert bei der Entwicklung alternativer Antriebe als einziger Automobilhersteller sowohl in den Hybrid-, als auch in den Elektromotor und in die Brennstoffzelle mit dem Ziel, langfristig das emissionsfreie Fahren zu ermöglichen.


Über das MWK
Das Ministerium für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Kunst vertritt Schlüsselbereiche der baden-württembergischen Politik. Als oberste Landesbehörde ist das Ministerium für sämtliche Hochschulen des Landes, für den größten Teil der außeruniversitären Forschungsein-richtungen, für die wissenschaftlichen Bibliotheken und Archive sowie für bedeutende Kunsteinrichtungen Baden-Württembergs zuständig. Gegenwärtig gibt es in Baden-Württemberg rund 70 Hochschulen in staatlicher und privater Trägerschaft. Außerhalb der Hochschulen sind im Land Baden-Württemberg über 100 Forschungseinrichtungen angesiedelt, darunter 12 Forschungseinrichtungen der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, 15 Einrichtungen der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft, 13 Vertragsforschungseinrichtungen und zwei Großforschungseinrichtungen der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft. Bei einer Vielzahl dieser Einrichtungen ist das Wissenschaftsministerium institutionell oder über Projekte an der Finanzierung beteiligt.

 

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) ist eine Körperschaft des öffentlichen Rechts nach den Gesetzen des Landes Baden-Württemberg. Es nimmt sowohl die Mission einer Universität als auch die Mission eines nationalen Forschungszentrums in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft wahr. Thematische Schwerpunkte der Forschung sind Energie, natürliche und gebaute Umwelt sowie Gesellschaft und Technik, von fundamentalen Fragen bis zur Anwendung. Mit rund 9400 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern, darunter mehr als 6000 in Wissenschaft und Lehre, sowie 24 500 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der größten Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas. Das KIT verfolgt seine Aufgaben im Wissensdreieck Forschung – Lehre – Innovation.

lg, 17.03.2011

Weiterer Kontakt:

KIT:
Monika Landgraf
Tel.: 0721 608-47414

Daimler:
Dominique Albrecht
Tel.: 0711 17-40629

MWK:
Jochen Laun
Tel.: 0711 279-3004
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseFse1∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.