Press Release 045/2011

More Rooms for Students

Extension of Hans Dickmann Compound by 48 Units with Funds of the Schroff Foundations
Setzt eins drauf: Drei Gebäude des Hadiko erhalten eine weitere Etage. (Foto: KIT)
Plus one: Three buildings will be provided with an additional floor each. (Photo: Markus Riecker, KIT)

Inexpensive rooms for students in Karlsruhe are scarce. But now, the Studentenwohnheim e.V. (students home association) of Karlsruhe Institute of Technology plans to extend the Hans Dickmann Compound by 48 new flats. This extension will be funded by the Schroff Foundations with an amount of EUR 500,000. Building will start in summer 2011, the new units are expected to be ready for moving in by the 2012/2013 winter semester at the latest.

An additional floor each will be added to three of the existing Hans Dickman buildings. Extension is planned to be completed in August next year. “In due time before the start of the winter semester; in 2012, we expect a high demand due to the doubling of school graduates,” says Professor Olaf Dössel, Chairman of the Studentenwohnheim e.V. As they supply inexpensive and good flats, the students’ homes of the association are very popular among foreign students. Their proportion presently amounts to 38%. It is one of the objectives of the Schroff Foundations to further support this. “The accommodation of young people from abroad and, hence, the international character of KIT are important to us,” says Ingrid Schroff, Chairwoman of the Foundations and KIT Honorary Senator. “We would like to offer young people, who possibly have little money in their home countries already, good and inexpensive rooms.”

“The KIT Presidential Committee highly appreciates this general support by the Schroff Foundations and in particular the high personal commitment of our Honorary Senator Ingrid Schroff,” says KIT President Horst Hippler, who also chairs the administration council of the Studentenwohnheim e.V. “Students homes play an important role for the education and learning culture at KIT: They are places of the living and learning of students, of cultural and scientific exchange.”

The construction costs amount to a total of EUR 1.8 million. Half a million Euros is given by the Schroff Foundations alone. In addition, the students living in the homes of the Studentenwohnheim e.V. also pay a share for the extension project. “With their rent, they pay EUR 3 as a solidarity payment. In this way, they save capital and invest in future generations of students,” says Olaf Dössel. Furthermore, the foundation for students residences of the honorary senator Hugo Rhein will make available EUR 200,000 as a loan at reduced rates of interest.

About the Schroff Foundations
On the occasion of the 25th anniversary of their group of companies, Gunther and Ingrid Schroff founded the Schroff Foundations in late 1984 on the basis of their private assets. Their objective: Using their entrepreneurial success for scientific and social needs relevant to society. After the death of Gunther Schroff, who had been honorary senator of the former Universität Karlsruhe (TH), Ingrid Schroff continued this commitment. In 2006, the Foundation already supported the first extension of the Hans Dickmann Compound. In addition, she supports innovative areas of education with endowed professorships and international know-how exchange in particular at the KIT Gastdozentenhaus (house of guest lecturers). She also grants awards and scholarships to talented young researchers of KIT.
More information: www.schroff-stiftungen.de

About Studentenwohnheim e.V.
Presently, the association possesses 1216 rooms, 944 of which are located in the Hans Dickmann Compound on Klosterweg, the largest self-administrated students home in Germany. The residents take over organizational tasks, such as the allocation of rooms and the planning of pending renovations. Other, also self-administrated students homes of the association are the Insterburg with 144 rooms, the Hans-Freudenberg Compound with 100 rooms, and the Kolleg am Ring with 34 rooms.
More information: http://www.hadiko.de/verein/wohnheim-ev/

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,600 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 23,300 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

le, 16.03.2011
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseCun7∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Margarete Lehné
Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41157
Fax: +49 721 608-41157
margarete lehneUyt4∂kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseEvo3∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-41105.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail

Presseinformation 045/2011

Mehr Wohnraum für Studierende

Mit Unterstützung der Schroff-Stiftungen erweitert der Studentenwohnheim e. V. das Hans-Dickmann-Kolleg um 48 Wohneinheiten.
Setzt eins drauf: Drei Gebäude des Hadiko erhalten eine weitere Etage. (Foto: KIT)
Setzt eins drauf: Drei Gebäude des Hadiko erhalten eine weitere Etage. (Foto: Markus Riecker, KIT)

Günstiger Wohnraum für Studierende ist in Karlsruhe knapp. 48 neue Zimmer entstehen jetzt aber im Hans-Dickmann-Kolleg (Hadiko) des Studentenwohnheim des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie e. V. Möglich wurde der Erweiterungsbau durch die Förderung der Schroff-Stiftungen, die das Projekt mit 500.000 Euro unterstützen. Baubeginn ist im Sommer 2011, die neuen Wohneinheiten sollen spätestens zum Wintersemester 2012/2013 bezugsfertig sein.

Auf drei der bestehenden Hadiko-Gebäude entsteht jeweils ein weiteres Stockwerk. Die Erweiterung soll im August nächsten Jahres abgeschlossen sein. „Rechtzeitig vor dem Start des Wintersemesters – gerade 2012 rechnen wir wegen des doppelten Abiturjahrgangs mit einer hohen Nachfrage“, sagt Professor Olaf Dössel, Vorsitzender des Studentenwohnheim e. V. Weil sie besonders günstig guten Wohnraum zur Verfügung stellen, sind die Wohnheime des Vereins auch bei ausländischen Studierenden beliebt – 38 Prozent beträgt ihr Anteil derzeit. Das weiter zu unterstützen, ist eines der Ziele der Schroff-Stiftungen: „Wir möchten die Unterbringung junger Menschen aus dem Ausland und damit auch den internationalen Charakter des KIT in den Vordergrund rücken“, sagt Ingrid Schroff, Vorsitzende der Stiftungen und Ehrensenatorin des KIT. „Es geht uns darum, jungen Menschen, die möglicherweise schon in ihren Heimatländern über wenig finanzielle Mittel verfügen, günstig guten Wohnraum anbieten zu können.“

„Das KIT-Präsidium ist für die großzügige Unterstützung der Schroff-Stiftungen – und ganz besonders für den persönlichen Einsatz unserer Ehrensenatorin Ingrid Schroff – sehr dankbar“, sagt KIT-Präsident Horst Hippler, der auch dem Verwaltungsrat des Studentenwohnheim e. V. vorsitzt. „Wohnheime spielen eine besondere Rolle für die Lehr- und Lernkultur am KIT: Sie sind Orte des studentischen Lebens und Lernens, des kulturellen und wissenschaftlichen Austauschs.“

Die Baukosten betragen insgesamt 1,8 Millionen Euro, mit einer halben Million Euro unterstützen allein die Schroff-Stiftungen das Vorhaben. Daneben finanzieren die Studierenden in den Häusern des Studentenwohnheim e. V. die Erweiterung selbst mit. „Mit ihrer Miete zahlen sie drei Euro als Solidarbeitrag. So sparen sie Kapital an – und investieren in künftige Studierendengenerationen“, sagt Olaf Dössel. Weiterhin stellt die Stiftung für Studentenunterkünfte des Ehrensenators Hugo Rhein 200.000 Euro als zinsgünstiges Darlehen zur Verfügung.

Über die Schroff-Stiftungen
Anlässlich des 25. Jubiläums ihrer Unternehmensgruppe gründeten Gunther und Ingrid Schroff die Schroff-Stiftungen Ende 1984 aus ihrem Privatvermögen. Ihr Ziel: Den unternehmerischen Erfolg für gesellschaftlich wichtige wissenschaftliche und soziale Belange einzusetzen. Nach dem Tod von Gunther Schroff, der Ehrensenator der damaligen Universität Karlsruhe (TH) war, setzte Ingrid Schroff das Engagement fort. So unterstützte die Stiftung 2006 auch den Erweiterungsbau E+ des Hadiko. Ebenso engagiert sie sich unter anderem mit Stiftungsprofessuren in innovativen Lehrgebieten, fördert den internationalen Wissensaustausch, insbesondere im Gastdozentenhaus des KIT, und vergibt Preise und Stipendien an begabte junge Forscherinnen und Forscher des KIT.
Nähere Informationen: www.schroff-stiftungen.de

Über den Studentenwohnheim e. V.
Bislang verfügt der Verein über 1216 Zimmer, allein 944 davon im Hadiko im Klosterweg, dem größten selbstverwalteten Wohnheim in Deutschland: Organisatorische Aufgaben wie die Vergabe von Zimmern und das Planen anstehender Renovierungen übernehmen die Bewohnerinnen und Bewohner hier selbst. Weitere, ebenfalls selbstverwaltete Wohnheime des Vereins sind die Insterburg mit 144 Zimmern, das Hans-Freudenberg-Kolleg mit 100 Zimmern sowie das Kolleg am Ring mit 34 Zimmern.
Nähere Informationen: http://studentenwohnheim-ev.de/

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) ist eine Körperschaft des öffentlichen Rechts nach den Gesetzen des Landes Baden-Württemberg. Es nimmt sowohl die Mission einer Universität als auch die Mission eines nationalen Forschungszentrums in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft wahr. Thematische Schwerpunkte der Forschung sind Energie, natürliche und gebaute Umwelt sowie Gesellschaft und Technik, von fundamentalen Fragen bis zur Anwendung. Mit rund 9400 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern, darunter mehr als 6000 in Wissenschaft und Lehre, sowie 24 500 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der größten Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas. Das KIT verfolgt seine Aufgaben im Wissensdreieck Forschung – Lehre – Innovation.

le, 16.03.2011

Weiterer Kontakt:

Margarete Lehné
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing
Tel.: +49 721 608-48121
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
margarete lehneQom4∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseJzw6∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.