Home | deutsch  | Plain Language | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Contact:
Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseBsw9∂kit edu

Press Release 038/2011

Gerd Schön Is Granted Fritz London Memorial Prize

KIT Scientist Is Honored for His Theoretical Work on Superconductivity in Nanostructures
Professor Dr. Gerd Schön, Karlsruher Institut für Technologie, erhält den renommierten Fritz London Memorial Prize. (Foto: KIT)
Professor Dr. Gerd Schön, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, is granted the renowned Fritz London Memorial Prize. (Photo: KIT)

Professor Dr. Gerd Schön, holder of a chair of the Institut für Theoretische Festkörperphysik (Institute for Theoretical Solid-state Physics) of Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, is granted the renowned Fritz London Memorial Prize of the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics for his contributions to the understanding of superconductivity in nanosystems. Apart from Schön, two other scientists are honored: Professor Humphrey Maris from the Brown University, Rhode Island, USA, and Professor Johan E. Mooij from the Technical University of Delft, the Netherlands. The prize will be handed over in August at the International Conference on Low-temperature Physics in Beijing, China.

Research of the physicist Gerd Schön covers the electronic transport properties in nanostructures at low temperatures. This includes non-equilibrium effects and collective modes in supercon-ductors. Together with coworkers, he developed a theoretical de-scription of dissipation in quantum mechanics for the specific example of superconducting tunnel contacts. Already at an early stage, he focused on the theory of single-electron effects in nanoscale systems. Today, these effects are seen in many experiments and play an increasingly important role in applications as measurement instruments. With his team, Schön realized that nanoscale superconducting contacts may serve as components of quantum computers (qubits) or for other applications in the field of quantum information, and he has studied their properties.

After his studies at the Universities of Karlsruhe and Dortmund and at Stanford University (USA), Gerd Schön received the PhD in 1976 at Dortmund. He then worked as assistant and Heisenberg fellow in Karlsruhe, Jülich, Cornell University, the University of California Berkeley, and the University of California Santa Barbara. In 1988, he was appointed full professor by the TU Delft, the Netherlands. Since 1991, he has been holding a chair at the KIT Institut für Theo-retische Festkörperphysik. In addition, since 1998 he has been head of a working group at the Institute of Nanotechnology and he is a founding member of the DFG Center for Functional Nanostructures (CFN) at KIT. From 2002 to 2004, he was dean of the Department of Physics. Presently, he is spokesman of the Condensed Matter Sec-tion of the Germany Physical Society and member of a review board of the German Research Foundation.

Fritz London Memorial Prize
Gerd Schön is granted the Fritz London Memorial Prize in recogni-tion of his theoretical work theoretical contributions to the under-standing of superconductivity in mesoscopic systems, including work on dissipative quantum mechanics of junctions and the proposal of the superconducting charge qubit. Together with Schön, Humphrey Maris, Brown University, Rhode Island, USA, and Johan E. Mooji, Technical University of Delft, the Netherlands, will be honored. The activities of Hans Mooji and Gerd Schön have much in common: Schön’s work on non-equilibrium superconductivity, single-electron effects, and superconducting qubits was carried out parallel to the experimental work by Mooji at Delft. It also resulted in several joint publications.

The Fritz London Memorial Prize commemorates the German-American physicist Fritz London and his excellent contributions to low-temperature physics. The prize is awarded by the IUPAP (Inter-national Union of Pure and Applied Physics) every three years.

 

Being „The Research University in the Helmholtz Association“, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 25,100 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life.

jh, 03.03.2011

Press contact:

Inge Arnold
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing (PKM)
Phone: +49 721 608-22861
Fax: +49 721 608-25080
inge arnoldKeb1∂kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseXkk1∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Leichte Sprache | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-21150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseKpp6∂kit edu

Presseinformation 038/2011

Gerd Schön erhält Fritz London Gedächtnis-Preis

KIT-Wissenschaftler wird für theoretische Arbeiten zur Supraleitung in Nano-Strukturen ausgezeichnet
Professor Dr. Gerd Schön, Karlsruher Institut für Technologie, erhält den renommierten Fritz London Memorial Prize. (Foto: KIT)
Professor Dr. Gerd Schön, Karlsruher Institut für Technologie, erhält den renommierten Fritz London Memorial Prize. (Foto: KIT)

Professor Dr. Gerd Schön, Lehrstuhlinhaber des Instituts für Theoretische Festkörperphysik des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie, erhält den renommierten Fritz London Memorial Prize der International Union of Pure and Applied Physics für seine Beiträge zum Verständnis der Supraleitung in Nanosystemen. Neben Schön werden zwei weitere Wissenschaftler ausgezeichnet:  Professor Humphrey Maris von der Brown University, Rhode Island, USA, und Professor Hans Mooij von der Technischen Universität Delft, Niederlande. Die Auszeichnung wird im August im Rahmen der Internationalen Konferenz für Tieftemperaturphysik in Peking, China, verliehen.

Im Rahmen seiner Forschung beschäftigt sich der Physiker Gerd Schön vor allem mit den elektronischen Transporteigenschaften in Nanostrukturen bei tiefen Temperaturen. Dazu gehören Nichtgleichgewichtseffekte und kollektive Schwingungen in Supraleitern. Er entwickelt mit Mitarbeitern eine theoretische Beschreibung von Dissipation in der Quantenmechanik am Beispiel supraleitender Tunnelkontakte. Früh arbeitete er an der Theorie von Einzelelektroneneffekten in nanoskaligen Systemen, die heute in vielen Experimenten gesehen werden und auch für Anwendungen als Messgeräte eine zunehmend wichtige Rolle spielen. Mit seiner Arbeitsgruppe erkannte er, dass nanoskalige supraleitende Kontakte als Bauelemente für Quantencomputer (Qubits) oder andere Anwendungen im Bereich der Quanteninformation dienen können und untersuchte deren Eigenschaften.

Nach dem Studium an den Universitäten Karlsruhe und Dortmund sowie der Stanford University (USA) promovierte Gerd Schön 1976 in Dortmund. Danach arbeitete er als Assistent und Heisenberg Stipendiat in Karlsruhe und Jülich und insgesamt vier Jahre an der Cornell University, der University of California Berkeley und der University of California Santa Barbara. 1988 wurde er auf die Stelle eines ordentlichen Professors an der TU Delft, Niederlande, berufen. Seit 1991 ist er Lehrstuhlinhaber des Instituts für Theoretische Festkörperphysik am KIT. Zusätzlich leitet er seit 1998 eine Arbeitsgruppe am Institut für Nanotechnologie und ist Gründungsmitglied des DFG Centrums für Funktionelle Nanostrukturen (CFN) am KIT. Von 2002 bis 2004 war er Dekan der Fakultät für Physik. Zurzeit ist er Sprecher der Sektion Kondensierte Materie der Deutschen Physikalischen Gesellschaft sowie Fachkollegiat der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft.

Fritz London Memorial Prize
Gerd Schön erhält den Fritz London Memorial Prize in Anerkennung seiner theoretischen Arbeiten zum Verständnis der Supraleitung in Nanosystemen, insbesondere der quantenmechanischen Beschreibung der Dissipation von Tunnelkontakten und der Vorhersage von Qubits. Neben Schön werden Humphrey Maris, Brown University, Rhode Island, USA, und Hans Mooij, Technische Universität Delft, Niederlande, ausgezeichnet. Zwischen den Arbeiten von Hans Mooij und Gerd Schön gibt es Parallelen: Schöns Arbeiten zur Nichtgleichgewichtssupraleitung, zu Einzelelektroneneffekten und zu supraleitenden Qubits liefen parallel zu experimentellen Arbeiten von Mooij in Delft; dabei entstanden auch gemeinsame Publikationen.

Der Fritz London Memorial Prize wurde im Andenken an den deutsch-amerikanischen Physiker Fritz London eingerichtet, der herausragende Beiträge zum Feld der Tieftemperaturphysik beisteuerte. Der Preis wird alle drei Jahre von der IUPAP (International Union of Pure and Applied Physics) verliehen.

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieur-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 25 100 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen.

jh, 03.03.2011

Weiterer Pressekontakt:

Inge Arnold
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing (PKM)
Tel.: +49 721 608-22861
Fax: +49 721 608-25080
inge arnoldVxv8∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in der höchsten uns vorliegenden Qualität angefordert werden unter:
presseFno6∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414.

Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.