Press Release 031/2011

Science plus Management

Three Years PhD and Two Degrees: New Program at KIT Combines PhD and MBA Training
Wissenschaft trifft Management – in einem neuen Promotionsprogramm am KIT (Foto: KIT)
Science meets management – a new PhD program at KIT. (Photo: photocase.de)

“Science & Management“, this is the PhD program offered by KIT together with the International Collège des Ingénieurs this year. For the first time, it will be possible in Germany to combine a PhD in sciences with the degree of Master of Business Administration (MB). The program comprises studies and a project in another European state. Interested students may apply from March 2011.

Young scientists do not lack entrepreneurial skills, but only a few of them are granted adequate support in this field. “Scientists with excellent management and leadership competences have been needed as young executives by national and international industry and research for some years now,“ underlines Professor Jürgen Becker, KIT Chief Higher Education Officer. “KIT meets this need and is the first German university offering the respective double degree.”

The new PhD program represents a unique chance for young scien-tists aiming at a leading position in research or at an enterprise. They can combine their know-how in science with a management training specially designed for scientists and engineers at the re-nowned Collège des Ingénieurs (CDI). “When the graduates will be given their PhD certificates, they will also know how to run an enter-prise or to manage projects. Terms like innovation management or leadership are no longer unknown to them,” says Professor Stefan Bräse, Dean of the Department of Chemistry and Biosciences that is responsible for the implementation of the concept at KIT. Application first of all requires a PhD position at this department. In the future, however, the program shall also be accessible by graduates from other disciplines.

A PhD phase of three years at KIT with short interruptions for a total of 16 intensive seminar weeks at various CDI sites all over Europe precedes the PhD certificate and the MBA diploma. In addition, half a year will be dedicated to project work in the field of management at a partner enterprise of CDI in another European country. The program of CDI is funded by companies and cost-free for the participants. Knut Stannowski, Director of CDI, underlines the uniqueness of the PhD program in Germany: “Its advantage is that top young scientists are familiarized very early with entrepreneurial thinking and acting. Such a program does not yet exist.”

The Collège des Ingénieurs is an independent institution founded in 1986. Today, it trains more than 100 university graduates in sciences and engineering for a management career within the framework of an MBA in France, Germany, and Italy. The Collège does not charge any tuition fees, as it is completely funded by industry.


More information can be found on the internet at
http://sam.chem-bio.kit.edu/.



Contact Persons:

KIT/Institute of Organic Chemistry
Professor Dr. Stefan Bräse
Phone: +49 721 608-42902
E-mail:braeseVre1∂kit edu

Collège des Ingénieurs, 215 Boulevard Saint Germain, F 75007 Paris
Knut Stannowski
Phone: +33 1 49547262
E-mail:knut stannowskiOvk0∂cdi eu

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,600 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 23,300 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

le, 22.02.2011
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseEds6∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Margarete Lehné
Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41157
Fax: +49 721 608-41157
margarete lehneShk5∂kit edu


The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail

Presseinformation 031/2011

Naturwissenschaft plus Management

Drei Jahre Promotion und zwei Abschlüsse: neues Programm am KIT kombiniert Promotion und MBA-Ausbildung.
Wissenschaft trifft Management – in einem neuen Promotionsprogramm am KIT (Foto: KIT)
Wissenschaft trifft Management – in einem neuen Promotionsprogramm am KIT (Foto: photocase.de)

„Science & Management“ – so heißt das zukunftweisende Promotionsprogramm, welches das KIT zusammen mit dem internationalen Collège des Ingénieurs ab diesem Jahr anbietet. Damit eröffnet es erstmals in Deutschland die Möglichkeit, eine Promotion in den Naturwissenschaften mit dem Abschluss Master of Business Administration (MBA) zu verbinden. Das Programm umfasst Studienaufenthalte sowie eine Projektarbeit im europäischen Ausland. Interessierte können sich ab März 2011 bewerben.

An unternehmerischem Talent fehlt es dem wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs nicht, jedoch erhalten nur wenige eine angemessene Förderung dieser Fähigkeiten. „Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler mit exzellenten Management- und Leadership-Kompetenzen sind jedoch als Führungskräftenachwuchs in Industrie und Forschung gleichermaßen gefragt – schon seit geraumer Zeit, national wie international“, sagt Professor Jürgen Becker, Chief Higher Education Officer am KIT. „Das KIT begegnet diesem Bedarf als erste deutsche Hochschule mit der Möglichkeit zu einem entsprechend qualifizierenden Doppelabschluss.“

Jungen Wissenschaftlern, die eine führende Position in der Forschung oder in einem Unternehmen anstreben, bietet das neue Promotionsprogramm eine einmalige Chance: Sie können ihr fachliches Know-how mit einer speziell für Naturwissenschaftler und Ingenieure konzipierten Managementausbildung am renommierten Collège des Ingénieurs (CDI) verbinden. „Wenn die Absolventinnen und Absolventen ihre Doktor-Urkunde in den Händen halten, wissen sie zusätzlich, wie man ein Unternehmen führt und Projekte leitet. Begriffe wie Innovationsmanagement oder Leadership sind keine sperrigen Fremdwörter mehr“, sagt Professor Stefan Bräse, Dekan der Fakultät für Chemie und Biowissenschaften, die das Konzept am KIT federführend umsetzt. Voraussetzung für eine Bewerbung ist zunächst eine Promotionsstelle an dieser Fakultät. Das Programm soll künftig aber auch Absolventen anderer Fachrichtungen offen stehen.

Der Doktor-Urkunde sowie dem MBA-Diplom gehen drei Jahre Promotion am KIT mit kurzen Unterbrechungen für insgesamt 16 intensive Seminarwochen an verschiedenen CDI-Standorten in ganz Europa voraus. Dazu kommt – ebenfalls im europäischen Ausland – ein halbes Jahr Projektarbeit im Managementumfeld in einem Partnerunternehmen des CDI. Das Programm des CDI wird durch Firmen finanziert und ist für die Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer gebührenfrei. Knut Stannowski, Geschäftsführer des CDI, betont die Einzigartigkeit des Promotionsprogramms in Deutschland: „Der Vorzug ist, dass man junge Spitzenwissenschaftler schon früh an unternehmerisches Denken und Handeln heranführt. Das gibt es in dieser Form bisher noch nicht.“

Das Collège des Ingénieurs ist eine unabhängige Institution, die 1986 gegründet wurde, und heute in Frankreich, Deutschland und Italien jährlich über 100 Hochschulabsolventen der Natur- und Ingenieurwissenschaften im Rahmen eines MBA auf eine Führungslaufbahn vorbereitet. Das Collège erhebt keine Studiengebühren, da es vollständig durch die Industrie finanziert wird.



Nähere Informationen unter http://sam.chem-bio.kit.edu/ im Internet.




Weitere Kontakte:

KIT / Institut für Organische Chemie
Professor Dr. Stefan Bräse
Tel. +49 721 608-42902
E-Mail: braeseHvx1∂kit edu

Collège des Ingénieurs, 215 Boulevard Saint Germain, F 75007 Paris
Knut Stannowski
Tel. +33 1 49547262
E-Mail: knut stannowskiVbv5∂cdi eu

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) ist eine Körperschaft des öffentlichen Rechts nach den Gesetzen des Landes Baden-Württemberg. Es nimmt sowohl die Mission einer Universität als auch die Mission eines nationalen Forschungszentrums in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft wahr. Thematische Schwerpunkte der Forschung sind Energie, natürliche und gebaute Umwelt sowie Gesellschaft und Technik, von fundamentalen Fragen bis zur Anwendung. Mit rund 9400 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern, darunter mehr als 6000 in Wissenschaft und Lehre, sowie 24 500 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der größten Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas. Das KIT verfolgt seine Aufgaben im Wissensdreieck Forschung – Lehre – Innovation.

le, 22.02.2011

Weiterer Kontakt:

Margarete Lehné
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing
Tel.: +49 721 608-48121
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
margarete lehneHag5∂kit edu