Press Release 029/2011

Pooled Materials Research at KIT

Newly Founded Institute for Applied Materials Will Pool the Competencies of KIT Materials Re-searchers to Advance Research Objectives
Rasterelektronenmikroskopische   Aufnahme   eines   neuartigen Kathodenmaterials       für  leistungsfähige Lithium-Ionen-Batterien.   (Bild: Markus Schön, IAM-WPT)
Scanning electron microscopy of a novel cathode material for high-performance lithium ion batteries. (Photo: Markus Schön, IAM-WPT)

Thanks to materials science and technology, fried eggs no longer stick to the pan, computers calculate more rapidly, and tunnels can be drilled through massive rock. Increasingly com-plex technical challenges are faced by advancements in the research and development of materials. To bundle its compe-tencies in this area, KIT has founded the Institute for Applied Materials (IAM) and plans to establish a new course of study.

With IAM, KIT aims to strengthen the position of materials science and technology and to assume a leading role in Germany in this field. The new institute pools the large scope of research competen-cies existing at KIT and makes them more visible to the outside. The competencies of IAM extend from materials processing technology to materials characterization and from testing to materials theory. The new institute contributes decisively to the KIT NanoMicro and Energy Centers and to the Mobility Systems Focus.


Presently, scientists are studying materials for lithium-ion batteries with the goal of developing novel batteries with increased power and energy density and at enhancing safety and reliability for electromobility. It is also focused on materials for use under extreme thermal and mechanical loads encountered in modern vehicle combustion engines, aircraft engines, and power plants. Such highly loadable materials also are of relevance to future nucle-ar fusion reactors. At IAM, deformation and damage processes of these high-temperature materials are investigated under conditions similar to operation and strategies are developed to extend their limits of usability. This work is the basis of resource-compatible engine and power plant technologies and CO2 emission reduction.

“Foundation of the IAM is the consistent implementation of the idea of KIT in the field of materials science and technology. This field has a long tradition in Karlsruhe, but its national and international visibility was limited due to its separation into several institutes of the former Research Center and university,” says Professor Oliver Kraft, spokesman of IAM. “We are convinced that closer cooperation at IAM will result in a large step forwards and that we will be able to jointly manage large projects, such as the launch of the new study course or the materials science center for energy systems, much better.”

IAM now combines three institutes working under Helmholtz pro-grammes with three institutes of the Department of Mechanical En-gineering. More than ten professors and more than 300 employees are working at IAM. Materials research at KIT shall be further strengthened by the introduction of a new study course. It is planned to start bachelor and master programs in “Materials Science and Technology” with 70 places at the beginning of the 2011/2012 winter semester. This activity will be part of the 2012 extension program of the state of Baden-Württemberg to create new university places.

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,600 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 23,300 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

twn, 18.02.2011
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseXvo2∂kit edu

The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseIjg0∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-41105.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail

Presseinformation 029/2011

Geballte Materialforschung am KIT

Neu gegründetes Institut für Angewandte Materialien soll die Kompetenzen der Materialforscher am KIT bündeln und das Forschungsfeld vorantreiben
Rasterelektronenmikroskopische   Aufnahme   eines   neuartigen Kathodenmaterials       für  leistungsfähige Lithium-Ionen-Batterien.   (Bild: Markus Schön, IAM-WPT)
Rasterelektronenmikroskopische Aufnahme eines neuartigen Kathodenmaterials für leistungsfähige Lithium-Ionen-Batterien. (Bild: Markus Schön, IAM-WPT)

Dass ein Spiegelei nicht mehr an der Pfanne klebt, Computer immer schneller rechnen und Bohrer Tunnel durch massives Gestein graben können, verdanken wir unter anderem der Materialwissenschaft und Werkstofftechnik. Bei wachsenden technischen Herausforderungen liefert die Erforschung und Weiterentwicklung von Werkstoffen und Materialien Impulse für den Fortschritt. Um seine Kompetenzen in diesem Bereich zu bündeln, hat das KIT das Institut für Angewandte Materialien (IAM) gegründet. Auch ein neuer Studiengang ist geplant.

Mit dem IAM will das KIT die Position der Materialwissenschaft und Werkstofftechnik stärken und auf diesem Gebiet deutschlandweit eine führende Rolle einnehmen. Das neue Institut bündelt die in großer Breite am KIT vorhandenen Forschungskompetenzen und macht sie nach außen hin besser sichtbar. Kompetenzen des IAM reichen dabei von der Werkstoffprozesstechnik über die Materialcharakterisierung und –prüfung bis zur Materialtheorie. Das neue Institut leistet maßgebliche Beiträge zu den KIT-Zentren NanoMikro und Energie sowie dem Schwerpunkt Mobilitätssysteme.

Aktuell forschen die Wissenschaftler an Materialien für Lithium-Ionen-Batterien. Ziel ist es, neuartige Batterien mit erhöhter Leistungs- und Energiedichte sowie verbesserter Sicherheit und Zuverlässigkeit für die Elektromobilität zu entwickeln. Einen weiteren Forschungsschwerpunkt bilden Werkstoffe für den Einsatz unter extremen thermischen und mechanischen Beanspruchungen, wie sie in modernen Fahrzeug-Verbrennungsmotoren, Flugtriebwerken und Kraftwerksanlagen  auftreten. Auch für zukünftige Kernfusions-reaktoren sind solche hochbelastbaren Materialien von Bedeutung. Am IAM werden die Verformungs- und Schädigungsprozesse dieser Hochtemperaturwerkstoffe unter einsatzähnlichen Bedingungen erforscht und Strategien zur Erweiterung  ihrer Einsatzgrenzen entwickelt. Diese Arbeiten liefern wesentliche Grundlagen für ressourcenschonende Triebwerks- und Kraftwerkstechnologien und zur Minderung des CO2-Ausstoßes.

„Die Gründung des IAM ist die konsequente Umsetzung der Idee des KIT im Bereich der Materialwissenschaft und Werkstofftechnik. Dieser Bereich hat in Karlsruhe eine lange Tradition, besaß aber durch die Aufteilung in mehrere Institute am Forschungszentrum und der Universität nur eine eingeschränkte nationale und internationale Sichtbarkeit,“ sagt Professor Oliver Kraft, Sprecher des IAM.  „Wir sind davon überzeugt, dass wir durch die engere Kooperation im IAM einen großen Schritt vorwärts kommen und große Vorhaben wie den Start des neuen Studiengangs oder des Materialwissenschaftlichen Zentrums für Energiesysteme gemeinsam noch besser voran bringen können.“

Unter dem Dach des IAM wurden drei Institute, die in Helmholtz-Programmen aktiv sind, und drei Institute der Fakultät Maschinenbau zusammengefasst. Am IAM sind mehr als zehn Professorinnen und Professoren sowie mehr als 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter tätig. Zusätzlich soll die Einführung eines neuen Studiengangs die Materialforschung am KIT weiter stärken.  Es ist geplant, zum Beginn des Wintersemesters 2011/2012 den Bachelor- und Master-Studiengang „Materialwissenschaft und Werkstofftechnik“ mit 70 Studienplätzen zu starten.  Dieser ist ein Beitrag zum Ausbauprogramm 2012 des Landes Baden-Württemberg, das neue Studienplätze schafft.

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) ist eine Körperschaft des öffentlichen Rechts nach den Gesetzen des Landes Baden-Württemberg. Es nimmt sowohl die Mission einer Universität als auch die Mission eines nationalen Forschungszentrums in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft wahr. Thematische Schwerpunkte der Forschung sind Energie, natürliche und gebaute Umwelt sowie Gesellschaft und Technik, von fundamentalen Fragen bis zur Anwendung. Mit rund 9400 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern, darunter mehr als 6000 in Wissenschaft und Lehre, sowie 24 500 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der größten Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas. Das KIT verfolgt seine Aufgaben im Wissensdreieck Forschung – Lehre – Innovation.

twn, 18.02.2011
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseShd4∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.