Press Release 027/2011

Catch Ideas!

Fourth Congress on “Moving Kids – Using Energies” from February 17 to 19, 2011 on KIT Campus South
Auch 2011 findet im Rahmen des Kongresses ein Benefizlauf statt (Foto: Initiative „Kinder laufen für Kinder“)
A fund-raising run will take place within the framework of the congress also in 2011. (Photo: Initiative „Kinder laufen für Kinder“)

“Every individual child in its living environment is special!” Under this heading, the successful congress as the fourth of its type will focus on the complete world of life of children, which is symbolized by the six Karlsruhe balls: “Exercise - Playing – Sports”, “Eating – Drinking – Sleeping”, “Family – Friends – Growing up”, “Motivation – Risk – Boredom”, “Cultures – Guest Country Switzerland – Mobility”, and “Day-care Center – Club – School”. 

On the three congress days, four main lectures by renowned lecturers, about 140 practical workshops, theoretical working groups and notes, as well as an exhibition with selected exhibitors in the fields of exercise, games, sports, and nutrition will be offered to the about 1000 participants.

A special highlight will be the second fundraising run of the initiative “Kinder laufen für Kinder” (kids run for kids) on Friday in aid of the SOS Children’s Villages. About 1000 children from the Karlsruhe primary schools will take part on February 18, 10.30 hrs, in front of the Audimax of KIT. Apart from Professor Klaus Bös, Head of the KIT Institute of Sports and Sports Science and Chairman of the Board of the Research Center for School Sports and Sports of Children and Adolescents (FoSS), the patron of the run, Katrin Schütz (member of state parliament), will join the kids. With the patron of the congress, Thomas Dold, who will join the children in running backwards, the European long jump champion, Christian Reif, who also supports the congress, and players of BG Karlsruhe, prominent sportsmen will take part as well.  

For the first time, FoSS is especially pleased to present a guest country of the congress. Professor Bös: “Together with our guests from Switzerland, would like to draw the public’s attention to the differences and common features of movement culture(s). In both countries, great value is attached to raising forward-thinking children. The presentations and workshops of the guests from Switzerland do not only enrich the program, we are also very much interested in the Swiss equivalent of children’s gymnastics, Swiss wrestling.” Swiss wrestling is considered a national sport of Switzerland. During the congress opening celebration, it will be presented by Swiss children on sawdust according to tradition. 

The organizers wish that the congress participants are given many ideas for their work on and with children. Apart from practical suggestions, also current scientific findings will be of importance. Know-how transfer will be ideal, as the congress will be preceded by the meeting of the health commission of the German Association for Sports Science (dvs) also on the KIT Campus. “Health research for children is gaining importance in sports science,” underlines Professor Alexander Woll from the University of Constance. “The last two days have demonstrated that current scientific findings should be transferred to practice as rapidly as possible!”

The congress is organized by KIT, the Research Center for School Sports and Sports of Children and Adolescents (FoSS), the University of Constance, the Baden Gymnastics Association, and the health insurance company AOK Baden-Württemberg. The latter’s chairman of the Executive Board, Dr. Rolf Hoberg, explains: “We consider it very important that children develop interest and pleasure in having a healthy lifestyle. Through events like the present congress and projects to take part in like TigerKids or ScienceKids, positive stimuli are given for increased body awareness and healthier life. But we also appeal to the parents to permanently support their children in having an active leisure time.”

The Baden-Württemberg Children’s Gymnastics Foundation supports the congress. Senator Thomas Renner, Chairman of the Foundation Council, proposes to bundle the various initiatives in Baden-Württemberg and announces a joint congress in 2012. His suggestion to Minister-President Stefan Mappus is to establish an integrated, state-wide network until the 60th state anniversary and to support the state in becoming children-compatible: “For all children to grow up healthy, integrated, and socially strengthened.” Gerhard Mengesdorf, President of the Baden Gymnastics Association, underlines the importance of the Baden-Württemberg Children’s Gymnastics Foundation: “The Foundation does not only support the physical development of children at this congress, but also in very many other fields. Municipalities and sports clubs profit from this commitment that is unique in Germany.”

The congress will take place under the auspices of the Baden-Württemberg Minister-President Stefan Mappus. The event of three days’ duration will be supported by the Manfred Lautenschläger Foundation and EnBW Energie Baden-Württemberg AG.

Further information: http://www.kinderturnkongress.de/

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,600 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 23,300 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

del, 17.02.2011
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
pressePkp0∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Denis Elbl
Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-21153
denis elblLsm8∂kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseTgy2∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-41105.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail

Presseinformation 027/2011

Fang Dir Ideen auf!

Vierter Kongress „Kinder bewegen – Energien nutzen“ vom 17. bis 19. Februar 2011 auf dem KIT-Campus Süd
Auch 2011 findet im Rahmen des Kongresses ein Benefizlauf statt (Foto: Initiative „Kinder laufen für Kinder“)
Auch 2011 findet im Rahmen des Kongresses ein Benefizlauf statt (Foto: Initiative „Kinder laufen für Kinder“)

„Jedes einzelne Kind in seiner heutigen Lebenswelt ist besonders!” Unter diesem Motto will der erfolgreiche Kongress in seiner vierten Auflage die komplette Lebenswelt von Kindern beleuchten, symbolisiert durch die sechs „Karlsruher Bälle“ „Bewegung – Spiel – Sport“, „Essen – Trinken – Schlafen“, “Familie – Freunde – Aufwachsen“, „Motivation – Risiko – Langeweile“, „Kulturen – Gastland Schweiz – Mobilität“ und „Kita – Verein – Schule“.

Auf die rund 1.000 Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer warten während der drei Veranstaltungstage vier Hauptvorträge renommierter Referentinnen und Referenten, etwa 140 Praxis-Workshops, theoretische Arbeitskreise und Impulsreferate  sowie eine Fachausstellung, auf der sich ausgewählte Aussteller rund um die Themenbereiche Bewegung, Spiel, Sport und Ernährung präsentieren.

Als besonderes Highlight findet außerdem am Freitag der 2. Kongress-Lauf mit der Initiative „Kinder laufen für Kinder“ zugunsten der SOS-Kinderdörfer statt. Etwa 1.000 Kinder aus Karlsruher Grundschulen gehen am 18. Februar um 10.30 Uhr vor dem Audimax des KIT an den Start. Mit den Kindern startet neben Professor Klaus Bös, Leiter des Instituts für Sport und Sportwissenschaft am KIT und Vorstandsvorsitzender des Forschungszentrums für den Schulsport und den Sport von Kindern und Jugendlichen (FoSS), auch die Schirmherrin des Laufs, Katrin Schütz (MdL). Mit Kongress-Pate Thomas Dold, der die Kinder im Rückwärtslaufen begleitet, Weitsprung-Europameister Christian Reif, der den Kongress ebenfalls unterstützt, und Spielern der BG Karlsruhe nehmen auch prominente Sportler am Lauf teil.

Passend zum Jahr der Mobilität freut sich das FoSS ganz besonders, im Rahmen des Kongresses erstmals ein Gastland vorzustellen. Professor Bös: „Mit den Gästen aus der Schweiz wollen wir auf die Unterschiedlichkeit, aber auch auf Gemeinsamkeiten der Bewegungskultur(en) aufmerksam machen. In beiden Ländern wird viel Wert darauf gelegt, dass wir mitdenkende Kinder aufwachsen sehen. Der Kongress erfährt nicht nur bei den Vorträgen und Workshops der Gäste eine große inhaltliche Bereicherung, wir sind vor allem auch auf das Schweizer Pendant zum Kinderturnen gespannt: das Schwingen.“ Das Schwingen, das in der Schweiz als Nationalsport gilt, wird im Rahmen der Eröffnungsfeier von Schweizer Kindern traditionell auf Sägemehl präsentiert.

Den Veranstaltern geht es darum, dass die Kongress-Teilnehmer vielfältige Ideen für ihre Arbeit an und mit Kindern mitnehmen. Neben praktischen Anregungen sollen auch aktuelle wissenschaftliche Erkenntnisse nicht zu kurz kommen. Der Transfer wird durch die vorgelagerte Tagung – ebenfalls auf dem KIT-Campus – der Kommission Gesundheit der Deutschen Vereinigung für Sportwissenschaft e.V. (dvs) ideal gewährleistet. „Das Thema Gesundheitsforschung bei Kindern gewinnt in der Sportwissenschaft zunehmend an Bedeutung“, berichtet Professor Alexander Woll von der Universität Konstanz. „Die vergangenen zwei Tage haben gezeigt: Aktuelle wissenschaftliche Erkenntnisse sollten möglichst schnell in die Praxis übertragen werden!“

Veranstalter des Kongresses sind das KIT, das Forschungszentrum für den Schulsport und den Sport von Kindern und Jugendlichen (FoSS), die Universität Konstanz, der Badische Turner-Bund sowie die AOK Baden-Württemberg. Deren Vorstandsvorsitzender Dr. Rolf Hoberg erklärt: „Uns ist es sehr wichtig, dass Kinder Interesse und Freude an einem gesunden Lebensstil entwickeln.  Durch Veranstaltungen wie den Kongress und erlebbare Projekte  wie TigerKids oder ScienceKids gelingt es, positive Impulse für einen bewussteren und gesünderen Umgang mit dem eigenen Körper zu setzen. Doch wir appellieren auch an die Eltern, ihre Kinder permanent darin zu unterstützen, ihre Freizeit aktiv zu gestalten."  

Trägerin des Kongresses ist die Kinderturnstiftung Baden-Württemberg. Senator Thomas Renner, Vorsitzender des Stiftungsrates, regt die Bündelung der vielfältigen Initiativen in Baden-Württemberg an und lädt zu einem gemeinsamen Kongress 2012 ein. Ministerpräsident Stefan Mappus schlägt er vor, zum 60. Landesjubiläum ein einheitliches, landesweites Netzwerk einzurichten und das Land auf dem Weg zum Kinderland zu unterstützen: „Damit alle Kinder gesund, integriert und sozial gestärkt aufwachsen.“ Gerhard Mengesdorf, Präsident des Badischen Turner-Bundes, unterstreicht die Bedeutung der Kinderturnstiftung Baden-Württemberg: „Die Stiftung setzt ihr Engagement nicht nur beim Kongress, sondern auch in zahlreichen weiteren Handlungsfeldern für die motorische Entwicklung von Kindern ein. Kommunen und Sportvereine profitieren von diesem Einsatz, der bundesweit einmalig ist.“

Die Schirmherrschaft des Kongresses hat der baden-württembergische Ministerpräsident Stefan Mappus übernommen. Die Manfred Lautenschläger-Stiftung und die EnBW Energie Baden-Württemberg AG unterstützen die dreitägige Veranstaltung.
 
Weitere Informationen: http://www.kinderturnkongress.de/

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) ist eine Körperschaft des öffentlichen Rechts nach den Gesetzen des Landes Baden-Württemberg. Es nimmt sowohl die Mission einer Universität als auch die Mission eines nationalen Forschungszentrums in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft wahr. Thematische Schwerpunkte der Forschung sind Energie, natürliche und gebaute Umwelt sowie Gesellschaft und Technik, von fundamentalen Fragen bis zur Anwendung. Mit rund 9400 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern, darunter mehr als 6000 in Wissenschaft und Lehre, sowie 24 500 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der größten Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas. Das KIT verfolgt seine Aufgaben im Wissensdreieck Forschung – Lehre – Innovation.

del, 17.02.2011

Weiterer Kontakt:

Denis Elbl
PKM, Internetredaktion
Tel.: +49 721 608-48750
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
denis elblBac1∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseTcq7∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.