Press Release 020/2011

Hector Research Award Goes to Jürg Leuthold

KIT Scientist Is Granted Award for Excellent Work in the Field of High-speed Data Transmission
Preisträger Professor Jürg Leuthold (2.v.li.) mit Josefine und Dr. Hans-Werner Hector  (re.) sowie dem baden-württembergischen Wissenschaftsminister Professor Peter Fran- kenberg. (Foto: Marco Schilling)
Laureate Professor Jürg Leuthold (second from left) with Josefine and Dr. Hans-Werner Hector (right) and the Baden-Wuerttemberg Minister of Science, Professor Peter Frankenberg. (Photo: Marco Schilling)

Professor Jürg Leuthold from KIT is one of this year’s winners of the Hector Research Award and now belongs to the group of so-called Hector Fellows. This year, three excellent scientists from excellent German universities were granted the Hector Research Award in the amount of EUR 150,000 each. Apart from Leuthold, these are Professor Stephen Hashmi (University of Heidelberg) and Professor Jens Timmer (University of Freiburg). With its award, the Hector Foundation II with its office at Weinheim acknowledges both pioneer research achievements of the scientists as well as their attitudes as university teachers.

The physicist Leuthold, who has been doing research and teaching at KIT since 2004, is an expert in the field of high-speed data transmission. Recently, he developed an optical method with his group, by means of which the largest amount of data ever encoded on a single laser beam of 10 terabits per second can be encoded and decoded in real time. Three years ago, Leuthold succeeded in building one of the most rapid optical silicon chips. It is four times quicker than the chips available at that time and fifty times smaller than the chips used in today’s telecommunication devices. The Swiss-born Leuthold heads the KIT Institutes of Photonics and Quantum Electronics (IPQ) and Microstructure Technology (IMT).

During the ceremony at Heidelberg on February 4, Dr. h.c. Hans-Werner Hector prized the fascinating work of the laureates: “Your fields of research give rise to the miracle of everyday life.” According to Hector, the foundation is pleased to make available funds to promote the best professors. He considers this the logical continuation of the support of highly talented pupils and students, which is also accomplished by the foundation. “Both together make up a reasonable entity,” said Hector.

“Appointment of Leuthold to a Hector Fellow is a big honor for KIT,” underlined KIT President Professor Horst Hippler. “We are very pleased that this year a scientist from KIT was granted the Hector Research Award for excellent research and teaching again.”

Leuthold now belongs to the group of so-called Hector Fellows, a team of specialists working jointly on scientific topics. By granting the annual award since 2009, the donors Josefine and Hans-Werner Hector wish to enhance mutual support of the laureates and to give people an understanding of natural science. Networking of the fellows gives rise to a “round table of top scientists” that now has nine members. Apart from the three laureates of this year, the professors Manfred Kappes (KIT), Franz Nestmann (KIT), Doris Wedlich (KIT), Peter Gumbsch (KIT), Martin Wegener (KIT), and Thomas Elbert (University of Constance) are Hector Fellows.

Further information on the H.W. & J. Hector Foundation and on the Hector Foundation II can be found at www.hector-stiftung.de .

 

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,600 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 23,300 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

lg, 07.02.2011
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseGxh7∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Monika Landgraf
Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-21150
Fax: +49 721 608-41150
monika landgrafVcn0∂kit edu


The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Leichte Sprache | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-21150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Presseinformation 020/2011

Hector Forschungspreis für Jürg Leuthold

KIT-Wissenschaftler erhält die Auszeichnung für seine herausragenden Arbeiten auf dem Gebiet der Hochgeschwindigkeits-Datenübertragung
Preisträger Professor Jürg Leuthold (2.v.li.) mit Josefine und Dr. Hans-Werner Hector  (re.) sowie dem baden-württembergischen Wissenschaftsminister Professor Peter Fran- kenberg. (Foto: Marco Schilling)
Preisträger Professor Jürg Leuthold (2.v.li.) mit Josefine und Dr. Hans-Werner Hector (re.) sowie dem baden-württembergischen Wissenschaftsminister Professor Peter Frankenberg. (Foto: Marco Schilling)

Professor Jürg Leuthold vom KIT ist einer der diesjährigen Träger des Hector Forschungspreises und gehört nun zum Kreis der sogenannten „Hector-Fellows.“ Drei herausragende Wissenschaftler deutscher Exzellenz-Universitäten haben in diesem Jahr den mit jeweils 150.000 Euro dotierten Hector Forschungspreis erhalten, neben Leuthold sind dies Professor Stephen Hashmi (Universität Heidelberg) und Prof. Jens Timmer (Universität Freiburg). Die Hector Stiftung II mit Sitz in Weinheim würdigt damit sowohl die bahnbrechenden Forschungsleistungen der Naturwissenschaftler als auch ihre Grundhaltung als Hochschullehrer.

Der Physiker Leuthold, der seit 2004 am KIT forscht und lehrt,  ist ein Experte auf dem Gebiet der Hochgeschwindigkeits-Datenübertragung. So hat er jüngst mit seiner Gruppe ein optisches Verfahren entwickelt, mit welchem man die größte je auf einen einzigen Laserstrahl kodierte Datenmenge von 10 Terabit pro Sekunde in Echtzeit kodieren und dekodieren kann. Vor drei Jahren gelang es Leuthold, einen der schnellsten optischen Siliziumchips zu bauen, der nicht nur viermal schneller ist als die bis dahin verfügbaren, sondern auch etwa 50 Mal kleiner als die Chips, die heute in Telekommunikationsgeräten eingesetzt werden. Der gebürtige Schweizer leitet am KIT das Institut für Photonik und Quantenelektronik (IPQ) sowie das Institut für Mikrostrukturtechnik (IMT).

Beim Festakt in Heidelberg am 4. Februar würdigte Dr. h.c. Hans-Werner Hector die faszinierenden Arbeiten der Preisträger: „Aus Ihren Forschungsgebieten entsteht das Wunder des Alltags.“ Gerne stelle die Stiftung finanzielle Mittel zur Verfügung, um die besten Professoren zu fördern. Denn dies sei die logische Fortsetzung der Unterstützung von besonders begabten Schülern und Studenten, der sich die Stiftung ebenfalls verschrieben hat. „Erst beides zugleich ergibt ein sinnvolles Ganzes“, sagte Hector.

„Die Ernennung von Herrn Leuthold zum Hector-Fellow ist für das KIT eine große Ehre“, so KIT-Präsident Professor Horst Hippler. „Wir freuen uns sehr, dass auch in diesem Jahr wieder ein Wissenschaftler des KIT Träger des Hector Forschungspreises ist, der exzellente Forschung mit herausragender Lehre verknüpft.“

Leuthold gehört nun zum Kreis der sogenannten „Hector-Fellows“, was wörtlich übersetzt „Gefährte“ bedeutet und im angelsächsischen Raum Mitglieder eines Teams von Spezialisten bezeichnet, die gemeinsam an wissenschaftlichen Themen arbeiten. Die Stifter Josephine und Hans-Werner Hector verfolgen mit der seit 2009 jährlich an drei Wissenschaftler vergebenen Auszeichnung das Ziel, dass sich die Preisträger gegenseitig bei ihrer Arbeit unterstützen und die Naturwissenschaften der Allgemeinheit näher bringen. Durch die Vernetzung der „Fellows“ entsteht gewissermaßen eine „Tafelrunde der Spitzenwissenschaftler“, die nun neun Mitglieder hat: Neben den drei diesjährigen Preisträgern sind dies die Professoren Manfred Kappes (KIT), Franz Nestmann (KIT), Doris Wedlich (KIT), Peter Gumbsch (KIT) und Martin Wegener (KIT) sowie Thomas Elbert (Universität Konstanz).

Weitere Informationen zur H. W. & J. Hector-Stiftung und zur Hector-Stiftung II unter:  www.hector-stiftung.de .

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieur-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 25 500 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen.

lg, 07.02.2011

Weiterer Pressekontakt:

Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin
Tel.: +49 721 608-21150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
monika landgrafBsb2∂kit edu