Press Release 018/2011

Construction Sites – Safe and Without Traffic Jams

Colloquium on Safety in Road Traffic: Safe Design of Long-term Construction Sites, Country Roads, and Motorway Junctions
Autobahnbaustellen im Blick: Wie man sie verkehrssicher gestaltet, ist eines der Themen des Instituts für Straßen- und Eisenbahnwesen. (Foto: pixelio.de)
Safe design of motorway construction sites is one of the topics covered by the Institute of Highway and Railroad Engineering. (Photo: pixelio.de)

Mobile society and economy need safe roads and vehicles. This also includes construction sites without any traffic jams, appropriate travel speeds, and safe motorway junctions. These topics will be covered by the colloquium “Latest Developments in Road Design, Safety of Workplaces” of the KIT Institute of Highway and Railroad Engineering (ISE) under the direction of Professor Ralf Roos on Wednesday, February 09, 13.30 to 17.00 hrs, on KIT Campus South.

Many traffic participants are quite familiar with very long construction sites. Frequently, up to five construction sites of up to six kilometers length each can be found on a distance of 50 km, for instance, on the A5 between Karlsruhe and Offenburg. On these construction sites, the left lane width is 2.50 m at the maximum and the right lane width does not exceed 3.25 m. On behalf of the Hesse State Office for Roads and Transport, a research group headed by Dr. Matthias Zimmermann from ISE made a scientific study relating to the construction site of Mücke of about ten kilometers in length. There, special measures had been taken to improve traffic flow and safety. Among them were the temporary broadening of both motorway lanes to 3.25 m, boards informing about the remaining length of the construction site, and speed control units installed at least temporarily. These changes led to far less accidents, less traffic jams, and a much more comfortable driving feeling, found the scientists.

According to Zimmermann, the economic gain resulting from the less problem-susceptible passage is enormous. At these increased lane widths, the scientists found no indications of the length of the construction site influencing the number of accidents. The scientists did not observe any trends of the frequency or severity of accidents increasing with increasing length. On the contrary: The frequency of accidents decreased due to the broadened lanes, although traffic participants drove quicker on the average than on construction sites with a narrow left lane.

Zimmermann points out that the results of all topics covered by the colloquium will be incorporated in rules for the design of roads in the medium term. During the colloquium that will offer findings of interest to any traffic participant, Sven B. Riffel will give a presentation on the “Modeling of the Driving Behavior in Curves”. Based on ISE high-accuracy measurements of driving patterns, it was analyzed, for instance, which curve designs have a negative impact on driving lines of vehicles.

Venue: KIT Campus South, Altes Bauingenieurgebäude, Otto-Ammann-Platz 1 (building 10.81), lecture hall 93.




Program
Introduction and Presentation

Professor Ralf Roos, Head of ISE

Driving Behavior and Traffic Safety at Motorway Junctions
Dijana Cindric-Middendorf , ISE

Impacts of Construction Site Design on Traffic Safety at the Overlong Construction Site of Mücke
Matthias Zimmermann, ISE

Safety and Performance of Workplaces of Longer Duration
Gerd Riegelhuth, Executive Building Director of the Hesse State
Office for Roads and Transport, Wiesbaden

Travel Speeds on Roads of the Future Design Class EKL 2
according to RAL

Julia Beeh, ISE

Modeling of the Driving Behavior in Curves
Sven B. Riffel, ISE

Holistic Method for the Design of Country Roads
Professor Wolfgang Kühn
University of Zwickau

Final Discussion

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,600 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 23,300 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

drs, 02.02.2011
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseGrj0∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Margarete Lehné
Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41157
Fax: +49 721 608-41157
margarete lehnePau8∂kit edu


The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail

Presseinformation 018/2011

Baustellen – sicher und staufrei

Kolloquium zur Sicherheit im Straßenverkehr: verkehrssichere Gestaltung von Langzeitbaustellen, Landstraßen und Autobahnkreuzen
Autobahnbaustellen im Blick: Wie man sie verkehrssicher gestaltet, ist eines der Themen des Instituts für Straßen- und Eisenbahnwesen. (Foto: pixelio.de)
Autobahnbaustellen im Blick: Wie man sie verkehrssicher gestaltet, ist eines der Themen des Instituts für Straßen- und Eisenbahnwesen. (Foto: pixelio.de)

Die mobile Gesellschaft und die Volkswirtschaft brauchen sichere Straßen und Fahrzeuge. Dazu gehören auch staufreie Baustellen, angemessene Reisegeschwindigkeiten und die Sicherheit in Zufahrten von Autobahnkreuzen. Mit diesen Themen beschäftigt sich das Kolloquium „Neue Entwicklungen im Straßenentwurf, Sicherheit von Arbeitsstellen“ des Instituts für Straßen- und Eisenbahnwesens (ISE) des KIT unter der Leitung von Professor Ralf Roos am Mittwoch, 9. Februar, von 13.30 bis 17 Uhr auf dem KIT-Campus Süd.

Sehr lange Baustellen sind heute für viele Verkehrsteilnehmer ein vertrautes Bild: Über eine Distanz von 50 Kilometern erstrecken sich oft bis zu fünf Baustellenabschnitte mit je bis zu sechs Kilometern Länge, beispielsweise auf der A5 zwischen Karlsruhe und Offenburg. In diesen Baustellen beträgt die Fahrstreifenbreite häufig maximal 2,50 Meter auf der linken und maximal 3,25 Metern auf der rechten Seite. Im Auftrag des Hessischen Landesamtes für Straßen- und Verkehrswesens hat eine Gruppe um Dr. Matthias Zimmermann vom ISE eine wissenschaftliche Begleituntersuchung der Überlangen Baustelle Mücke, die sich am Stück über rund zehn Kilometer erstreckte, erstellt. Dort hatte man zur Verbesserung des Verkehrsablaufes und der Verkehrssicherheit besondere Maßnahmen ergriffen: temporäre Fahrbahnverbreiterungen auf 3,25 Meter auf beiden Fahrstreifen, Informationstafeln über die verbleibende Baustellenlänge und zumindest zeitweise fest installierte Geschwindigkeitsüberwachungen. Diese Veränderungen führten zu deutlich weniger Unfällen, weniger Staus und einem wesentlich angenehmeren Fahrgefühl, so die Erkenntnis der Wissenschaftler.

Auch der volkswirtschaftliche Gewinn durch die weniger störanfällige Durchfahrt sei immens, so Zimmermann. Ebenfalls gäbe es keine Anzeichen dafür, dass die Länge der Baustelle bei diesen großzügigeren Breiten einen Einfluss auf das Unfallgeschehen habe. So seien keinerlei Trends erkennbar, dass mit zunehmender Länge die Unfallhäufigkeit oder -schwere steige. Im Gegenteil: Durch die verbreiterten Fahrstreifen sei die Unfallhäufigkeit gesunken, obwohl die Verkehrsteilnehmer im Durchschnitt schneller fuhren als in Vergleichsbaustellen mit einem schmalen linken Fahrstreifen.

Insgesamt fließen die Ergebnisse aller Themen des Kolloquiums mittelfristig in das Regelwerk für die Gestaltung von Straßen ein, so Zimmermann. So berichtet Sven B. Riffel in einem weiteren Vortrag des Kolloquiums, das durch seine praxisrelevanten Themen interessante Erkenntnisse für jeden Verkehrsteilnehmer bietet, über die „Modellierung des Fahrverhaltens in Kurven“ berichtet. Aus den vom  ISE hochgenau erfassten Fahrverläufen lässt sich zum Beispiel analysieren, welche Kurvengestaltungen einen negativen Einfluss auf die Fahrlinien von Fahrzeugen haben.

Veranstaltungsort: KIT-Campus Süd, Altes Bauingenieurgebäude, Otto-Ammann-Platz 1 (Gebäude 10.81), Hörsaal 93.


Programm
Einführung und Moderation

Professor Ralf Roos, Leiter des ISE

Fahrverhalten und Verkehrssicherheit in Rampen von Autobahnkreuzen
Dijana Cindric-Middendorf , ISE

Auswirkungen der Baustellengestaltung auf die Verkehrssicherheit in der überlangen Baustelle Mücke
Matthias Zimmermann, ISE

Sicherheit und Leistungsfähigkeit von Arbeitsstellen längerer Dauer
Gerd Riegelhuth, Leitender Baudirektor beim Hessischen Landesamt für Straßen- und Verkehrswesen, Wiesbaden

Reisegeschwindigkeiten auf Straßen der künftigen Entwurfsklasse EKL 2 nach RAL
Julia Beeh, ISE

Modellierung des Fahrverhaltens in Kurven
Sven B. Riffel, ISE

Ganzheitliche Entwurfsmethodik für Landstraßen
Professor Wolfgang Kühn
Westsächsische Hochschule Zwickau

Abschlussdiskussion

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) ist eine Körperschaft des öffentlichen Rechts nach den Gesetzen des Landes Baden-Württemberg. Es nimmt sowohl die Mission einer Universität als auch die Mission eines nationalen Forschungszentrums in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft wahr. Thematische Schwerpunkte der Forschung sind Energie, natürliche und gebaute Umwelt sowie Gesellschaft und Technik, von fundamentalen Fragen bis zur Anwendung. Mit rund 9400 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern, darunter mehr als 6000 in Wissenschaft und Lehre, sowie 24 500 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der größten Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas. Das KIT verfolgt seine Aufgaben im Wissensdreieck Forschung – Lehre – Innovation.

drs, 02.02.2011

Weiterer Kontakt:

Margarete Lehné
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing
Tel.: +49 721 608-48121
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
margarete lehneJvz1∂kit edu