Press Release 014/2011

Efficient Energy Use in Cities and Municipalities

Contract for the CONCERTO Premium EU Initiative Awarded to Karlsruhe Institute of Technology and Steinbeis-Europa-Zentrum
Ein Biomasse-Blockheizkraftwerk ist intergraler Bestandteil des Projekts  in Ostfildern.  (Foto: Ursula Pietzsch, Hochschule für Technik, Stuttgart)
A biomass-based combined heat and power plant is the integral component of the project at Ostfildern. (Photo: Ursula Pietzsch, University of Applied Sciences, Stuttgart)

More than half of the total population lives in cities and produces about 70% of all emissions. According to estimates, 70% of the total population will live in cities in 2050. Use of energy therefore is a big issue for the cities. These challenges are in the focus of a project to be executed by the Steinbeis-Europa-Zentrum (SEZ) and Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT). For the next three years, the partners will be granted funds in the amount of EUR 4.5 million under the EU CONCERTO Premium initiative. It is the defined objective to support cities and municipalities in reaching the ambitious EU 2020 energy and climate goals.

Sustainable use of energy, use of renewable energies, energy efficiency, and reduction of CO2 emissions are current challenges faced by cities and municipalities. With its strategy paper “Energy 2020 for a Competitive, Sustainable, and Safe Energy”, the European Union has decided to reduce emissions by 20% until 2020. It is aimed at increasing the share of renewable energies to 20% and improving energy efficiency by 20%.

“Our future energy situation will require the use of new technologies, implementation of research results in practice, and support of the state and society in the use of the results. The partnership of Steinbeis and KIT in this EU project will ensure a competent evaluation of energy efficiency and climate protection measures,” says Dr. Karl-Friedrich Ziegahn, Head of the Atmosphere and Climate, Renewable Energies, and Efficient Energy Conversion and Use programs at KIT.

“One of the biggest challenges for the global development of human society in the next years will be the supply of sufficient energy. Apart from the use of regenerative energies, intelligent handling of the energy available and energy-efficient construction and renovation are reasonable strategies. Many research activities, pilot projects, and good examples of applications exist in Europe. The CONCERTO initiative of the European Commission successfully supports such projects,“ underlines Professor Norbert Höptner, EU coordinator of the Minister of Economics and Director of the Steinbeis-Europa-Zentrum.

CONCERTO Premium strategically pools the experience gained from projects completed under the CONCERTO initiative and makes it available to potential users at public and private institutions. This know-how shall be considered in future construction and remediation actions. “To enhance the use of this energy-efficient construction know-how, we look for an active dialog with representatives of the cities and municipalities. Good examples are the cities of Ostfildern and Neckarsulm,” continues Höptner.

Monitoring is based on the good practices and project results already obtained under the CONCERTO EU program. Here, 58 municipalities in 23 countries are supported in designing certain city quarters in compliance with energy policy targets. CONCERTO Premiums helps decision-makers establish the necessary framework conditions for reaching the energy policy targets in these municipalities.

The CONCERTO Premium consortium consists of experts of SEZ and KIT in the fields of research, implementation, knowledge transfer, communication, and visualization. SEZ will coordinate CONCERTO Premium and be responsible for the dissemination of the project results.
 
Example Ostfildern (EU Project POLYCITY):
The project area is the Scharnhauser Park in Ostfildern, a former military area. On an area of about 150 hectares, a high-quality family-friendly residence and working area is being established. The Scharnhauser Park is conceived as an urban development project of ecological model character with low-energy standards being implemented for all new buildings. The electricity and heat needed are produced by a biomass-based combined heat and power plant in a cogeneration scheme. The biomass mainly is waste wood. Using the residual heat, the power plant also supplies cold for business enterprises. The heat arising and unused in the summer is used by thermal cooling techniques for the air conditioning of office buildings. All buildings have been provided with a high-quality insulation in order to prevent unnecessary heat losses in winter. Use of solar energy is envisaged.

Further information:
http://six6.region-stuttgart.de/sixcms/media.php/773/Gewerbeflaechen_Ostfildern.pdf

Example Neckarsulm (EU Project Energy in Minds):
To enhance the use of renewable energies, another 2500 square meters of collectors shall be installed in addition to the already existing 14,000 square meters. Among the measures taken are new photovoltaic systems with a total power of 500 kW/peak, an extension of the grid in the industry zone “Trendpark Süd” for a more efficient use of biomass, and the setup of an infrastructure for wood pellets to replace old heating systems in about 20 households. In addition, pilot projects are planned. Among them is a solar-based drying plant for sewage sludge and a field test with Stirling engines driven by wood pellets. An energy check will be performed for about 10 to 20% of all buildings in order to illustrate the existing saving potentials. About 200 houses and apartments in the city center and at Viktorshöhe are planned to be renovated to improve energy characteristics.

Further information:
www.neckarsulm.de/main/unser-neckarsulm/solarstadt-neckarsulm.html
 

Contact:

Steinbeis-Europa-Zentrum
Anette Mack, Public Relations
Phone: +49 (0)711-123 4023
Fax:
mackKph6∂steinbeis-europa de    

KIT
Monika Landgraf
PKM / Press Office
Phone: +49 (0)721 608-4 8126
Fax: +49 (0)721 608-4 3658
monika landgrafCju2∂kit edu



Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) is one of Europe’s leading energy research establishments. The KIT Energy Center pools fundamental research with applied research into all relevant energy sources for industry, households, services, and mobility. Holistic assessment of the energy cycle also covers conversion processes and energy efficiency. The KIT Energy Center links excellent competences in engineering and science with know-how in economics, the humanities, and social science as well as law. The activities of the KIT Energy Center are organized in seven topics: Energy conversion, renewable energies, energy storage and distribution, efficient energy use, fusion technology, nuclear power and safety, and energy systems analysis.

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,600 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 23,300 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

lg, 27.01.2011
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseAlk5∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Monika Landgraf
Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-21150
Fax: +49 721 608-41150
monika landgrafMfo0∂kit edu


The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail

Presseinformation 014/2011

Effiziente Energienutzung in Städten und Gemeinden

Karlsruher Institut für Technologie und Steinbeis-Europa-Zentrum erhalten Zuschlag für die EU-Initiative CONCERTO Premium
Ein Biomasse-Blockheizkraftwerk ist intergraler Bestandteil des Projekts  in Ostfildern.  (Foto: Ursula Pietzsch, Hochschule für Technik, Stuttgart)
Ein Biomasse-Blockheizkraftwerk ist intergraler Bestandteil des Projekts in Ostfildern. (Foto: Ursula Pietzsch, Hochschule für Technik, Stuttgart)

Mehr als die Hälfte aller Menschen lebt in Städten und produziert rund 70 Prozent aller Emissionen. Schätzungen sagen voraus, dass im Jahr 2050 der Anteil der Stadtbewohner bei 70 Prozent der Bevölkerung liegen wird. Der Umgang mit Energie ist daher ein großes Thema für die Städte. Diesen Herausforderungen stellen sich das Steinbeis-Europa-Zentrum (SEZ) und das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT). Für die nächsten drei Jahre erhalten die Partner 4,5 Millionen Euro Fördermittel aus der EU-Begleitmaßnahme CONCERTO Premium. Ziel ist es, Städte und Gemeinden zu unterstützen, die ehrgeizigen Energie- und Klimaziele der EU 2020 zu erreichen.

Eine nachhaltige Energienutzung, der Einsatz erneuerbarer Energien, Energieeffizienz und Reduzierung von CO2-Emissionen sind aktuelle Herausforderungen für Städte und Gemeinden. Mit ihrem Strategiepapier „Energie 2020 für eine wettbewerbsfähige, nachhaltige und sichere Energie“ hat die Europäische Union beschlossen, bis zum Jahr 2020 die Emissionen um 20 Prozent zu reduzieren. Ziel ist es, den Anteil der erneuerbaren Energien auf 20 Prozent zu erhöhen und die Energieeffizienz um 20 Prozent zu verbessern.
 „Unsere Energiezukunft erfordert den Einsatz neuer Technologien, die Umsetzung der Forschungsergebnisse in die Praxis und die Unterstützung von Staat und Gesellschaft bei der Nutzung der Ergebnisse. Deswegen ist für dieses EU-Vorhaben die Partnerschaft von Steinbeis und KIT eine gute Voraussetzung für eine sachkundige Bewertung der Energieeffizienz- und Klimaschutzmaßnahmen“, so Dr. Karl-Friedrich Ziegahn, Programmleiter Atmosphäre und Klima, Erneuerbare Energien und Rationelle Energieumwandlung und -nutzung am KIT.

 „Eine der größten Herausforderungen für die weltweite Entwicklung der menschlichen Gesellschaft in den nächsten Jahren ist die ausreichende Bereitstellung von Energie. Neben der Nutzung regenerativer Energien ist der intelligente Umgang mit der verfügbaren Energie sowie das energieeffiziente Bauen bzw. Renovieren eine sinnvolle Strategie. Europaweit gibt es bereits viele Forschungsarbeiten, Pilotprojekte und gute Beispiele für Anwendungen. Die Initiative CONCERTO der Europäischen Kommission unterstützt erfolgreich solche Projekte“, betont Professor Norbert Höptner, Europabeauftragter des Wirtschaftsministers und Direktor des Steinbeis-Europa-Zentrums.

Bei CONCERTO Premium werden die Erfahrungen aus abgeschlossenen Projekten in der Initiative CONCERTO strategisch zusammen getragen und potenziellen Anwendern in öffentlichen und privaten Einrichtungen zur Verfügung gestellt. Diese sollen bei zukünftigen Bau- und  Sanierungsmaßnahmen berücksichtigt werden. „Damit die Einbeziehung dieses Wissens über energieeffizientes Bauen wirklich erfolgt, suchen wir den aktiven Dialog mit Vertretern der Städte und Gemeinden. Gute Beispiele liefern bereits die Städte Ostfildern und Neckarsulm“, so Höptner weiter.

Als Grundlage des Monitorings dienen bereits erarbeitete gute Praktiken und die Projektergebnisse aus dem EU-Programm CONCERTO. Hier werden 58 Kommunen in 23 Ländern dabei unterstützt, einzelne Stadtquartiere unter energiepolitischen Zielsetzungen zu gestalten. CONCERTO Premium hilft den Entscheidungsträgern in den Gemeinden die notwendigen Rahmenbedingungen für die energiepolitischen Ziele zu schaffen.

Das Konsortium von CONCERTO Premium besteht aus Experten des SEZ und KIT aus den Bereichen Forschung, Durchführung, Wissenstransfer, Kommunikation und Visualisierung. Das SEZ übernimmt die Koordination von CONCERTO Premium sowie die Verbreitung der Projektergebnisse.

Beispiel Ostfildern ( EU-Projekt POLYCITY):
Projektgebiet ist der Scharnhauser Park in Ostfildern, ein ehemaliges Militärgelände. Auf einer Fläche von ca. 150 Hektar entsteht ein städtebaulich hochwertiger und familienfreundlicher Wohn- und Arbeitsort.  Der Scharnhauser Park ist als ökologisch vorbildhaftes Stadtentwicklungsprojekt konzipiert, bei dem für alle Neubauvorhaben Niedrigenergiestandards umgesetzt werden. Strom und Heizenergie erhält das Gebiet durch ein Biomasse-Blockheizkraftwerk mit Kraft-Wärme-Kopplung, das hauptsächlich mit Abfallholz betrieben wird. Mit dieser Anlage kann zudem, über die Nutzung der Restwärme, Kühlung für Gewerbebetriebe bereitgestellt werden. Die dort anfallende und im Sommer ungenutzte Wärme wird durch thermische Kühltechniken für die Klimatisierung der Bürogebäude genutzt. Gleichzeitig haben alle Gebäude einen besonders hohen Dämmstandard erhalten, um im Winter unnötige Wärmeverluste zu vermeiden. Auch die Nutzung von Sonnenenergie ist vorgesehen.

Weitere Informationen:
http://six6.region-stuttgart.de/sixcms/media.php/773/Gewerbeflaechen_Ostfildern.pdf

Beispiel Neckarsulm: (EU-Projekt Energy in Minds)
Im Bereich der erneuerbaren Energien sollen im Projektgebiet zusätzlich zu den bereits installierten 14.000 Quadratmetern weitere 2500 Quadratmeter Kollektorflächen entstehen. Zum Maßnahmenbündel gehören neue Photovoltaikanlagen mit einer Gesamtleistung von 500 Kilowatt/Peak, eine Netzerweiterung im Gewerbegebiet „Trendpark Süd“ für eine effizientere Nutzung der Biomasse sowie eine Infrastruktur für Holzpellets, die in etwa 20 Haushalten alte Heizungsanlagen ersetzen sollen. Außerdem sind Pilotprojekte  geplant, darunter eine solar betriebene Trocknungsanlage für Klärschlamm und ein Feldversuch mit Stirling-Motoren, die mit Holzpellets angetrieben werden. Darüber hinaus soll ein Energiecheck für etwa zehn bis 20 Prozent aller Gebäude das vorhandene Einsparpotenzial verdeutlichen. Insgesamt werden etwa 200 Häuser und Wohnungen in der Innenstadt und auf der Viktorshöhe energetisch saniert.

Weitere Informationen:
www.neckarsulm.de/main/unser-neckarsulm/solarstadt-neckarsulm.html

Kontakt:

Steinbeis-Europa-Zentrum
Anette Mack, Presse und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit
Tel: 0711-123 4023,
Fax:
mackRwt0∂steinbeis-europa de    

KIT
Monika Landgraf
PKM / Presse
Tel.: +49 721 608-48126
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
monika landgrafYvq8∂kit edu

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) ist eine Körperschaft des öffentlichen Rechts nach den Gesetzen des Landes Baden-Württemberg. Es nimmt sowohl die Mission einer Universität als auch die Mission eines nationalen Forschungszentrums in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft wahr. Thematische Schwerpunkte der Forschung sind Energie, natürliche und gebaute Umwelt sowie Gesellschaft und Technik, von fundamentalen Fragen bis zur Anwendung. Mit rund 9400 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern, darunter mehr als 6000 in Wissenschaft und Lehre, sowie 24 500 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der größten Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas. Das KIT verfolgt seine Aufgaben im Wissensdreieck Forschung – Lehre – Innovation.

lg, 27.01.2011

Weiterer Kontakt:

Monika Landgraf
PKM Abteilung Presse
Tel.: +49 721 608-48126
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
monika landgrafSou9∂kit edu