Press Release 013/2011

Countdown for Three Minutes of Young Science

FameLab International Science Slam Will Come to Karlsruhe
Bühne frei für junge Wissenschaft: beim Science Slam-Wettbewerb „FameLab  Baden-Württemberg“ sind Kommunikationstalente aus der Wissenschaft gefragt (Foto: Bertram Fohrn/pixelio.de)
Time for young science: At the “FameLab Baden-Wuerttemerg” Science Slam, communication talents from science are wanted. (Photo: Bertram Fohrn/pixelio.de)

The clock is ticking relentlessly: Three minutes to put the own research topic across in an understandable, concise, and fascinating manner. Technical gimmicks, computer animations? Forbidden. At FameLab, the international competition for science communication, students, PhD students, and young scientists will meet this challenge in front of a jury and an audience. Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) and Stadtmarketing Karlsruhe will organize one of the five regional preliminary decisions of the Science Slam at Karlsruhe on February 25: The FameLab Baden-Wuerttemberg.

The candidates wishing to enthuse their audience by their presentations on a scientific or technical subject within a few minutes have to be 21 years old at least. The only aids they are allowed to use are those that may be carried on the body, for example, a cooked egg, a balloon or a Petri dish. Participants from all disciplines, all research institutions, and universities in South Germany are invited to register for the FameLab Baden-Wuerttemberg. The registration form is available online.

The final of the FameLab Baden-Wuerttemberg will take place on February 25, 18 hrs, at the Kulturzentrum Tollhaus, Karlsruhe. It will be moderated by SWR reporter Sarah Renner. The two best participants will then qualify for the national competition. Prior to this, they will be given the opportunity to take part in a master class, an intensive presentation and media training at Berlin. The national final will take place on April 9 at the Ringlokschuppen, Bielefeld. The winners will qualify for the big international final at the Cheltenham Science Festival in June.

The preliminary competition at Karlsruhe will comprise two rounds: In a first round, the jury of KIT scientists, communication experts, and representatives of the city of Karlsruhe will choose the twelve best participants after having listened to their presentations of three minutes. This dozen will then give another three-minutes presentation in the second round. The winners of the FameLab Baden-Wuerttemberg will be chosen not only by the jury, but also by the audience. This means that an audience will be needed at the Tollhaus! Admission to this evening event will be free!

In 2005, the FameLab competition took place for the first time at the Cheltenham Science Festival, the objective being to give young scientists a forum in the public and to network young talents. In the meantime, the competition has been established in 16 countries worldwide. In 2011, it will come to Germany for the first time. FameLab Germany will be organized by the British Council Germany together with GEO and Bielefeld Marketing GmbH. “The science city of Karlsruhe with its broad spectrum of universities and research institutions is the ideal location for FameLab,” says Margret Mergen, first mayor of the city of Karlsruhe. KIT sees itself as the “driver of public science,” emphasizes Thomas Windmann, Head of the KIT Public Relations and Marketing Service Unit: “That is why KIT that aims at an innovative dialog on research and science with the population will organize the FameLab as a creative format of public science together with the Stadtmarketing.”

Further information can be found at http://www.pkm.kit.edu/famelab.php . From there, the online registration form can be accessed.


 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,600 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 23,300 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

tr, 26.01.2011
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseFby3∂kit edu



The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail

Presseinformation 013/2011

Countdown für drei Minuten junge Wissenschaft

Internationaler Science-Slam-Wettbewerb FameLab kommt nach Karlsruhe
Bühne frei für junge Wissenschaft: beim Science Slam-Wettbewerb „FameLab  Baden-Württemberg“ sind Kommunikationstalente aus der Wissenschaft gefragt (Foto: Bertram Fohrn/pixelio.de)
Bühne frei für junge Wissenschaft: beim Science Slam-Wettbewerb „FameLab Baden-Württemberg“ sind Kommunikationstalente aus der Wissenschaft gefragt (Foto: Bertram Fohrn/pixelio.de)

Unerbittlich tickt die Zeit: drei Minuten um das eigene Forschungsthema verständlich, auf den Punkt, faszinierend „rüberzubringen“. Technische Spielereien, Computeranimationen? Sind nicht erlaubt. Beim internationalen Wettbewerb für Wissenschaftskommunikation, FameLab, stellen sich Studierende, Doktoranden, junge Wissenschaftler dieser Herausforderung vor einer Jury und Publikum. Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) und das Stadtmarketing Karlsruhe holen am 25. Februar eine der fünf regionalen Vorentscheidungen des Science Slam-Contests nach Karlsruhe: das FameLab Baden-Württemberg.

Mindestens 21 Jahre müssen die Kandidatinnen und Kandidaten sein, die durch ihr Forschungsthema mit naturwissenschaftlichem oder technischem Fokus in wenigen Minuten ihre Zuschauer zu begeistern suchen. Als Hilfsmittel darf nur verwendet werden, was am Körper getragen werden kann – zum Beispiel ein abgekochtes Ei, ein Luftballon oder eine Petrischale. Teilnehmer aus allen Disziplinen, allen Forschungseinrichtungen und Hochschulen im süddeutschen Raum sind eingeladen und können sich über ein Onlineformular für das FameLab Baden-Württemberg anmelden.

Zwei Teilnehmer slammen sich dann im von SWR-Reporterin Sarah Renner moderierten Finale des FameLab Baden-Württemberg am 25. Februar ab 18 Uhr im Karlsruher Kulturzentrum Tollhaus in die nationale Ausscheidung. Auf die beiden Sieger der Karlsruher Vorentscheidung wartet die Masterclass, ein intensives Präsentations- und Medientraining in Berlin. Frisch gecoacht nehmen sie dann am 9. April am nationalen Finale im Bielefelder Ringlokschuppen teil. Dort qualifizieren sich die Sieger für die die Reise zum großen internationalen Finale beim Cheltenham Science Festival im Juni.

Der Wettbewerb in Karlsruhe verläuft in zwei Runden: in einer ersten Runde wählt die Jury aus KIT-Wissenschaftlern, Kommunikationsexperten und Vertretern der Stadt Karlsruhe nach dreiminütigen Präsentationen die zwölf Besten aus den Teilnehmerreihen aus. Dieses Dutzend präsentiert in der zweiten Runde in einem weiteren dreiminütigen Vortrag. Nicht allein die Jury, sondern auch die Zuschauer küren mit ihrem Publikumspreis in der zweiten Runde die endgültigen Gewinner des FameLab Baden-Württemberg. Vor allem für diese Finalrunde im Tollhaus ist also Publikum gefragt! Der Eintritt zur Abendveranstaltung ist frei.

2005 fand der Wettbewerb FameLab zum ersten Mal auf dem Cheltenham Science Festival statt – mit dem Ziel, wissenschaftlichem Nachwuchs ein Forum in der Öffentlichkeit zu geben und junge Talente zu vernetzen. Mittlerweile hat sich der Wettbewerb in 16 Staaten weltweit etabliert. 2011 kommt er zum ersten Mal nach Deutschland. Veranstalter des FameLab Germany ist der British Council Germany zusammen mit GEO und der Bielefeld Marketing GmbH. „Die Wissenschaftsstadt Karlsruhe mit ihrem breiten Spektrum an Hochschulen und Forschungseinrichtungen ist der ideale Standort für FameLab“, findet Margret Mergen, Erste Bürgermeisterin der Stadt Karlsruhe. Dabei begreift sich das KIT als „Motor öffentlicher Wissenschaft“, betont Thomas Windmann, Leiter Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing, KIT: „Deshalb organisiert das KIT, das sich den innovativen Dialog über Forschung und Wissenschaft mit der Bevölkerung zum Ziel gesetzt hat, gemeinsam mit dem Stadtmarketing FameLab als ein kreatives Format öffentlicher Wissenschaft.“

Weitere Informationen unter http://www.pkm.kit.edu/famelab.php mit Zugang zum Online-Anmeldeformular für Teilnehmer.

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) ist eine Körperschaft des öffentlichen Rechts nach den Gesetzen des Landes Baden-Württemberg. Es nimmt sowohl die Mission einer Universität als auch die Mission eines nationalen Forschungszentrums in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft wahr. Thematische Schwerpunkte der Forschung sind Energie, natürliche und gebaute Umwelt sowie Gesellschaft und Technik, von fundamentalen Fragen bis zur Anwendung. Mit rund 9400 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern, darunter mehr als 6000 in Wissenschaft und Lehre, sowie 24 500 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der größten Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas. Das KIT verfolgt seine Aufgaben im Wissensdreieck Forschung – Lehre – Innovation.

tr, 26.01.2011

Weiterer Kontakt:

Tatjana Rauch
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing (PKM)
Tel.: +49 721 608-46047
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
tatjana rauchXyj3∂kit edu