Home | deutsch  | Plain Language | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Press Release 106/2010

New CEO for KIC InnoEnergy

Diego Pavía Manages European Energy Research Consortium
Diego Pavía Bardají (Foto: privat)
Diego Pavía Bardají (Photo: private)

The European Knowledge and Innovation Community (KIC) InnoEnergy has a new CEO: Since September 14, Diego Pavía Bardají has been managing the business of the energy research consortium of 35 enterprises, universities, research and institutions. The engineer Pavía has been assuming management positions in industry for years. He now follows Professor Hans-Jörg Bauer from KIT, who coordinated the preparation and setup phase of KIC InnoEnergy as an interim CEO.
 
Diego Pavía, born 1963, studied electrical engineering and specialized in electronics and automation at the Polytechnical University of Madrid. Meanwhile, he can look back on a long career at private companies. Diego headed multicultural working groups all over the world in the field of energy. His last post was that of a CEO of Atos Origin, a leading international IT service provider, where he was responsible for Spain and South America, about 9000 employees, and an annual turnover of EUR 450 million. From 2006 to 2010, Diego chaired the Spanish Consultancy Association (AEC), in which all leading IT enterprises in Spain are represented.

“I am very much looking forward to my new tasks at KIC InnoEnergy,“ says Pavía. “The consortium supports cooperation of first rank industries, universities and research institutions. Our measurable goals are startups, patents, and close-to-industry education of graduate and Ph.D. students in the field of sustainable energy. It will be the key to Europe’s economic competitiveness in the future.”

KIC InnoEnergy, a public private partnership, funded by the European Institute of Innovation and Technology (EIT), links research, education, and innovation in order to accelerate technology transfer and create a sustainable energy system in Europe. KIC InnoEnergy is managed like an enterprise. “We are pleased to have won for KIC InnoEnergy such a dynamic and charismatic personality like Diego Pavía,” underlines Professor Hans-Jörg Bauer. “He possesses vast entrepreneurial experience and his qualification precisely corresponds to the profile a CEO of KIC InnoEnergy is expected to have.“


Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) is one of Europe’s leading energy research establishments. The KIT Energy Center pools fundamental research with applied research into all relevant energy sources for industry, households, services, and mobility. Holistic assessment of the energy cycle also covers conversion processes and energy efficiency. The KIT Energy Center links competences in engineering and science with know-how in economics, the humanities, and social science as well as law. The activities of the KIT Energy Center are organized in seven topics: Energy conversion, renewable energies, energy storage and distribution, efficient energy use, fusion technology, nuclear power and safety, and energy systems analysis.

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 24,400 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

or, 23.09.2010

Press contact:

Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin
Phone: +49 721 608-48126
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
monika landgrafPgy3∂kit edu


The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Presseinformation 106/2010

Neuer CEO für KIC InnoEnergy

Diego Pavía führt die Geschäfte des europäischen Energieforschungs-Konsortiums
Diego Pavía Bardají (Foto: privat)
Diego Pavía Bardají (Foto: privat)

Die europäische Knowledge and Innovation Community (KIC) InnoEnergy hat einen neuen Chief Executive Officer, CEO: Seit 14. September führt Diego Pavía Bardají die Geschäfte des Energieforschungs-Konsortiums, dem insgesamt 35 Universitäten, Forschungseinrichtungen und Unternehmen angehören. Der Ingenieur Pavía bekleidete jahrelang führende Positionen in der Industrie. Er folgt auf Professor Hans-Jörg Bauer vom KIT, der die Vorbereitung und den Aufbau von KIC InnoEnergy koordinierte und als Interims-CEO fungierte.
 
Diego Pavía, Jahrgang 1963, studierte Elektrotechnik mit den Schwerpunkten Elektronik und Automation an der Polytechnischen Universität Madrid und hat eine langjährige Laufbahn in der freien Wirtschaft zurückgelegt. Er leitete multikulturell zusammengesetzte Teams auf der ganzen Welt im Bereich Energie. Zuletzt war er bei Atos Origin, einem international führenden IT-Dienstleister, als CEO für Spanien und Südamerika verantwortlich für rund 9 000 Mitarbeiter und einen Jahresumsatz von 450 Millionen Euro. Von 2006 bis 2010 war Diego Pavía Vorsitzender der Spanish Consultancy Association (AEC), in der sämtliche in Spanien agierenden führenden IT-Unternehmen vertreten sind.
 
„Ich freue mich sehr auf meine neue Aufgabe bei KIC InnoEnergy“, erklärt Pavía. „Das Konsortium fördert die Zusammenarbeit zwischen Universitäten, Forschungseinrichtungen und Industrie. Unsere messbaren Ziele sind Unternehmenausgründungen, Patente sowie die industrienahe Ausbildung von Studierenden und Doktoranden im Bereich der nachhaltigen Energieversorgung. Diese bildet einen Schlüssel für Europas künftige wirtschaftliche Wettbewerbsfähigkeit.“
 
Die vom European Institute of Innovation and Technology (EIT) geförderte KIC InnoEnergy, eine public privat partnership (PPP), verbindet Forschung, Lehre und Innovation, um den Technologietransfer zu beschleunigen und ein nachhaltiges Energiesystem für Europa zu schaffen. KIC InnoEnergy wird wie ein Unternehmen geführt. „Wir freuen uns, eine so dynamische und charismatische Persönlichkeit wie Diego Pavía für KIC InnoEnergy gewonnen zu haben“, erklärt Professor Hans-Jörg Bauer. „Er verfügt über umfassende Unternehmenserfahrung, und seine Qualifikation entspricht genau dem für den CEO von KIC InnoEnergy vorgesehenen Profil“.


In der Energieforschung ist das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) eine der europaweit führenden Einrichtungen: Das KIT-Zentrum Energie vereint grundlegende und angewandte Forschung zu allen relevanten Energieformen für Industrie, Haushalt, Dienstleistungen und Mobilität. In die ganzheitliche Betrachtung des Energiekreislaufs sind Umwandlungsprozesse und Energieeffizienz mit einbezogen. Das KIT-Zentrum Energie verbindet exzellente technik- und naturwissenschaftliche Kompetenzen mit wirtschafts-, geistes- und sozialwissenschaftlichem sowie rechtswissenschaftlichem Fachwissen. Die Arbeit des KIT-Zentrums Energie gliedert sich in sieben Topics: Energieumwandlung, erneuerbare Energien, Energiespeicherung und Energieverteilung, effiziente Energienutzung, Fusionstechnologie, Kernenergie und Sicherheit sowie Energiesystemanalyse.


Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) ist eine Körperschaft des öffentlichen Rechts nach den Gesetzen des Landes Baden-Württemberg. Es nimmt sowohl die Mission einer Universität als auch die Mission eines nationalen Forschungszentrums in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft wahr. Thematische Schwerpunkte der Forschung sind Energie, natürliche und gebaute Umwelt sowie Gesellschaft und Technik, von fundamentalen Fragen bis zur Anwendung. Mit rund 9400 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern, darunter mehr als 6000 in Wissenschaft und Lehre, sowie 24 500 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der größten Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas. Das KIT verfolgt seine Aufgaben im Wissensdreieck Forschung – Lehre – Innovation.

or, 23.09.2010

Weiterer Kontakt:

Monika Landgraf
PKM Abteilung Presse
Tel.: +49 721 608-48126
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
monika landgrafFww7∂kit edu