Home | deutsch  | Plain Language | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Press Release 098/2010

Enhancing Own Strengths

KIT Submits New Proposals for the Excellence Initiative II – Scientists on Campus North and South Are Working Jointly on Concepts
Spitzenforschung und exzellente Lehre: Acht Neuanträge legt das KIT den Gutachtern vor. (Foto: Jana Mayer)
Top research and excellent teaching: KIT submits eight new proposals. (Photo: Jana Mayer)

Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) will submit four new pro-posals of graduate schools and excellence clusters each for the Excellence Initiative II. The deadline for submission of the new proposal sketches will be tomorrow, September 01. In the first round of the Excellence Initiative in 2006, the former Universität Karlsruhe (TH) succeeded in all three funding lines. As a Concept for the Future, it proposed the foundation of KIT together with Forschungszentrum Karlsruhe, which has meanwhile been implemented successfully. With its new proposals, KIT intends to further enhance its strengths.

“We have drawn up the new proposals along the portfolio of KIT with its centers, focuses, and multi-disciplinary topics in materials and computer sciences, for instance” says Professor Detlef Löhe, KIT Vice President for Research and Information. KIT enters the current competition with seven new own proposals and a proposal drawn up in cooperation with other universities.

Successful acquisition of funds for at least one graduate school and one excellent cluster will be required for KIT to be permitted to submit a follow-up proposal for the Concept for the Future. In the next months, the sketches submitted will be evaluated. In case of a positive result, KIT will be asked to submit full proposals. These proposals and the follow-up proposals for the Concept for the Future and the existing KSOP graduate school and CFN excellence cluster will have to be submitted by September 01, 2011. “The Concept for the Future II on which we are working at the moment will focus on utilizing the potentials of KIT after the merger,” underlines Vice President Löhe.

Thanks to KIT’s status as a state university, both KIT sectors can take part in the Excellence Initiative. The proposals are drawn up jointly by scientists from the large-scale research sector and the university sector of KIT. Work is coordinated by Dr. Irmgard Langbein and Dr. Dennis Nitsche from the Excellence Initiative II project management office. They are supported by the KIT Research Office. “Quite a few sabbaticals have been spent for formulating the proposals,” emphasizes KIT Vice President Löhe,” close cooperation of the scientists from Campus North and Campus South of KIT will inure to the benefit of the proposals.”

In the 2006 Excellence Initiative I, the former Universität Karlsruhe was one of three universities winning in all three funding lines. Proposals for the graduate school of Karlsruhe School of Optics and Photonics (KSOP) and the excellence cluster of Center for Functional Nanostructures (CFN) were approved of. The decisive success was reached in the third funding line, the Concept for the Future, with the proposed foundation of KIT.

Within the framework of the Excellence Initiative, the Federal Republic of Germany and the federal states are funding excellent research projects, excellent education of young scientists, and the organizational and institutional development of universities. In June 2009, it was decided to continue the Excellence Initiative after 2012 for another five years with a total funding volume of EUR 2.7 billion (Excellence Initiative II).

 

Being „The Research University in the Helmholtz Association“, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 25,500 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life.

lg, 31.08.2010

Press contact:

Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin
Phone: +49 721 608-48126
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
monika landgrafBwh7∂kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseDor4∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Presseinformation 098/2010

Die eigenen Stärken weiter ausbauen

KIT reicht Neuanträge für die Exzellenzinitiative II ein – Wissenschaftler am Campus Nord und Süd arbeiten gemeinsam an den Konzepten
Spitzenforschung und exzellente Lehre: Acht Neuanträge legt das KIT den Gutachtern vor. (Foto: Jana Mayer)
Spitzenforschung und exzellente Lehre: Acht Neuanträge legt das KIT den Gutachtern vor. (Foto: Jana Mayer)

Mit jeweils vier Neuanträgen für Graduiertenschulen und Exzellenzcluster bewirbt sich das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) bei der Exzellenzinitiative II. Abgabetermin für die neuen Antragsskizzen ist morgen, 01. September. In der ersten Runde der Exzellenzinitiative im Jahr 2006 war die damalige Universität Karlsruhe (TH) in allen drei Förderlinien erfolgreich. Die Gründung des KIT gemeinsam mit dem Forschungszentrum Karlsruhe wurde damals als Zukunftskonzept eingereicht und ist mittlerweile erfolgreich umgesetzt. Mit den neuen Anträgen will das KIT nun seine Stärken weiter ausbauen.

„Die Neuanträge haben wir entlang der Profilbereiche des KIT, den Zentren und Schwerpunkten, und den übergreifenden Themen wie Materialwissenschaften und Informatik erarbeitet“, so Professor Detlef Löhe, KIT-Vizepräsident für Forschung und Information. Das KIT geht mit sieben eigenen Neuanträgen sowie einem Antrag, der in Kooperation mit anderen Hochschulen erarbeitet wurde, ins Rennen.

Die erfolgreiche Einwerbung mindestens einer Graduiertenschule und mindestens eines Exzellenzclusters ist die Bedingung dafür, dass der Fortsetzungsantrag für das Zukunftskonzept des KIT gestellt werden darf. Die jetzt eingereichten Skizzen werden in den kommenden Monaten begutachtet. Bei positivem Votum kann das KIT Vollanträge stellen. Zusammen mit den Fortsetzungsanträgen für das Zukunftskonzept sowie für die bestehende Graduiertenschule KSOP und das Exzellenzcluster CFN müssen diese zum 1. September 2011 eingereicht werden. „Im Zukunftskonzept II, das wir gerade ausarbeiten, wird es darum gehen, das Potenzial von KIT nach dem Zusammenschluss voll auszuschöpfen“, beschreibt Vizepräsident Löhe die Herausforderung.

Dank seines Status als Landesuniversität kann das KIT insgesamt an der Exzellenzinitiative teilnehmen. Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler aus dem Großforschungsteil und dem Universitätsteil des KIT arbeiten daher Hand in Hand bei der Antragsstellung.  Die Koordination liegt bei der Projektleitung Exzellenzinitiative II mit Dr. Irmgard Langbein und Dr. Dennis Nitsche, unterstützt von der KIT-Dienstleistungseinheit Forschungsförderung. „So manches Forschungsfreisemester wurde für die Ausarbeitung der Anträge verwendet“, beschreibt KIT-Vizepräsident Löhe das Engagement, „die enge Zusammenarbeit der Wissenschaftler von Campus Nord und Süd des KIT kommt den Anträgen zugute.“

In der Exzellenzinitiative I im Jahr 2006 war die damalige Universität Karlsruhe als eine der ersten drei Universitäten in allen drei Förderlinien erfolgreich. Ausgezeichnet wurden die Graduiertenschule Karlsruhe School of Optics and Photonics (KSOP) sowie das Exzellenzcluster Center for Functional Nanostructures (CFN). Der besondere Trumpf war die dritte Förderlinie: das Zukunftskonzept – die Gründung des KIT.

Mit der Exzellenzinitiative fördern Bund und Länder herausragende Forschungsprojekte, die exzellente Ausbildung von Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen und -wissenschaftlern und die organisatorisch-institutionelle Entwicklung von Universitäten. Im Juni 2009 wurde beschlossen, die Exzellenzinitiative über das Jahr 2012 hinaus für weitere 5 Jahre mit einem Gesamtfördervolumen von 2,7 Milliarden Euro fortzusetzen (Exzellenzinitiative II).

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) ist eine Körperschaft des öffentlichen Rechts nach den Gesetzen des Landes Baden-Württemberg. Es nimmt sowohl die Mission einer Universität als auch die Mission eines nationalen Forschungszentrums in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft wahr. Thematische Schwerpunkte der Forschung sind Energie, natürliche und gebaute Umwelt sowie Gesellschaft und Technik, von fundamentalen Fragen bis zur Anwendung. Mit rund 9400 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern, darunter mehr als 6000 in Wissenschaft und Lehre, sowie 24 500 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der größten Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas. Das KIT verfolgt seine Aufgaben im Wissensdreieck Forschung – Lehre – Innovation.

lg, 31.08.2010

Weiterer Kontakt:

Monika Landgraf
PKM Abteilung Presse
Tel.: +49 721 608-48126
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
monika landgrafQin3∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseIhs6∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.