Home | deutsch  | Plain Language | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Press Release 095/2010

Laser Light from Conical Polymer Microcavities

KIT Researchers Have Succeeded in Developing High-performance Resonators
Aufnahme eines Mikrokelch-Resonators mit dem Rasterelektronenmikroskop. (Bild:  Institut für Angewandte Physik, AG Kalt)
Scanning electron microscopy image of a micro cone resonator. (Image: Institute for Applied Physics, research group headed by Prof. Heinz Kalt)

In an interdisciplinary project, KIT researchers have succeeded in developing a new type of optical resonators. These novel microcavities are particularly efficient laser light sources due to the shape and smooth surfaces of their polymer structures. In addition, they have the potential of detecting smallest biomolecules, viruses, or hazardous substances.

Optical microresonators allow confinement and storage of light in a space with dimensions smaller than the diameter of a hair. Using them, fundamental optical and quantum-physical effects can be analyzed. Confinement of light in microresonators is based on the simple principle of total reflection: Light is reflected from the resonator surface to be entrapped in the interior. The beams of light run along the edge of the resonators to be stored there for a long time and create an optical “whispering gallery” with a high optical quality. The principle can be compared with that of the sound waves traveling along the circumference of the dome of St. Paul’s Cathedral in London.

Together, the KIT research group headed by Professor Heinz Kalt at the Institute for Applied Physics (APH) and at the Center for Functional Nanostructures (CFN), and the independent junior research group, headed by Dr.-Ing. Timo Mappes at the Institute for Microstructure Technology (IMT), have succeeded in producing novel conical microresonators by applying a specially developed thermal reflow process. The microcavities consist of polymers and have diameters of 40 µm (which is approximately 1/3 of the diameter of a hair). Their high performance and efficiency are due to the extreme smoothness of the polymer surfaces.

Schema eines Lab-on-Chip-Systems mit Mikrokelch-Laser, der optisch mit einem grünen Laser gepumpt wird (li); Mikrokelch-Resonator als Detektor für Biomoleküle (re). (Schematische Darstellung: Institut für Mikrostrukturtechnik, YIG Mappes)

 

Lab-on-chip system with micro cone laser pumped optically with a green laser (left);

Micro cone resonator as biomolecule detector (right). (Source: Institute for Microstructure Technology, young investigator group headed by Dr.-Ing. Timo Mappes)



There are two major applications: The micro cones developed can be used as novel laser light sources or as extremely sensitive detectors in label-free hazardous-substance or biomolecule detection.  Since label-free identification can do without the tedious procedure of chemical or biological sample preparation (no additional markers such as fluorescent dyes or nanoparticles are being attached), it has particular advantages and is more favourably priced and faster than many of the well-established methods.

The researchers now aim to integrate the light source and detector on a chip to obtain highly compact so-called lab-on-chip systems for future applications.

The high resonator quality has still another decisive advantage: „The use of micro cone lasers in components is made very attractive by operating lasers at low power,” says physicist Tobias Großmann, who is member of both research groups at KIT and holds a scholarship grant at the Karlsruhe School of Optics and Photonics (KSOP).  For light amplification, the researchers incorporate organic dyes in the polymer cavities. By adapting the concentration of the dyes, the emission wavelengths of the lasers can be changed, and the color of the laser can be adjusted as desired.

The enormous potential for future industrial applications of the developed micro cone resonators includes high-sensitivity label-free molecule detection, optical data transmission filtering, and the use of resonators as sources for the generation of non-classical light, which is a basis for future quantum computers.

Since KIT researchers use the mass production methods that are applied by the semiconductor industry, they enable the manufacture of micro cones in series in the medium term.


Bibliography

[1] Tobias Grossmann, Mario Hauser, Torsten Beck, Cristian Gohn-Kreuz, Matthias Karl, Heinz Kalt, Christoph Vannahme, and Timo Mappes,  High-Q conical polymeric microcavities, Appl. Phys. Lett. 96, 013303 (2010)

[2] Tobias Grossmann, Simone Schleede, Mario Hauser, Mads Brøkner Christiansen, Christoph Vannahme, Carsten Eschenbaum, Sönke Klinkhammer, Torsten Beck, Jochen Fuchs, G. Ulrich Nienhaus, Uli Lemmer, Anders Kristensen, Timo Mappes, and Heinz Kalt, Low-threshold conical microcavity dye lasers, Appl. Phys. Lett. 97, 063304 (2010)

 

Being „The Research University in the Helmholtz Association“, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 25,100 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life.

lg, 23.08.2010

Press contact:

Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin
Phone: +49 721 608-48126
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
monika landgrafOso9∂kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseTls1∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Presseinformation 095/2010

Laserlicht aus polymeren Mikrokelchen

Entwicklung hochleistungsfähiger Resonatoren gelungen
Aufnahme eines Mikrokelch-Resonators mit dem Rasterelektronenmikroskop. (Bild:  Institut für Angewandte Physik, AG Kalt)
Aufnahme eines Mikrokelch-Resonators mit dem Rasterelektronenmikroskop. (Bild: Institut für Angewandte Physik, AG Kalt)

In einem interdisziplinären Projekt ist es Wissenschaftlern des KIT gelungen, eine neue Erscheinungsform von optischen Resonatoren zu schaffen: Mikrokelche. Diese Polymerstrukturen sind durch ihre Form und ihre glatte Oberfläche besonders effiziente Quellen für Laserlicht. Zudem haben sie das Potenzial kleinste Bio-Moleküle, Viren oder Gefahrstoffe nachzuweisen.  

Optische Mikroresonatoren ermöglichen den Einschluss und die Speicherung von Licht in einem Raum, dessen Größe geringer ist als der Durchmesser eines Haares. Mit ihrer Hilfe lassen sich grundlegende physikalische Effekte auf den Gebieten der Optik und der Quantenphysik untersuchen. Der Lichteinschluss in Mikroresonatoren basiert auf dem einfachen Prinzip der Totalreflexion. Licht wird an der Oberfläche des Resonators zurückgeworfen und so im Inneren des Resonators eingeschlossen. Dabei verlaufen die Lichtstrahlen entlang des Randes der Resonatoren und werden dort lange Zeit gespeichert, was zu einer hohen optischen Güte führt – man spricht von hier von optischen Flüstergalerien. Das Prinzip ist vergleichbar mit den Schallwellen, die entlang des Umfanges der Kuppel der St. Paul’s Cathedral in London laufen.

Gemeinsam ist es nun am KIT der Arbeitsgruppe von Professor Heinz Kalt, Institut für Angewandte Physik (APH) am Center for Functional Nanostructures (CFN) und der unabhängigen Nachwuchsgruppe um Dr.-Ing. Timo Mappes, Institut für Mikrostrukturtechnik (IMT), gelungen, neuartige kelchförmige Mikroresonatoren herzustellen. Erreicht wurde dies mit Hilfe eines speziell entwickelten thermischen Aufschmelzverfahrens. Die Mikrokelche bestehen aus Polymer und haben Durchmesser von 40 Mikrometern (ca. 1/3 eines Haardurchmessers). Diese besitzen eine extrem glatte Oberfläche und sind dadurch enorm leistungsfähig.

Prinzipiell sind zwei Anwendungen möglich. Die Mikrokelche können als neuartige Laser-Lichtquellen oder aber als extrem empfindliche Detektoren zum markerfreien Nachweis von Biomolekülen oder Gefahrstoffen verwendet werden. Markerfreie Nachweise sind besonders vorteilhaft, da sie ohne aufwendige chemische oder biologische Probenaufbereitung auskommen (d.h. es werden keine zusätzlichen Markierungen wie fluoreszierende Proteine oder Nanopartikel angeheftet) und dadurch günstiger und schneller als viele etablierte Verfahren sind.

Ziel der Wissenschaftler ist es nun, Lichtquelle und Detektor zusammen hochkompakt auf einem Chip zu integrieren, um für künftige Anwendungen ein sogenanntes Lab-on-Chip-System zu bilden.

Schema eines Lab-on-Chip-Systems mit Mikrokelch-Laser, der optisch mit einem grünen Laser gepumpt wird (li); Mikrokelch-Resonator als Detektor für Biomoleküle (re). (Schematische Darstellung: Institut für Mikrostrukturtechnik, YIG Mappes)

Schema eines Lab-on-Chip-Systems mit Mikrokelch-Laser, der optisch

mit einem grünen Laser gepumpt wird (li); Mikrokelch-Resonator als Detektor für Biomoleküle (re).

(Schematische Darstellung: Institut für Mikrostrukturtechnik, YIG Mappes)



Die hohe Resonatorqualität hat noch einen weiteren entscheidenden Vorteil: „Wir können den Laser mit geringer Energiezufuhr betreiben, was die Verwendung von Mikrokelch-Lasern in Bauteilen sehr attraktiv macht“, erklärt der Physiker Tobias Großmann, Mitarbeiter beider Arbeitsgruppen am KIT und Stipendiat der Karlsruhe School of Optics and Photonics (KSOP). Für die Lichtverstärkung bauen die Wissenschaftler organische Farbstoffe in die Polymer-Kelche ein. Durch die Anpassung der Farbstoffkonzentration lässt sich die Emissionswellenlänge der Laser ändern und somit deren Farbe gezielt anpassen.

Das Potenzial der entwickelten Mikrokelch-Resonatoren für künftige Anwendungen in der Industrie ist enorm. Neben dem hochempfindlichen und markerfreien Nachweis von Molekülen ist der Einsatz der Resonatoren als Filter in der optischen Datenübertragung oder als Quelle zur Erzeugung von nicht-klassischem Licht denkbar – eine Grundlage für künftige Quantencomputer.

Die Forscher am KIT haben die Mikrokelche mit massenproduktionstauglichen Verfahren der Halbleiterindustrie hergestellt. Somit ist der Transfer der Technologie in die Serienfertigung bereits mittelfristig möglich.


Bibliographie

[1] Tobias Grossmann, Mario Hauser, Torsten Beck, Cristian Gohn-Kreuz, Matthias Karl, Heinz Kalt, Christoph Vannahme und Timo Mappes,  High-Q conical polymeric microcavities, Appl. Phys. Lett. 96, 013303 (2010)

[2] Tobias Grossmann, Simone Schleede, Mario Hauser, Mads Brøkner Christiansen, Christoph Vannahme, Carsten Eschenbaum, Sönke Klinkhammer, Torsten Beck, Jochen Fuchs, G. Ulrich Nienhaus, Uli Lemmer, Anders Kristensen, Timo Mappes und Heinz Kalt. Low-threshold conical microcavity dye lasers, Appl. Phys. Lett. 97, 063304 (2010)

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) verbindet seine drei Kernaufgaben Forschung, Lehre und Innovation zu einer Mission. Mit rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern sowie 25 000 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der großen natur- und ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas.

KIT – Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft

lg, 23.08.2010

Weiterer Kontakt:

Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin
Tel.: +49 721 608-48126
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
monika landgrafXpz4∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseFsx7∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.