Home | deutsch  | Plain Language | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT

Federal President Steinmeier Meets KIT Alumni in Boston

German-American Cooperation in the Focus of Several Events

Digitalization, sustainability, innovation, and possibilities of extensive transatlantic exchange were in the focus of the alumni meeting in Boston in early November. Here, graduates and former researchers of KIT, who are now living in the USA, informed themselves about latest research, teaching, and innovation activities of KIT, German-American collaboration, and KIT’s alumni services. They were given the opportunity to present own projects and to discuss future exchange.

“The USA are and will remain an important partner of Germany in research, innovation, and technology transfer, in particular as far as information technologies and digital transformation are concerned,” says Professor Thomas Hirth, KIT Vice-President for Innovation and International Affairs. “Numerous KIT alumni are working in these fields in the USA. Exchange with them is highly important to us.” With KIT LINK, a transatlantic network has been established by KIT to extend its good relations to universities, companies, and alumni in the USA, in particular in the San Francisco Bay Area and the Boston area.

The highlights of the framework program were two meetings with Federal President Frank-Walter Steinmeier, who had come to Boston to act as patron of the closing event of the Germany Year “Wunderbar together.” After a joint concert of the Boston Symphony Orchestra and Gewandhausorchester Leipzig, he invited the alumni to a “Meet and Greet” with pretzels and beer. Steinmeier also participated in a panel discussion on ethics of digitalization at the Harvard Law School, to which the KIT alumni were invited as well. The alumni meeting was organized by KIT’s International Affairs Business Unit and funded by the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD).

le, November 11, 2019

Karlsruher Institut für Technologie

Bundespräsident Steinmeier trifft Alumni des KIT in Boston

Deutsch-amerikanische Zusammenarbeit im Fokus mehrerer Veranstaltungen

Digitalisierung, Nachhaltigkeit, Innovation,  und die Möglichkeiten eines intensiven transatlantischen Austauschs waren die Themen des Alumni-Treffens Anfang November im US-amerikanischen Boston. In den USA lebende Absolventinnen und Absolventen sowie ehemalige Forschende des KIT konnten sich hier in Vorträgen und Workshops über Neuigkeiten aus Forschung, Lehre, Innovation und Internationales am KIT, die deutsch-amerikanische Zusammenarbeit  sowie die Alumni-Arbeit am KIT informieren, eigene Projekte vorstellen und über die Weiterentwicklung des Austauschs diskutieren.

„Die USA sind und bleiben für Deutschland ein wichtiger Partner in Forschung, Innovation und Technologietransfer, gerade mit Blick auf die Informationstechnologien und die digitale Transformation“, sagt Professor Thomas Hirth, Vizepräsident des KIT für Innovation und Internationales. „In diesem Feld arbeiten heute eine Reihe unserer Absolventinnen und Absolventen in den USA. Der Austausch mit ihnen ist uns enorm wichtig.“ Mit KIT LINK hat das KIT eigens ein transatlantisches Netzwerk aufgebaut, um die die guten Beziehungen zu Universitäten, Unternehmen und Alumni in den USA weiter auszubauen, insbesondere in der San Francisco Bay Area und im Großraum Boston.

Höhepunkte im Rahmenprogramm waren zwei Treffen mit Bundespräsident Frank-Walter Steinmeier, der als Schirmherr bei der Schlussveranstaltung des Deutschlandjahres „Wunderbar together“ vor Ort war. So lud er die Alumni im Anschluss an ein gemeinsames Konzert des Boston Symphony Orchestra mit dem Gewandhausorchester Leipzig zu einem „Meet and Greet“ bei Brezeln und Bier ein. Zudem nahm Steinmeier an einer Podiumsdiskussion zur Ethik der Digitalisierung an der Harvard Law School teil, zu der die KIT Alumni ebenfalls eingeladen wurden.

Das Treffen wurde durch die Dienstleistungseinheit Internationales des KIT organisiert und den Deutschen Akademische Austauschdienst (DAAD) finanziert.

le, 11.11.2019