Home | deutsch  | Plain Language | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT

KIT Is in the Top 100 of the World in Ten Subjects

QS World University Rankings by Subject 2019 – KIT Is Strong in “Natural Sciences” and “Engineering & Technology”.

In ten subjects, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) ranks in the top 100 of the universities worldwide, in mechanical engineering, materials sciences, and physics it has even reached the international top 50. This is obvious from the “QS World University Rankings by Subject 2019.” The ranking is based on the criteria of the universities’ reputation in academia and among employers, the frequency of citations of scientific publications, and the Hirsch index reflecting the research achievements of scientists.

The QS World University Rankings by Subject consider both subject areas and individual subjects. In international comparison, KIT is particularly strong in natural sciences and engineering subjects: in the area of “Natural Sciences,” KIT is in 48th place worldwide, in “Engineering & Technology” it has reached place 59.

As regards individual subjects, KIT is in the international top 50 in physics (place 31), mechanical engineering (place 37), library and information management (place 42), and materials sciences (place 47). In addition, KIT reaches the international top 100 in the subjects of architecture, civil engineering, chemistry, chemical engineering, electrical engineering, and informatics.

In all subjects mentioned, KIT is among the five best universities in Germany. In civil engineering, KIT is ranked top. Moreover, KIT is in the German top ten in mathematics. Apart from this ranking by subjects, QS also publishes a total ranking of the best universities in the world in June for the year to come: in the QS World University Ranking 2019, KIT reached place 116 and was ranked in fourth place in Germany.

le, 28.02.2019

Home | english  | Leichte Sprache | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT

KIT in zehn Fächern unter den Top 100 der Welt

QS World University Rankings by Subject 2019 – KIT stark in „Natural Sciences“ und „Engineering & Technology“.

In insgesamt zehn Fächern zählt das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) zu den 100 besten Universitäten der Welt, in Maschinenbau, Materialwissenschaft und Physik sogar zu den Top 50. Zu diesem Ergebnis kommt das „QS World University Rankings by Subject 2019“. Die Rangliste beruht auf Kriterien wie dem Ruf bei Wissenschaftlern und Arbeitgebern, der Zitationshäufigkeit wissenschaftlicher Arbeiten und dem Hirsch-Index, einem Indikator für die Forschungsleistung von Wissenschaftlern.

Das QS-World University Rankings by Subject betrachtet sowohl Fachbereiche als auch einzelne Fächer. International schneidet das KIT besonders stark in den natur- und ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Fächern ab: Im Fachbereich „Natural Sciences“ liegt das KIT weltweit auf Rang 48, in „Engineering & Technology“ auf Rang 59.

Bei den Einzelfächern ist das KIT in Physik (international Platz 31), Maschinenbau (Platz 37) Bibliotheks- und Informationsmanagement (Platz 42) und Materialwissenschaft (Platz 47) unter den besten 50 Universitäten der Welt. Die internationalen Top 100 erreicht es außerdem in den Fächern Architektur, Bauingenieurwesen, Chemie, Chemieingenieurwesen, Elektrotechnik und Informatik.

In allen genannten Fächern ist das KIT national unter den besten fünf Universitäten, darunter eine Spitzenplatzierung in Bauingenieurwesen. Zu den deutschen Top 10 zählt das KIT auch in Mathematik. Neben diesem Fächerranking veröffentlicht ein Gesamtranking der besten Universitäten der Welt, das jeweils bereits im Juni für das Folgejahr veröffentlicht wird: Im QS World University Ranking 2019 belegte das KIT Platz 116, deutschlandweit erreichte das KIT Platz vier.

le, 28.02.2019