Home | deutsch  | Plain Language | Legals | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT

RescueWave: Order instead of Chaos in Major Accidents

The RescueWave Electronic Sensor System Is to Enhance the Efficiency of Rescue Missions – Basic Research and Technology Transfer by KIT
RescueWave - Ordnung statt Chaos bei Grossschadensfaellen
Thanks to the intuitive operability of the system, rescue forces can concentrate on emergency medical care. (Photo: VOMATEC Innovations GmbH)
Die geistigen Väter von RescueWave (v.l.n.r.): Dr. Ashok Kumar Chandrasekaran, Professor Wilhelm Stork und Dr. Stephan Heuer. (Foto: FZI Forschungszentrum Informatik am KIT)
The men behind RescueWave (from left to right): Dr. Ashok Kumar Chandrasekaran, Professor Wilhelm Stork, and Dr. Stefan Heuer (Photo: FZI Research Center for Information Technology)

Presently, the order according to which people involved in a so-called mass-casualty incident are provided with first aid and transported to hospitals is being determined by a procedure initially used in military medicine. Colored slingcards indicate the priority of a medical emergency. A new electronic system, called RescueWave, now is to enhance efficiency of operations. The idea also comes from Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT).

 

The Eschede accident in 1998, the worst train disaster in the history of the Federal Republic of Germany, killed 101 people and 88 were heavily insured. Professor Wilhelm Stork of KIT’s Institute for Information Processing Technology (ITIV) and Director of the FZI Research Center for Information Technology still remembers watching a TV documentation some years later: “About 3000 rescuers with nearly 250 vehicles were involved, but the situation was rather chaotic.”

 

The Head of the Microsystem Technology Group of ITIV then initiated a project within the KIT Research Training Group on Sensor Networks. The then doctoral student Ashok Kumar Chandrasekaran was a member of the group and helped develop of a solution to bring order into this chaos: The software-based system RescueWave. Research at KIT and advanced studies at KIT’s FZI Research Center for Information Technology were carried out in cooperation with VOMATEC Innovations GmbH and antwortING Beratende Ingenieure PartGmbB. The company ITK Engineering coordinated the system’s further development to maturity.

Complete text: Press release 020/2018

 

del, 26.02.2018

Home | english  | Leichte Sprache | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT

RescueWave: Ordnung statt Chaos bei Großschadensfällen

Das elektronische Sensorsystem RescueWave soll Rettungseinsätze effizienter machen – Grundlagenforschung und Technologietransfer aus dem KIT
RescueWave - Ordnung statt Chaos bei Grossschadensfaellen
Dank intuitiver Bedienbarkeit des Systems können sich Rettungskräfte voll auf ihre notfallmedizinische Arbeit konzentrieren (Foto: VOMATEC Innovations GmbH)
Die geistigen Väter von RescueWave (v.l.n.r.): Dr. Ashok Kumar Chandrasekaran, Professor Wilhelm Stork und Dr. Stephan Heuer. (Foto: FZI Forschungszentrum Informatik am KIT)
Die geistigen Väter von RescueWave (v.l.n.r.): Dr. Ashok Kumar Chandrasekaran, Professor Wilhelm Stork und Dr. Stephan Heuer. (Foto: FZI Forschungszentrum Informatik am KIT)

Die Reihenfolge, nach der Opfer bei einem sogenannten „Massenanfall von Verletzten“ erstversorgt und abtransportiert werden, wird bisher nach einem System festgelegt, das aus der Militärmedizin stammt: Farbige Anhängekarten entscheiden über die Priorität eines medizinischen Notfalls. Ein neues elektronisches System mit dem Namen RescueWave soll jetzt die Einsatzführung effizienter machen. Die Idee dafür stammt auch aus dem Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT).

Beim Unfall von Eschede 1998, dem schwersten Zugunglück in der Geschichte der Bundesrepublik Deutschland, bei dem ein ICE entgleiste, kamen 101 Menschen ums Leben und 88 wurden schwer verletzt. An den Eindruck, den er einige Jahre später beim Sehen einer TV-Dokumentation gewann, erinnert sich Professor Wilhelm Stork vom Institut für Technik der Informationsverarbeitung (ITIV) des KIT und Direktor am FZI Forschungszentrum Informatik noch heute: „An die 3.000 Rettungskräfte mit fast 250 Fahrzeugen waren damals an der Rettung beteiligt, aber die Lage war höchst unübersichtlich.“

Der Leiter des Bereichs Mikrosystemtechnik am ITIV initiierte daraufhin innerhalb des Graduiertenkollegs Sensornetze am KIT ein Projekt, in dem der damalige Doktorand Ashok Kumar Chandrasekaran mithalf, die Grundlagen für eine Lösung zu schaffen, die Ordnung in dieses Chaos bringen soll: das softwaregestützte System RescueWave. Sowohl die Forschung am KIT als auch die weiterführende am FZI Forschungszentrum Informatik am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie erfolgte mit den Partnern VOMATEC Innovations GmbH und antwortING Beratende Ingenieure PartGmbB. Die Weiterentwicklung zur Marktreife verantwortete das Technologieunternehmen ITK Engineering.

Vollständiger Text: Presseinformation 020/2018

 

del, 26.02.2018