Home | deutsch  | Plain Language | Legals | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT

KIT Helps Build the European Open Science Cloud

EU Funds Setup of a European Cloud with Services for the Exchange, Use, and Reuse of Research Data – KIT Coordinates One of Thirteen Work Packages on “IT Service Management”
KIT baut European Open Science Cloud mit auf
KIT is active partner in the setup of a European big data cloud infrastructure for the exchange of scientific data. (Photo: Andreas Drollinger)

Early this year, setup of the European Open Science Cloud (EOSC) started. It is to be a Europe-wide cloud platform, on which scientists can store, share, use, and reuse research data. As scientific data volumes may be gigantic, special know-how is needed for the setup and administration of the big data cloud infrastructure. Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) will contribute its vast expertise in the administration of big data volumes to many activities, including the security concept. In particular, KIT is responsible for the IT service management, such as establishment of a service catalog, support processes and tools, and a central service desk for user inquiries. 

 

In the next years, the European Commission will invest several hundred million euros in the setup of a cloud infrastructure for the easy exchange of scientific data across disciplines and countries. This will enhance European cooperation in science and provide about 1.7 million scientists in Europe with better conditions and IT services for the transformation of data into knowledge. More than 75 research partners cooperate for this purpose.

 

KIT’s Steinbuch Centre for Computing (ESCC) possesses long-standing experience in the management of big scientific data due to the operation of GridKa for the world’s largest particle accelerator, the Large Hadron Collider (LHC), at CERN in Geneva or the coordination of the Helmholtz Data Federation (HDF). Within the HDF, research data of the Helmholtz Association are already being stored similar to what the EOSC is planned to do for entire Europe. “As a reliable partner, we will contribute this experience to the setup of the EOSC and to the EU projects EOSC-hub and EOSCpilot,” Professor Achim Streit, Director of the SCC, says. In particular, work of KIT will focus on security aspects, such as authentification and authorization in the service infrastructure of the EOSC. “In a federated research cloud for entire Europe, i.e. a cloud that will bring together many different, already existing service infrastructures and their users, it must be guaranteed that only those persons and institutions are given access to services and data, which are supposed to have access,” Streit says.

Full text: Press Release 015/2018

 

sis, 19.02.2018

Home | english  | Leichte Sprache | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT

KIT baut European Open Science Cloud mit auf

EU fördert Aufbau einer europaweiten Cloud mit Diensten für Austausch, Nutzung und Wiederverwendung von Forschungsdaten – KIT leitet eines von 13 Arbeitspaketen zu „IT-Service Management“
KIT baut European Open Science Cloud mit auf
Das KIT beteiligt sich aktiv am Aufbau einer europäischen Big-Data-Cloud-Infrastruktur zum Austausch wissenschaftlicher Daten. (Foto: Andreas Drollinger)

Mit der European Open Science Cloud (EOSC) entsteht seit Anfang des Jahres eine europaweite Cloud-Plattform, auf der Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler Forschungsdaten speichern, teilen, nutzen und wiederverwenden können. Da wissenschaftliche Datenmengen teilweise riesig ausfallen, ist spezielles Know-How für den Aufbau und Verwaltung der Big-Data-Cloud-Infrastruktur gefragt. Seine langjährige Expertise in der Verwaltung großer Datenmengen bringt das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) an mehreren Stellen ein, etwa beim Sicherheitskonzept. Insbesondere verantwortet das KIT das IT-Service Management, also beispielsweise den Aufbau eines Servicekatalogs, von Support-Prozessen und -Tools sowie eines Service Desks, der zentralen Anlaufstelle für Nutzeranfragen.

 

Die Europäische Kommission investiert in den nächsten Jahren mehrere Hundert Millionen Euro in den Aufbau einer Cloud-Infrastruktur, deren Ziel es ist, einen einfachen, disziplin- und länderübergreifenden Austausch wissenschaftlicher Daten zu ermöglichen, um die europäische Zusammenarbeit in der Wissenschaft zu unterstützen und den etwa 1,7 Millionen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern in Europa bessere Bedingungen und IT-Dienste zur Transformation von Daten zu Wissen zur Verfügung zu stellen. Hierfür arbeiten mehr als 75 Forschungspartner zusammen.

 

Das Steinbuch Centre for Coputing (SCC) am KIT verfügt über langjährige Erfahrung im Management sehr großer wissenschaftlicher Datenmengen, etwa mit GridKa für den weltweit größten Teilchenbeschleuniger, den Large Hadron Collider (LHC), am CERN in Genf oder auch durch die Koordination der Helmholtz-Data Facility (HDF). In der HDF werden bereits jetzt Forschungsdaten der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft gespeichert, so wie es die EOSC für ganz Europa plant. „Diese Erfahrung bringen wir als verlässlicher Partner zum Aufbau der EOSC und in die EU-Projekte EOSC-hub und EOSCpilot ein“, sagt Professor Achim Streit, Direktor des SCC am KIT. Insbesondere beschäftigt sich das KIT mit Fragen zur Sicherheit, also der Authentifizierung und der Authorisierung in der Dienst-Infrastruktur der EOSC. „In einer föderierten Forschungscloud, die für ganz Europa geschaffen wird – also einer Cloud, die viele unterschiedliche, bereits existierende Dienst-Infrastrukturen sowie deren Nutzer zusammenbringen wird – muss sichergestellt werden, dass nur diejenigen Personen und Einrichtungen Zugriff auf Dienste und  Daten haben, die auch Zugriff haben sollen“, sagt Streit.

Vollständiger Text: Presseinformation 015/2018

 

sis, 19.02.2018