Home | deutsch  | Plain Language | Legals | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT

Complex Tessellations, Extraordinary Materials

Simple Organic Molecules Form Complex Materials through Self-organization – Publication in Nature Chemistry
2018_005_Komplexe Parkettmuster - erstaunliche Materialien_1_72dpi
From simple organic molecules, the new method forms a complex semi-regular 3.4.6.4 tessellation. (Image: Klappenberger / Zhang / TUM)
2018_005_Komplexe Parkettmuster - erstaunliche Materialien_72dpi
Complex semiregular tessellations (right, microscopic image) are formed from a building block (left, red contours) consisting of two parts and a silver atom (blue). (Images: Klappenberger and Zhang / TUM)

Floor parquetings are typically found in living rooms. But microstructured parquetings, or rather tessellations, may occur in materials as well. Materials with tessellations can, for example, be characterized by an outstanding electrical conductivity, a special light reflection, or an extreme mechanical strength. Selective generation of such structures requires large molecular building blocks which mostly are not compatible with the conventional manufacturing processes. In Nature Chemistry, researchers of KIT and TUM explain how molecules form complex tessellations through self-organization.

 

The team of Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) and Technische Universität München (TUM) has discovered a reaction path which produces exotic layers with semiregular structures from simple two-dimensional networks. Such materials are interesting because they often possess extraordinary properties. In the process, simple organic molecules are combined into larger components which form the complex semiregular patterns.

 

Only a few basic geometric shapes lend themselves to covering a surface without overlaps or gaps using uniformly shaped tiles: Triangles, rectangles, and hexagons. Considerably more and significantly more complex but still regular patterns are possible with two or more tile shapes. These are the so-called Archimedean tessellations or tilings.

Complete text: Press release 05/2018​

 

aba/kes, 23.01.2018

Home | english  | Leichte Sprache | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT

Komplexe Parkettmuster – erstaunliche Materialien

Einfache organische Moleküle bilden komplexe Materialien durch Selbstorganisation – Veröffentlichung in Nature Chemistry
2018_005_Komplexe Parkettmuster - erstaunliche Materialien_1_72dpi
Das neue Verfahren bildet aus einfachen organischen Molekülen eine komplexe, halbreguläre 3.4.6.4 Parkettierung. (Bild: Klappenberger / Zhang / TUM)
2018_005_Komplexe Parkettmuster - erstaunliche Materialien_72dpi
Aus einem Baustein (links, roter Umriss) – bestehend aus zwei Teilen und einem Silber-Atom (blau) – entstehen komplexe, halbreguläre „Parkettmuster“ (rechts, Mikro-skopbild). (Bild: Klappenberger und Zhang / TUM)

Parkett kennt man aus dem Wohnzimmer. Aber auch Materialien können eine mikrostrukturierte Parkettierung aufweisen. Diese können etwa für außergewöhnliche elektrische Leitfähigkeit, spezielle Lichtreflektion oder extreme mechanische Belastbarkeit sorgen. Solche Strukturen gezielt zu erzeugen, bedarf großer molekularer Bausteine, die meist nicht mit den konventionellen Herstellungsprozessen kompatibel sind. Im Fachmagazin Nature Chemistry erklären Forscher des KIT und der TUM nun, wie Moleküle selbstorganisiert ein komplexes Parkettmuster bilden.

 

Das Team des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie (KIT) und der Technischen Universität München (TUM) hat einen Reaktionsweg entdeckt, der aus einfachen zweidimensionalen Netzwerken exotische Schichten mit halbregulärer Struktur erzeugt. Solche Materialien sind interessant, weil sie häufig außerordentliche  Eigenschaften besitzen. Bei dem Verfahren verbinden sich einfachere organische Moleküle zu größeren Bausteinen, die komplexe, halbreguläre Muster erzeugen.


Um eine Fläche mit gleichförmigen Kacheln lückenlos zu pflastern, kommen nur wenige geometrische Grundformen in Frage: Dreiecke, Vierecke und Sechsecke. Mit zwei oder mehr Kachelformen lassen sich wesentlich mehr und deutlich komplexere Muster erzeugen, die immer noch regelmäßig sind, die sogenannten Archimedischen Parkettierungen.

 

Vollständiger Text: Presseinformation 05/2018
 

aba/kes, 23.01.2018