Home | deutsch  | Plain Language | Legals | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT

International Competition iCAN'15: "JointWatchR" Ranked Second

Students of KIT convinced with a "smart" running shoe the jury in Alaska (USA).
Team JointWatchR
Team JointWatchR vom KIT bei der iCAN'15 (Foto: privat)

With the competition victory at COSIMA 2014 one year ago, the team “JointWatchR” qualified for the iCAN'15 international competition in Anchorage, Alaska (USA). Here, too, the team of students from the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) convinced the judging panel and achieved second place, winning a prize of US$1,000.

JointWatchR’s competition entry was a running shoe with adjustable shock absorption, which can be set via an app. With built-in sensors, the shoe calculates a profile of the foot’s movement while running. This data is then sent to the smartphone and allows for analysis in addition to providing feedback during the course of the run.

In total, 15,000 students from 12 countries submitted applications. 19 teams were finally selected from the national competitions to participate in the International Contest of Applications in Nano-Micro Technologies (iCAN'15) in Alaska, which took place as part of the Transducers Conference 2015. Scipio from Bremen University secured the first place with a tool to measure water quality, designed for developing countries.


lk, 25.08.2015

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT

Internationaler Wettbewerb iCAN'15: "JointWatchR" belegt den zweiten Platz

Mit einem "smarten" Laufschuh überzeugten Studierende des KIT die Jury in Alaska (USA).
Die Gewinner des iCAN'15
Team JointWatchR vom KIT bei der iCAN'15 (Foto: privat)

Mit dem Sieg beim Wettbewerb COSIMA 2014 qualifizierte sich "JointWatchR" vor einem Jahr für den internationalen Wettbewerb iCAN'15 in Anchorage, Alaska (USA). Auch hier überzeugte das Team aus Studierenden des KIT nun die Jury und erreichte den mit 1.000 US-Dollar dotierten 2. Platz.

Der Wettbewerbsbeitrag von "JointWatchR": ein Laufschuh mit variabler Dämpfung, der sich über eine App einstellen lässt. Mit der eingebauten Sensorik erstellt der Schuh ein Bewegungsprofil des Fußes beim Auftreten. Diese Daten werden an ein Smartphone gesendet und ermöglichen eine Auswertung sowie ein Feedback während des Laufens.

Insgesamt bewarben sich 15.000 Studenten aus zwölf Ländern. In den nationalen Wettbewerben wurden schließlich 19 Teams ausgewählt, die am International Contest of Applications in Nano-Micro Technologies (iCAN'15) in Alaska teilnahmen. Im Rahmen der Transducers Conference 2015 wurde dieser ausgetragen. Den 1. Platz belegte das Team Scipio der Universität Bremen mit einem Gerät zur Messung der Wasserqualität in Entwicklungsländern.


lk, 25.08.2015