Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

Division III ‒ Mechanical and Electrical Engineering

Division III of the KIT consists of the Departments of Electrical Engineering and Information Technology as well as Mechanical Engineering and the corresponding institutes of the University Sector. It also includes the Helmholtz programmes Materials and Technologies for the Energy Transition (MTET), Nuclear Fusion (FUSION) and Nuclear Waste Management, Safety and Radiation Research (NUSAFE) and the institutes IAI, IAM, IHM, ITES, IMT, INE, INR, and ITEP of the Research Sector.

Since January 01, 2014, Professor h.c. Dr.-Ing. Joachim Knebel has been Head of Division III.

Joachim Knebel
Head of Division

Prof. h.c. Dr.-Ing. Joachim Knebel
Tel.: +49 721 608-25511

Contact Team Division 3

Key Innovation and Systems in the Fields of Energy, Mobility, Production, Automation, Man-Machine-Interaction, Information Technology and Medical Engineering.


DFG Schwerpunktprogramm WendelibIAM-AWP, KIT
DFG priority program successfully completed

27.01.2021: After six years of research work, the DFG priority program "WeNDeLIB" coordinated by Prof. H.J. Seifert (IAM-AWP) has been completed very successfully. For the research of materials with new design for improved lithium-ion batteries, more than 30 PhDs were performed at KIT and partner universities. The electrochemical-thermodynamic properties and the safety of lithium-ion batteries were researched and the results documented by numerous publications in scientific journals. Thus, an internationally highly regarded contribution has been made to design lithium-ion batteries with optimal energy and power densities, capacities, and long lifetime.

GraduiertenkollegKoordiniertes Promotionskolleg
PhD program successfully completed

19.01.2021: For material development and optimized process design, a tailored design of the underlying microstructures of the materials is of central importance. The interdisciplinary team of the MWK-funded cooperative PhD program ,,Microstructure Analysis and Process Evaluation'' , with Prof. Britta Nestler (IAM-CMS) as spokesperson, investigated material-specific structure formation mechanisms for a selection of manufacturing and fabrication processes by simulative, experimental and theoretical methods. Through the competences combined in the college, microstructures were characterized, and influencing variables of process conditions were analyzed and evaluated. The training of young scientists was supported beyond the research work by a cross-university structured qualification and study program.

IAM-WET is renamed IAM-ET

11.01.2021: The Institute for Applied Materials, Sub-Institute Materials of Electrical Engineering (IAM-WET) under the direction of Prof. Dr.-Ing. Ulrike Krewer will be renamed Sub-Institute Electrochemical Technologies (IAM-ET) by resolution of the Supervisory Board as of 01.01.2021. The IAM-ET will continue to be assigned to Division 3.

BlancoIRM, KIT
New start-up funding in 2021

08.01.2021: "Phytonics" and "Metis Neurotec" will receive start-up funding from the "EXIST Forschungstransfer" and "Helmholtz Enterprise Spin-off" programs, respectively, from 2021. "Phytonics" has set itself the goal of reducing the reflection losses of solar modules by 70-80%, thus achieving an additional yield of approx. 7% in energy output. This is achieved by using films with surface structures of plants that have optimally adapted to interact with light over millions of years. "Metis Neurotec" aims to detect dementia at an early stage to prevent irreversible damage. Through Metis Neurotec's AI-powered platform (app and QEEG), physicians can quickly and ambulatory detect cognitive performance impairment in patients, for example, to detect and treat Alzheimer's disease at an early stage.


Neuland Innivationspreis 2020KIT
NEULAND Award 2020


Within the context of the NEULAND Innovation Contest 2020, Professor Thomas Hirth, Vice President for Innovation and International Affairs, awarded the scientists*. KIT is looking for ideas with the aim of bringing the best technologies and processes to the market as products or product components. Prize winners from Division 3 for the "Ideas Prize" were: Dr. Nanya Li, Dr. rer. nat. Guido Link and Prof. Dr.-Ing. John Jelonnek from IHM (1st prize); M.Sc. Philipp Marthaler and Prof. Dr.-Ing. Andreas Class from ITES (2nd prize). For the "Transfer Prize": Dr. Michael Heidinger, Dr.-Ing. Rainer Kling and Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Uli Lemmer from LTI with mpg-lightsystems ; Dr.-Ing. Nikolai Kronenwett, Prof. Dr.-Ing. Gert F. Trommer and Prof. Dr.-Ing. Sören Hohmann from IRS with iMAR Navigation GmbH.

Happy holidays and a good start into the year 2021

21.12.2020: An eventful and in every respect challenging year 2020 is drawing to a close. We would like to take the opportunity to thank you very much for the good cooperation, trust, patience and support in 2020! We look forward to 2021 with excitement and confidence.

We wish you and your families a peaceful Christmas and above all health, strength, peace and contentment for the Year 2021.

Your Team of Division 3, Angelika Linz, Verena Wittmann, Robin von Both, Karsten Rexroth and Joachim Knebel.

Decentralized Energy Supply through innovative Power-Heat Coupling

21.12.2020: In the "BiFlow" project, the Battery Technology Center at ETI is working with partners to develop a novel hybrid storage system that combines the specific advantages of the lithium-ion battery and the redox-flow battery and simultaneously serves as a heat storage and charging point for electric cars. This form of electricity-heat coupling is a world premiere. For the project, a redox flow battery will be installed by project partner Storion Energy GmbH (SEG) in the student residence STAGE76 in Bruchsal. ETI, through project manager Nina Munzke, is responsible for the overall integration and the superordinate intelligent energy management system.

Frequenzdaten für stabile Stromversorgung Amadeus Bramsiepe, KIT
Frequency Data for Stable Power Supply

17.12.2020: In the age of renewable energies, grid frequency is becoming an increasingly important indicator of the stability of the power supply. An interdisciplinary research association under the leadership of the Helmholtz Association is analyzing frequency fluctuations in twelve synchronous grid areas on three continents. For data recording, scientists of the Institute for Automation and Applied Informatics (IAI) of KIT have developed a portable, GPS-synchronized recorder with a new measurement technology. The team now reports first results in the journal Nature Communications. (DOI: 10.1038/s41467-020-19732-7)

Affordable Energy for Humanity University of Waterloo

The Affordable Energy for Humanity Global Change Initiative is an international collaboration between the world's leading scientists, technology developers and practitioners on the topic of universal energy access. We believe in a future where modern, clean and reliable energy is affordable and available to everyone.