Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

Academic Honorary Citizens

KIT confers the KIT honorary citizenship to persons for their extraordinary commitment to KIT.

Helga Gaul and Professor Wolfgang Gaul
In February 2015, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology conferred the Honorary Citizenship to Helga and Wolfgang Gaul. In 2001, they established the Helga und Wolfgang Gaul-Stifutung (Helga and Wolfgang Gaul Foundation).

Michael Huber
In recognition of his commitment to the KIT Foundation and the support of young scientists of KIT by the Umweltstiftung der Sparkasse Karlsruhe Ettlingen (Foundation for the Environment of Sparkasse Karlsruhe Ettlingen), Michael Huber was appointed KIT Honorary Citizen in January 2013.

Dr. Dieter Köhnlein
KIT awarded the physicist Dr. Dieter Köhnlein honorary citizenship in 2019. Köhnlein is the founder and long-time director of the KIT Symphony and Chamber Orchestras.

Martin Litschel
Martin Litschel supports the Young Investigator Group "Green Mobility" of the KIT since 2014 with the Vector Foundation. Litschel also awards fifteen "Deutschlandstipendien" (scholarships) a year at KIT and supports another ten students a year through the FundaMINT scholarship program. In 2018, KIT awarded him Honorary Citizenship.

Roland Mack
Karlsruhe Institute of Technology conferred the Honorary Citizenship to Roland Mack in 2016 for his support of young mechanical engineers. Mack co-founded Europa Park Rust, of which he is the Managing Associate. In 1969, he started to study mechanical engineering at Karlsruhe University.

Professor Dr. Manfred Popp
For his extraordinary commitment, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology conferred the first KIT Honorary Citizenship to Professor Manfred Popp in 2012. With the reorganization of Forschungszentrum Karlsruhe into a multi-disciplinary, modern large-scale research center, Manfred Popp laid the first foundation stone for the later establishment of KIT, which was co-initiated by him.

Dr. Anja Schümann
The KIT honored Anja Schümann, CEO of the Reinhard Frank Foundation, in 2018 as Honorary Citizen. With the Reinhard Frank Foundation she is involved, among others, in the Student Research Laboratory, the international exchange program MINTernship and the Study Center for the Visually Impaired (SZS) at the KIT.

Professor Dr. Gerhard Seiler
The then Universität Karlsruhe conferred the honorary citizenship to Professor Gerhard Seiler in 2005. With this distinction, President Professor Dr. Horst Hippler honored Seiler’s merits for the benefit of the university.

Dr. Gerhard Selmayr
The then Universität Karlsruhe honoured Dr. Gerhard Selmayr in 2000 with the honorary citizenship.

Walter Wagner
The then Universität Karlsruhe appointed Walter Wagner an honorary citizen in 1971.

Professor Götz Werner
In January 2013, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology conferred the Honorary Citizenship to Professor Götz W. Werner, among others for his unselfish support of the development of academic education at KIT and for his extraordinary merits in the education of young people.

Professor Dr. Hartmut Weule
The then Universität Karlsruhe appointed Professor Hartmut Weule an honorary citizen in 2006. This was to acknowledge Weule’s achievements with regard to the internationalization of the university, among others by establishing the International Department.

Here, we only list the living Honorary Citizens of KIT.