Home | deutsch  | Plain Language | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT

DFG - Collaborative Research Centers

Collaborative Research Centers (SFB) are institutions established at universities for a long-term period and enable researchers to pursue an outstanding research programme, crossing the boundaries of disciplines, institutes, departments and faculties. They are generally applied for by one university, but they can also be jointly applied for by several  universities (Collaborative Research Center/Transregio - SFB/TRR). Collaborative Research Centers are funded by the German research funding organization "Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft" (DFG)  for up to twelve years.

Collaborative Research Centers at KIT
Number Title (funding period) Spokesperson

Phänomenologische Elementarteilchenphysik nach der Higgs-Entdeckung (2019-2022)

Prof. Dr. Kirill Melnikov

Institute for Theoretical Particle Physics, KIT

Wave phenomena: analysis and numerics (2015-2019)

Prof. Marlis Hochbruck, Institute for Applied and Numerical Mathematics (IANM), KIT

Prof. Wolfgang Reichel, Institute for Analysis (IANA), KIT

Molekulare Strukturierung weicher Materie (2016-2019) 

Prof. Dr. Michael Meier, Institut für Organische Chemie (IOC), KIT
Prof. Dr. Peter W. Roesky, Institut für Anorganische Chemie (AOC), KIT

Collaborative Research Centres at other Universities, with participation of KIT
Number Title (funding period) Spokesperson/Deputy Spokesperson

Elastic Tuning and Response of Electronic Quantum Phases of Matter – ELASTO-Q-MAT

Prof. Dr. Roser Valenti, Universität Frankfurt (Sprecherin)

Prof. Dr. Jairo Sinovar, Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz (Co-Sprecher)

Prof. Dr. Jörg Schmalian, Institut für Theorie der Kondensierten Materie (Co-Sprecher)


Waves to Weather

Prof. George C. Craig, Meteorological Institute, LMU Munich

Prof. Volkmar Wirth, Institute of Atmospheric Physics, JGU Mainz

Prof. Peter Knippertz, Institute of Meteorology and Climate Research (IMK-TRO), KIT 

Turbulent chemisch reagierende Mehrphasenströmungen in Wandnähe

Prof. Johannes Janicka, Energy and Power Plant Technology (EKT), TU Darmstadt

Prof. Olaf Deutschmann, Institute for Chemical Technology and Polymer Chemistry (ITCP), KIT

Prof. Andreas Dreizler, Center of Smart Interfaces, TU Darmstadt


Cooperative Effects in Homo- and Heteronuclear Complexes (3MET) (2011-2022)

Prof. Gereon Niedner-Schatteburg, TU Kaiserslautern

Prof. Manfred Kappes, Institute of Physical Chemestry (IPC) and Institute of Nanotechnology (INT), KIT

Invasive Computing (InvasIC) (2010-2018)

Prof. Jürgen Teich, FAU Friedrich-Alexander-Universität, Erlangen-Nürnberg

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jörg Henkel, ITEC - Institute of Computer Engineering, KIT