Topic Highlights

Landscape around a stream in KenyaMarlon Maranan, KIT

Climate Research in Africa

When Andreas Fink was asked by a colleague from England in 1997 whether he would like to participate in a project in Africa, he accepted immediately. At that time, the meteorologists were studying precipitation systems associated with the West African monsoon. This first stay was the starting point of 25 years of research experience in projects on the African continent gained by Andreas Fink, professor at the Institute of Meteorology and Climate Research of Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT).

Learn more

Skizze eines Reallabors mit diskutierenden Menschen an Tischen oder Flipchartsmodus: medien + kommunikation gmbh

From Knowledge to Action

In some situations, humans do not act logically: We are against industrial livestock farming, but we buy cheap meat. We are eager to care for the environment and for our health and still use the car instead of the bicycle, even for short distances. We have a wealth of knowledge, but often fail in putting theory into practice – real-world labs at Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) dedicate their research to this gap between knowledge and action and try to close it.

Learn more

Transparente Weltkugel, im Hintergrund Punkte mit linearen Verbindungen als Symbol für DigitalisierungAdobe Stock/vegefox.com

Digitalization and Sustainability

Ending the dependence on fossil fuels, conserving resources, and protecting habitats are elementary components for successfully leading modern societies onto a sustainable path and thus making them fit for the future. One approach at the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) is to combine the ongoing digitalization of various areas of life with concepts of sustainability.

Learn more

KIT

Large-scale Research

As one of  18 research centers in the Helmholtz Association (HGF), the KIT makes valuable contributions to solving society's pressing issues of the future and to further unraveling the mysteries of the universe. As part of the HGF, KIT is an asset in large-scale research, which is not only supported by large financial resources but also advanced with the help of large research infrastructures. 

Learn more

Pavilion made from recycled and reused materialsUM / Stollberg

Building

The construction sector is one of the big emitters of greenhouse gases. Therfore,  sustainable building is of high importance in managing climate change. At Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), scientists from several disciplines are investigating promising solutions for the future. Work focuses not only on strategies to use resources, but also on rethinking construction planning and building processes.

Learn more

modus: medien + kommunikation gmbh

Sustainable Mobility

At KIT, about 800 scientists from more than 35 institutes organized in the KIT Mobility Systems Center conduct research on what the mobility of the future might look like. In this context, many aspects have to be taken into account: from raw material recycling or synthetic fuels and electromobility to the networking of traffic.

Learn more

phonlamaiphoto - stock.adobe.com

Innovation at KIT

Together with research and teaching, innovation is one of three major tasks of KIT. KIT contributes to the success of this transfer, e.g., by promoting the spirit of entrepreneurship among researchers and students. Discover various innovation activities at KIT in this online dossier: from practical inventions to contributions to the energy transition or clever solutions in the field of information technologies to spin-offs and established partnerships.

Learn more

Klimawandel und Nachhaltigkeit

Climate Change and Sustainability

Achieving the Paris climate protection goals and the associated sustainable transformation of our society are among the greatest challenges of the 21st century. Explore in the dossier which findings climate and environmental research at KIT has gained and which contributions it can make to the protection of our livelihoods or the success of the energy transition.

Learn more

Technology. Impacts. Visions

The future has always been a field of projections: for hopes, visions and utopias. The dossier "Technology. Impacts. Visions" presents various such projections, ranging from approaches to a climate-neutral energy system and mobility utopias to peace-building AI - and also takes a look in the historical rear-view mirror.

Learn more

Bioökonomie

Bioeconomy

Bioeconomy is the topic of the Science Year 2020/21. But what actually is bioeconomy? Our dossier offers you a compact overview of this broad issue and explains why the future promise of bioeconomy is so important. Based on practical examples from research at KIT, you will read, see, and hear what bioeconomy is capable of.

Learn more

Energy Lab

Energy Lab 2.0

How can the energy transition succeed? What does the energy system of the future offer? These and other questions are being researched in KIT's Energy Lab 2.0. The real-world lab, which is unique in Germany, thus provides insights into the sustainable transformation of our energy system, an essential cornerstone for successfully curbing climate change.

Learn more

Themenhighlights

Landschaft um einen Bach  in KeniaMarlon Maranan, KIT

Klimaforschung in Afrika

Als Andreas Fink 1997 von einem Kollegen aus England gefragt wurde, ob er sich an einem Projekt in Afrika beteiligen möchte, zögerte er nicht lange. Die Meteorologen erforschten damals Niederschlagssysteme des westafrikanischen Monsuns. Aus diesem ersten Aufenthalt sind für den Professor am Institut für Meteorologie und Klimaforschung des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie (KIT) bis heute 25 Jahre Forschungserfahrung in Projekten auf dem afrikanischen Kontinent hervorgegangen.

Mehr erfahren

Skizze eines Reallabors mit diskutierenden Menschen an Tischen oder Flipchartsmodus: medien + kommunikation gmbh

Vom Wissen zum Handeln

Manchmal verhalten wir uns unlogisch: Wir sind gegen Massentierhaltung, kaufen aber billige Fleischprodukte; wir wollen auf die Umwelt achten und gesund leben, fahren aber trotzdem kurze Stecken mit dem Auto, anstatt das Fahrrad zu nehmen. Wir wissen viel, setzen aber vieles davon nicht um – dieser Lücke zwischen Wissen und Handeln widmen sich Reallabore am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) und versuchen, sie zu schließen.

Mehr erfahren

Transparente Weltkugel, im Hintergrund Punkte mit linearen Verbindungen als Symbol für DigitalisierungAdobe Stock/vegefox.com

Nachhaltig digital

Die Abhängigkeit von fossilen Brennstoffen zu beenden, Ressourcen zu schonen und Lebensräume zu schützen sind elementare Bestandteile, um moderne Gesellschaften erfolgreich auf einen nachhaltigen Pfad zu führen und damit zukunftsfähig zu machen. Ein Ansatz am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) dabei ist, die fortschreitende Digitalisierung zahlreicher Lebensbereiche und Nachhaltigkeit zusammen zu denken.

Mehr erfahren

Blick in den Hauptspektrometertank des KATRIN-ExperimentsKIT

Großforschung

Als eines von 18 Forschungszentren in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft (HGF) leistet das KIT wertvolle Beiträge, um drängende Zukunftsfragen der Gesellschaft zu lösen und die Rätsel des Universums weiter zu entschlüsseln. Als Teil der HGF ist auch das KIT ein Aktivposten in der Großforschung, die nicht nur durch große finanzielle Mittel gefördert, sondern auch mithilfe großer Forschungsinfrastrukturen vorangetrieben wird. 

Mehr erfahren

Pavillon aus wiederverwendeten und -verwerteten MaterialienUM / Stollberg

Bauen

Die Baubranche gehört zu den großen Treibhausgasemittenten. Daher spielt nachhaltiges Bauen bei der Bewältigung des Klimawandels eine zentrale Rolle. Am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) forschen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler aus den verschiedensten Disziplinen an zukunftsfähigen Lösungen. Dabei geht es nicht nur um Strategien im Umgang mit Ressourcen, sondern auch darum, Bauplanung und -prozesse neu zu denken.

Mehr erfahren

Zeichnung einer Straßenbahnhaltestelle mit Tram und Fahrgästenmodus: medien + kommunikation gmbh

Nachhaltige Mobilität

Wie die Mobilität der Zukunft aussehen könnte, daran forschen am KIT rund 800 Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler aus über 35 Instituten, die im KIT-Zentrum Mobilitätssysteme organisiert sind. Dabei gilt es, viele Aspekte in den Blick zu nehmen: vom Rohstoffrecycling über synthetische Kraftstoffe und Elektromobilität bis hin zur Vernetzung des Verkehrs.

Mehr erfahren

Innovation am KITphonlamaiphoto - stock.adobe.com

Innovation am KIT

Innovation ist mit Forschung und Lehre eine von drei Kernaufgaben des KIT. Zum Gelingen dieses Transfers trägt das KIT bei, indem es z. B. Gründergeist und Unternehmertum von Forschenden und Studierenden  fördert. Entdecken Sie in diesem Online-Dossier verschiedene Innovationstätigkeiten am KIT: von konkreten Erfindungen über Beiträge zur Energiewende oder clevere Lösungen aus der Welt der Informationstechnologien bis hin zu Ausgründungen und etablierten Partnerschaften.

Mehr erfahren

Klimawandel und Nachhaltigkeit

Klimawandel und Nachhaltigkeit

Das Erreichen der Pariser Klimaschutzziele und der damit verbundene nachhaltige Umbau unserer Gesellschaft gehören zu den größten Herausforderungen des 21. Jahrhunderts. Erkunden Sie im Dossier, welche Erkenntnisse die Klima- und Umweltforschung am KIT gewonnen hat und welche Beiträge sie zum Schutz unserer Lebensgrundlagen oder dem Gelingen der Energiewende leisten kann.

Mehr erfahren

 

Technik.Folgen.Visionen.

Technik.Folgen.Visionen

Die Zukunft war schon immer ein Projektionsraum: für Hoffnungen, Visionen und Utopien. Das Dossier „Technik.Folgen.Visionen“ stellt verschiedene solcher Projektionen vor, von Entwicklungspfaden in ein klimaneutrales Energiesystem über Mobilitätsutopien bis hin zu friedensstiftender KI – und wirft dabei auch einen Blick in den historischen Rückspiegel.

Mehr erfahren

Bioökonomie

Bioökonomie

Bioökonomie ist das Thema des Wissenschaftsjahrs 2020/21. Doch was ist eigentlich Bioökonomie? Unser Dossier bietet Ihnen einen kompakten Überblick über dieses weite Themenfeld und erklärt, warum das Zukunftsversprechen Bioökonomie so wichtig ist. Anhand von praktischen Beispielen aus der Forschung am KIT lesen, sehen und hören Sie, was Bioökonomie zu leisten im Stande ist.

Mehr erfahren

Energy Lab

Energy Lab 2.0

Wie kann die Energiewende gelingen? Was bietet das Energiesystem der Zukunft? Diese und weitere Fragen werden im Energy Lab 2.0 des KIT erforscht. Das in Deutschland einzigartige Reallabor liefert so Erkenntnisse über den nachhaltigen Umbau unseres Energiesystems, einem wesentlichen Baustein, um den Klimawandel erfolgreich zu bremsen.

Mehr erfahren