Home | deutsch  | Legals | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Social Media

Settling in at KIT

Erstsemester mit KIT-Rucksack (Foto: Birte Wirth)

A new city, a new stage in one’s life and many questions: Where do I find suitable accommodation? What cultural activities does the KIT offer? Where can I do sports after class? And who can be asked if these questions remain unanswered?

As a beginning student at KIT, you most likely want to get a general idea about university life. Here you can find tips on how to settle in at the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology.

Living and Working

Schloss Karlsruhe (Foto: KIT/Irina Westermann)
Living

The city of Karlsruhe has a lot to offer concerning living and studying. Public transportation connects the KIT and the urban area. Searching for accommodation in Karlsruhe can be tricky, but many helpdesks provide help.

More
Mensch im Labor (Foto: KIT/Markus Breig)
Working

Whether you are in search for a secondary job or an internship, at KIT you’ll get the chance to put your skills to the test. Here you can find information on jobs offered, qualifications needed, and work at the research facilities of the KIT.

More
 

Culture and Sports

Band spielt auf Uni-Fest (Foto: KIT/Andreas Drollinger)
Culture

Enjoy your time at the KIT and attend concerts, events or theatrical performances. Institutions run by students, student groups and the Studierendenwerk offer a variety of cultural activities during semesters.

More
American Football: Karlsruhe Engineers (Foto: KIT/Karlsruhe Engineers)
Sports

Participating in sports at KIT can break up your daily routine. There are different on-campus sports facilities and a gym. Choose among the courses offered and sign up at the start of the semester.

More
 

Information and Consultation

Blick auf die Facebook-Seite des KIT (Foto: KIT/Eva Pailer)
Media

The KIT publishes news on research, pictures of recent events and press releases on a regular basis. Apart from printed magazines, the university uses newsletters, videos and social media to keep you up-to-date.

More
Beratungsgespräch (Foto: KIT/Sandra Goettisheim)
Consultation

You will always find help, if you have any questions of both study-related and private character. The helpdesk at the General Students Committee (AStA), the Study Centre for the Visually Impaired (SZS) and a helpline provide advice in difficult situations.

More

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Social Media-Kanäle

(Ein-)Leben am KIT

Erstsemester mit KIT-Rucksack (Foto: Birte Wirth)

Neue Stadt, neuer Lebensabschnitt, unendlich viele Fragen: Wo finde ich die passende Wohnung? Was hat das KIT kulturell zu bieten? Wo kann ich nach der Uni Sport treiben? Und an wen wende ich mich, wenn ich diese Fragen nicht beantworten kann?

Als angehender Erstsemester am KIT gilt es, sich einen Überblick zu verschaffen. Auf einen Blick sind hier wichtige Themen rund um das (Ein-)Leben am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie zusammengefasst.

 

Wohnen und Arbeiten

Karlsruher Schloss (Foto: KIT/Irina Westermann)
Wohnen

Karlsruhe hat als Wohn- und Studienort viel zu bieten. Der öffentliche Nahverkehr verbindet das KIT mit dem Stadtgebiet. Die Suche nach einer Wohnung in Karlsruhe kann jedoch eine Herausforderung sein. Viele Anlaufstellen helfen bei der Suche.

Mehr
Mensch im Labor (Foto: KIT/Markus Breig)
Arbeiten

Ob Nebenjob, Praktikum oder Bachelorthesis: Am KIT können Studierende das Gelernte in die Tat umsetzen. Personalservice und Career Service informieren rund um Job und Karriere.

Mehr
 

Freizeit und Sport

Band spielt auf Uni-Fest (Foto: KIT/Andreas Drollinger)
Kultur

Die Zeit am KIT in vollen Zügen genießen: Musikevents, Theater und Kinovorstellungen bereichern das Leben auf dem Campus. Studentische Einrichtungen, Hochschulgruppen und das Studierendenwerk bieten unter dem Semester ein vielfältiges Kulturprogramm.

Mehr
American Football: Karlsruhe Engineers (Foto: KIT/Karlsruhe Engineers)
Sport

Der Hochschulsport am KIT ist eine willkommene Abwechslung zum Studiums- und Forschungsalltag. Auf dem Campus gibt es mehrere Sportstätten und ein Fitnessstudio. Zu zahlreichen Kursangeboten kann man sich zu Beginn des Semesters anmelden.

Mehr
 

Information und Beratung

Blick auf die Facebook-Seite des KIT (Foto: KIT/Eva Pailer)
Medien

Neuigkeiten aus der Forschung, Bilder vom Campusleben und Informationen für die lokale Presse veröffentlicht das KIT auf vielen Kanälen. Neben dem Angebot an Print-Magazinen, Newslettern, Video- und Bilder-Galerien ist es auch in Sozialen Netzwerken aktiv.

Mehr
Beratungsgespräch (Foto: KIT/Sandra Goettisheim)
Beratung

Bei Fragen und Problemen findet sich am KIT immer Hilfe. Unterschiedliche Beratungsstellen beispielsweise des AStA, das Studienzentrum für Sehgeschädigte oder die Telefonseelsorge stehen Studierenden mit Rat und Tat zur Seite.

Mehr