Home | deutsch | Legals | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Contact:
Monika Landgraf
Chief Press Officer, Head of Press Office

Phone: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
e-mail

Press Release 188/2012

Large Pores

KIT Researchers Develop New Method to Produce Metal-organic Frameworks
Struktur der metallorganischen Gerüste der Klasse SURMOF 2: Die Porengröße beträgt zurzeit schon bis zu drei mal drei Nanometer. (Abbildung: Dr. Jinxuan Liu, IFG)
Structure of SURMOF 2 metal-organic frameworks: The pore size may reach up to three times three nanometers. (Figure: Dr. Jinxuan Liu, IFG)

Researchers of the KIT Institute of Functional Interfaces (IFG), Jacobs University Bremen, and other institutions have developed a new method to produce metal-organic frameworks (MOFs). By means of the so-called liquid-phase epitaxy, the scientists succeeded in producing a new class of MOFs with a pore size never reached before. These frameworks open up interesting applications in medicine, optics, and photonics. The new class of MOFs, called “SURMOF 2”, is presented in the “Nature Scientific Reports” journal. .  


Metal-organic frameworks (MOFs) can store nanoscaled objects and make them available for various applications. For this reason, they are of particular interest in many research areas, including materials sciences, biology, and medicine. MOFs are highly ordered molecular systems, consisting of metal nodes and organic rods. The pores in these frameworks are freely accessible. MOFs are used in powder form to store hydrogen and other small molecules, such as carbon dioxide or methane. For more complex applications, such as the storage and subsequent release of antibiotics, MOF coatings of higher mechanical loadability are required.


At the KIT Institute of Functional Interfaces (IFG), the team of the head of institute Professor Christof Wöll is working on new methods for the production of MOFs. They make the MOF structures grow epitaxially, i.e. in layer-by-layer scheme, on the surface of substrates (SURMOFs – Surface-mounted Metal-organic Frameworks). In this way, the size and shape of the pores as well as their chemical functionality can be adjusted to the planned application. A special method developed by the IFG, the so-called liquid-phase epitaxy (LPE), allows for the production of framework structures that cannot be generated by conventional wet chemical methods. Detailed theoretical analysis by the group of Professor Heine of Jacobs University Bremen revealed that the interactions between the organic rods are responsible for the stability of these frameworks with large pores. In the Nature Scientific Reports journal, the researchers from IFG and the Institute of Organic Chemistry (IOC) of KIT, Jacobs University Bremen, and other institutions in Mainz, Bielefeld, and Thuwal/Saudi Arabia present a series of structurally related, highly symmetric frameworks with very large pores, which were produced by means of the LPE method.


These novel MOFs that are referred to as “SURMOFs 2” are produced by synthesizing various special organic molecules of variable lengths. The pore size of the new metal-organic frameworks is three times three nanometers. Hence, the pores have sufficient space for small proteins. Now, the researchers are working on increasing the length of the organic rods in order to be able to store even larger proteins and possibly also metallic nanoparticles in the next step. This will allow for interesting applications in optics and photonics.  


“We think that SURMOFs 2 will have considerable potentials as optical materials. In the next step, we plan to produceheterolayers, in which different materials will be stacked on top of each other,” explains Professor Christof Wöll from the IFG. “The application potential of metal-organic frameworks can hardly be predicted at the moment. MOFs are composed structures. Chemists have learned how the components may be combined in a framework. Now, it will be important to use the variety of molecules known in chemistry to develop new materials with new application potentials that might revolutionize catalysis, sensor technology, or logical storage materials. Computer simulations are ideal to determine the components to be used for producing frameworks with optimum properties at the laboratory,” explains Professor Thomas Heine from Jacobs University Bremen.


Jinxuan Liu, Binit Lukose, Osama Shekhah, Hasan Kemal Arslan, Peter Weidler, Hartmut Gliemann, Stefan Bräse, Sylvain Grosjean, Adelheid Godt, Xinliang Feng, Klaus Müllen, Ioan‐Bogdan Magdau, Thomas Heine, Christof Wöll: A novel series of isoreticular metal organic frameworks: realizing metastable structures by liquid phase epitaxy. In: Nature Scientific Reports 2, Article number: 921 bzw. doi: 10.1038/srep00921

www.nature.com/srep/2012/121204/srep00921/full/srep00921.html 


Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) is a public corporation according to the legislation of the state of Baden-Württemberg. It fulfills the mission of a university and the mission of a national research center of the Helmholtz Association. Research activities focus on energy, the natural and built environment as well as on society and technology and cover the whole range extending from fundamental aspects to application. With about 9400 employees, including more than 6000 staff members in the science and education sector, and 24500 students, KIT is one of the biggest research and education institutions in Europe. Work of KIT is based on the knowledge triangle of research, teaching, and innovation.

or, 05.12.2012

For further information, please contact:

Margarete Lehné
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing
Phone: +49 721 608-48121
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
margarete lehneTrs2∂kit edu
The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Presseinformation 188/2012

Poren mit viel Platz

KIT-Forscher entwickeln neues Verfahren zur Herstellung metallorganischer Gerüste
Struktur der metallorganischen Gerüste der Klasse SURMOF 2: Die Porengröße beträgt zurzeit schon bis zu drei mal drei Nanometer. (Abbildung: Dr. Jinxuan Liu, IFG)
Struktur der metallorganischen Gerüste der Klasse SURMOF 2: Die Porengröße beträgt zurzeit schon bis zu drei mal drei Nanometer. (Abbildung: Dr. Jinxuan Liu, IFG)

Ein neues Verfahren zur Herstellung metallorganischer Gerüste (MOFs) haben Forscher des Instituts für Funktionelle Grenzflächen (IFG) des KIT, der Jacobs University Bremen und weiterer Einrichtungen entwickelt: Mithilfe der sogenannten Flüssigphasen-Epitaxie ist es den Wissenschaftlern gelungen, eine neue Klasse von MOFs mit einer zuvor unerreichten Porengröße zu fertigen. Diese Gerüstverbindungen versprechen interessante Anwendungen in Medizin, Optik und Photonik. In der Zeitschrift „Nature Scientific Reports“ stellen die Forscher die als „SURMOF 2“ bezeichnete neue Klasse von MOFs vor.  


Metallorganische Gerüstverbindungen (MOFs – Metal Organic Frameworks) ermöglichen es, nanoskalige Objekte zu speichern und für verschiedene Anwendungen bereitzustellen. Sie finden daher immer mehr Interesse in vielen Forschungsbereichen wie Materialwissenschaften, Biologie und Medizin. MOFs sind hochgeordnete molekulare Systeme, die aus metallischen Knotenpunkten und organischen Streben bestehen. Die Poren in diesen Gerüsten sind frei zugänglich. Zur Speicherung von Wasserstoff und anderen kleinen Molekülen wie Kohlendioxid oder Methan werden MOFs als Pulver eingesetzt. Für anspruchsvollere Anwendungen, etwa zum Speichern und anschließenden Freisetzen von Antibiotika, sind jedoch mechanisch stärker belastbare MOF-Beschichtungen erforderlich.  


Am Institut für Funktionelle Grenzflächen (IFG) des KIT arbeiten Wissenschaftler um Institutsleiter Professor Christof Wöll daher an neuen Verfahren zur MOF-Herstellung: Sie lassen die MOF-Strukturen epitaktisch, das heißt schichtweise, auf der Oberfläche von Substraten wachsen (SURMOFs – Surface Mounted Metal Organic Frameworks). So lassen sich Größe und Form der Poren ebenso wie deren chemische Funktionalität für die jeweilige Anwendung maßschneidern. Eine am IFG entwickelte spezielle Methode, die sogenannte Flüssigphasen-Epitaxie (LPE – Liquid Phase Epitaxy) gestattet es, auch Gerüststrukturen herzustellen, die sich mit den normalen nasschemischen Methoden nicht erzeugen lassen. Wie die genaue theoretische Analyse der Arbeitsgruppe von Professor Thomas Heine an der Jacobs University Bremen zeigte, sind die Wechselwirkungen zwischen den organischen Streben für die Stabilität dieser großporigen Gerüste verantwortlich. In einer von der Zeitschrift Nature Scientific Reports veröffentlichten Arbeit stellen die beteiligten Forscher – IFG und Institut für Organische Chemie (IOC) des KIT, Jacobs University Bremen und weitere Einrichtungen in Mainz, Bielefeld und Thuwal/Saudi-Arabien – eine Serie von strukturell verwandten, hochsymmetrischen Typen von Gerüstverbindungen vor, die mit der LPE-Methode hergestellt wurden und besonders große Poren aufweisen.  


Zur Herstellung dieser neuartigen, als „SURMOFs 2“ bezeichneten Serie von MOFs synthetisierten die Wissenschaftler verschiedene, sehr spezielle organische Moleküle verschiedener Länge. Die Porengröße der neuen metallorganischen Gerüstverbindungen beträgt zurzeit schon bis zu drei mal drei Nanometer. Damit bieten die Poren bereits jetzt Platz für kleine Proteine. Die Forscher arbeiten intensiv daran, die Länge der organischen Streben noch weiter zu vergrößern, um noch größere Proteine und im nächsten Schritt sogar metallische Nanopartikel in die Gerüststrukturen einzubetten, was interessante Anwendungen in der Optik und Photonik ermöglicht.  


„Das Hauptpotenzial der SURMOFs 2 sehen wir zurzeit im Bereich optischer Materialien. Der nächste Schritt wird es sein, Hetero-Schichten herzustellen, in denen ganz unterschiedliche Materialen aufeinandergestapelt werden“, erklärt Professor Christof Wöll vom IFG des KIT. „Das Anwendungspotenzial metallorganischer Käfige läßt sich heute erst vage erahnen. Die MOF-Gerüste kann man sich als zusammengesetzte Bausteine vorstellen. Die Chemiker haben gelernt, wie man diese Bausteine zu einem Gerüst zusammensetzt. Jetzt gilt es, die Vielfalt der aus der Chemie bekannten Moleküle als Bausteine auszunutzen, um neue Materialien mit neuen Anwendungspotenzialen zu entwickeln, die beispielsweise die Katalyse, Sensorik oder logische Speichermaterialien revolutionieren könnten. Computersimulationen sind ideal, um die Bausteine für Käfige mit optimalen Eigenschaften zu bestimmen und diese danach im Labor zu realisieren“, erläutert Professor Thomas Heine von der Jacobs University Bremen.


Jinxuan Liu, Binit Lukose, Osama Shekhah, Hasan Kemal Arslan, Peter Weidler, Hartmut Gliemann, Stefan Bräse, Sylvain Grosjean, Adelheid Godt, Xinliang Feng, Klaus Müllen, Ioan-Bogdan Magdau, Thomas Heine, Christof Wöll: A novel series of isoreticular metal organic frameworks: realizing metastable structures by liquid phase epitaxy. In: Nature Scientific Reports 2, Article number: 921 bzw. doi: 10.1038/srep00921

www.nature.com/srep/2012/121204/srep00921/full/srep00921.html 


Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9.300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieurs-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 26.000 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen.

or, 05.12.2012

Weiterer Kontakt:

Margarete Lehné
Stellvertretende Pressesprecherin
Tel.: +49 721 608-48121
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
margarete lehneXwv9∂kit edu