Home | deutsch  | Legals | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT

Water Droplets as Miniaturized Test Tubes

New Laboratory Technology Makes Search for Active Substances Less Expensive – Water Droplets Self-arrange and Pipetting Robots Are No Longer Required
Droplet-Microarray (Foto: KIT)
Fluids self-arrange in smallest droplets on a DMA. (Photo: KIT)

Modern laboratory technology cannot only help develop new medicine, but also make quicker diagnoses of higher precision. Scientists of KIT have found a way to execute so-called high-throughput screenings with thousands of samples being tested in parallel without any expensive and complex robot systems that have been necessary so far. Thus, costs are reduced by a factor of up to one hundred.

Chemist Pavel Levkin of KIT’s Institute of Toxicology and Genetics (ITG) and his multidisciplinary team have developed a surface on which aqueous solutions self-arrange in thousands of separate droplets. Highly water-attracting and highly water-repellent areas are produced on an array surface. On such a droplet microarray (DMA), biological samples can be subjected to substance screening. Every individual droplet is used as a type of test tube for biological experiments. The size of the droplets to be investigated can be varied between three and 250 nanoliters. Estimated roughly, a DMA consumes a thousand times less reactants and experiments can also be performed with only a few living cells. Pipetting robots and pipette tips that have been indispensable so far are no longer required. The cost reduction potential of this new technology is enormous.

The scientists expect that screening results will be more reliable and development of medicine will be much cheaper in the future. To commercialize their findings, the researchers plan to establish the company Aquarray. In this way, they want to enable biological research laboratories with small funds to perform high-throughput screenings. First prototypes are being tested on the market.

Further information in the Press Release 054/2017.



mex, 28.04.2017

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT

Minireagenzgläser aus Wassertropfen

Eine Ausgründung des KIT entwickelt Labortechnik, welche die Suche nach Wirkstoffen einfacher und billiger machen soll. Auf einer Oberfläche ordnen sich Wassertropfen selbst an und machen so teure Pipettier-Roboter überflüssig.
Droplet-Microarray (Foto: KIT)
Auf einem DMA ordnen sich Flüssigkeiten selbständig zu kleinsten Tröpfchen. (Foto: KIT)

Wissenschaftler des KIT haben eine Labortechnik entwickelt, welche die Suche nach Wirkstoffen und das Untersuchen von Zellproben viel einfacher und bis zu hundertmal günstiger macht als bisher. Mit dem entwickelten Droplet-Microarray (DMA) können Hochdurchsatzscreenings, bei denen parallel tausende Proben getestet werden, ohne aufwendige und teure Robotik durchzuführen.

Der Chemiker Pavel Levkin vom Institut für Toxikologie und Genetik (ITG) hat dafür eine Oberfläche entwickelt, auf der sich wässrige Lösungen selbstständig zu tausenden separaten Tröpfchen anordnen. Auf diesem Droplet-Microarray (DMA) können biologische Gewebe- und Zellproben einem Wirkstoff-Screening unterzogen werden. Jeder einzelne Tropfen dient dabei als eine Art Reagenzglas für biologische Experimente. Pipettierroboter und Pipettenspritzen, bis dato unverzichtbar, sind überflüssig. Die Größe der zu untersuchenden Tröpfchen kann nach Wunsch zwischen drei und 250 Nanolitern variieren. Ein DMA verbraucht dadurch deutlich weniger teure Reagenzien. Im Gegensatz zur klassischen Pipettiertechnik ermöglicht das biologisch verträgliche Polymer auf dem DMA auch Experimente mit sehr wenigen lebenden Zellen. Dadurch sollen Screening-Ergebnisse zuverlässiger und die Entwicklung von Medikamenten preiswerter werden.

Um ihre Innovation zu vermarkten, haben die Forscher vor die Firma Aquarray zu gründen. Sie wollen damit biologischen Forschungslabors, diagnostischen Labors und auch Pharmaunternehmen Kostenerleichterungen bieten. Erste Prototypen werden bereits im Markt getestet.

Ausführliche Informationen in der Presseinformation 054/2017.



mex, 28.04.2017