Home | deutsch  | Legals | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT

Management and Committees

Supervisory Board

The Supervisory Board elects the full-time members of the Presidential Committee and adopts the structure and development plan as well as the construction plan. According to legislation, the term of office of the Founding Supervisory Board expired on September 30, 2011. Since October 01, 2011, the members of the Supervisory Board have been in office.

Presidential Committee

KIT is managed by the Presidential Committee. President Professor Holger Hanselka took office on October 01, 2013. Further members of the Presidential Committee are Christine von Vangerow as Vice President for Human Resources and Law since January 01, 2017, Professor Oliver Kraft as Vice President for Research and Professor Thomas Hirth as Vice President for Innovation and International Affairs since January 01, 2016, Professor Alexander Wanner as Vice President for Higher Education and Academic Affairs since June 01, 2013, and Dr. Ulrich Breuer as Vice President for Finance and Business Affairs since January 01, 2012.

Heads of Divisions

The divisions of KIT are ordered according to disciplines and pool research, education, and innovation activities of the affiliated institutes. The KIT is organized in these five divisions “1: Biology, Chemistry, and Process Engineering”, “2: Informatics, Economics, and Society”, “3: Mechanical and Electrical Engineering”, “4: Natural and Built Environment”, “5: Physics and Mathematics”. The heads of these five divisions are supported by division councils.

KIT Senate

The KIT Senate confirms the election of full-time board members and issues an opinion on the structural and development plan as well as on the draft economic plan and the finance plan. It is composed of the board members, a representative of the equal opportunities team, a representative of the staff council and 25 elected representatives from the university sector and 25 elected representatives from the large-scale research sector.

Commissioners

The topic of compliance with legal requirements and internal regulations has become more and more important in recent years.  At KIT, a large number of commissioners make sure that rules in diverse areas are consequently observed.

Staff Representation

The interests of the KIT staff are represented by the staff council, the youth and trainee representatives and the representatives for disabled employees.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT

Leitung und Gremien

Aufsichtsrat

Der Aufsichtsrat wählt die hauptamtlichen Präsidiumsmitglieder und beschließt den Struktur- und Entwicklungsplan sowie die Planung der baulichen Entwicklung. Die Amtszeit des Gründungsaufsichtsrats endete per Gesetz mit Ablauf des 30. September 2011, seit dem 1. Oktober 2011 sind die Mitglieder des Aufsichtsrats für die Dauer von jeweils vier Jahren im Amt.

Präsidium

Der kollegiale Vorstand leitet das KIT. Er führt die Bezeichnung „Präsidium“. Professor Holger Hanselka hat am 1. Oktober 2013 sein Amt als Präsident des KIT angetreten. Zu den weiteren Mitgliedern des Präsidiums gehören seit 1. Januar 2017 Christine von Vangerow als Vizepräsidentin für den Bereich Personal und Recht, seit 1. Januar 2016 Professor Oliver Kraft als Vizepräsident für Forschung und Professor Thomas Hirth als Vizepräsident für Innovation und Internationales, seit 1. Juni 2013 Professor Alexander Wanner als Vizepräsident für Lehre und Akademische Angelegenheiten, und seit 1. Januar 2012 Dr. Ulrich Breuer als Vizepräsident für Wirtschaft und Finanzen.

Bereichsleitungen

Die Bereiche des KIT sind disziplinär geordnet und bündeln Forschung, Lehre und Innovation der ihnen zugeordneten Institute, KIT-Fakultäten und Helmholtz-Programme. Das KIT gliedert sich in die fünf Bereiche „1: Biologie, Chemie und Verfahrenstechnik“, „2: Informatik, Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft“, „3: Maschinenbau und Elektrotechnik“, „4: Natürliche und gebaute Umwelt“ sowie „5: Physik und Mathematik“. Jeder untersteht einem Bereichsleiter, der von einem Bereichsrat unterstützt wird.

KIT-Senat

Der KIT-Senat bestätigt die Wahl der hauptamtlichen Präsidiumsmitglieder, nimmt Stellung zum Struktur- und Entwicklungsplan sowie zum Entwurf des Wirtschaftsplans und des Finanzplans. Ihm gehören neben dem Präsidium jeweils eine Vertretung von  Chancengleichheit und Personalrat sowie jeweils 25 Vertreterinnen und Vertreter des Großforschungs- und des Universitätsbereichs an.

Beauftragte

Die Einhaltung gesetzlicher Bestimmungen und interner Regelungen hat in den letzten Jahren erheblich an Bedeutung gewonnen. Am KIT gewährleisten zahlreiche Beauftragte die konsequente Beachtung von Vorschriften in unterschiedlichen Aufgabenfeldern

Personalvertretungen

Die Interessen der Beschäftigten am KIT nehmen Personalrat, Jugend- und Auszubildendenvertretung sowie Schwerbehindertenvertretung wahr.