Home | deutsch  | Legals | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT

Excellence Initiative

Excellence Initiative II: KIT successful with two Graduate Schools
Graduiertenschule KSETA

KIT Succeeds with Proposals for the Two Graduate Schools for Elementary Particle and Astroparticle Physics as well as for Optics and Photonics.

The Karlsruhe School of Elementary Particle and Astroparticle Physics: Science and Technology (KSETA) – Elementarteilchen- und Astroteilchenphysik: Wissenschaft und Technologie is a central component of the KIT Elementary Particle and Astroparticle Physics Center KSETA. Doctoral students in physics and engineering are to cooperate in theoretical studies and at large-scale research facilities for fundamental research and modern technologies. The Ph. D. students are integrated in interdisciplinary projects all over the world, in which KSETA partly assumes a leading role. Among others, these are the Pierre Auger Observatory for cosmic rays in Argentina, the CMS Particle Detector at the Large Hadron Collider LHC of CERN, the Karlsruhe Tritium Neutrino Experiment KATRIN, the Alpha Magnetic Spectrometer (AMS) on the international space station ISS, and the underground detector EDELWEISS searching for dark matter. KSETA offers specialized education, builds bridges between physicists and engineers, and represents an excellent basis for their joint research. Spokesperson is Professor Johannes Blümer.

The Karlsruhe School of Optics & Photonics (KSOP) meanwhile has turned into an established first-class training and research institution in the field of optical technologies with 14 professors, more than 75 active Ph. D. students, more than 40 alumni, and an international master program. Optics and Photonics (O&P) are the keys to numerous industrial high technologies and stimulate fundamental research in physics, chemistry, life sciences, and engineering. The master and Ph. D. programs of KSOP are implemented by the four KIT Departments of Physics, Electrical Engineering and Information Technology, Chemistry and Biosciences, as well as Mechanical Engineering. KSOP research activities concentrate on photonic materials and components, modern spectroscopy, biomedical photonics, and optical systems. KSOP is planned to grow quantitatively and qualitatively in the second funding phase. The scope of disciplines covered will be extended by integrating other KIT institutes, for example, the Institute of Meteorology and Climate Research. Due to the central role of O&P for the use of solar energy and the latter’s high industrial and societal relevance, activities in the field of solar energy will be pooled and intensified in a new, fifth research area. Spokesperson is Professor Ulrich Lemmer.

A special success of KIT in the Excellence Initiative I of 2006 was the winning of the third funding line: The Institutional Strategy “Foundation of KIT” focused on the merger of Forschungszentrum Karlsruhe with Universität Karlsruhe into KIT. On October 01, 2009 already did both institutions merge into the new legal entity of KIT. The Institutional Strategy was funded from 2006 to 2012.

Funding of the Excellenzcluster Center for Functional Nanostructures (CFN) will phase out after twelve years in 2012/2013.

Press release 101/15.06.2012 "KIT Will Continue along Its Path".

Further information can be found on the websites of DFG and Wissenschaftsrat.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT

Exzellenzinitiative

Das KIT ist bei der Exzellenzinitiative II mit zwei Graduiertenschulen erfolgreich.
Graduiertenschule KSETA

KSOP/KSETA erfolgreich in der ersten Förderlinie der Exzelleninitiative II

Die Karlsruhe School of Elementary Particle and Astroparticle Physics: Science and Technology (KSETA) – Elementarteilchen- und Astroteilchenphysik: Wissenschaft und Technologie ist ein zentraler Baustein des KIT-Zentrums Elementarteilchen- und Astroteilchenphysik KSETA. Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden aus Physik und Ingenieurwissenschaften arbeiten hier gemeinsam an theoretischen Untersuchungen und an Großgeräten zu Fragen aus der Grundlagenforschung sowie an der Entwicklung moderner Technologien. Die Promovierenden sind in interdisziplinäre Projekte auf der ganzen Welt eingebunden, zu denen KSETA teilweise führende Beiträge liefert. Diese sind unter anderem das Pierre-Auger-Observatorium für kosmische Strahlung in Argentinien, der Teilchendetektor CMS am Large Hadron Collider LHC am CERN, das Karlsruher Neutrino-Experiment KATRIN, das Alpha Magnetic Spectrometer (AMS) auf der internationalen Raumstation ISS und der Untergrunddetektor EDELWEISS für die Suche nach Dunkler Materie. KSETA bietet eine Spezialausbildung, baut Brücken zwischen Physikern und Ingenieuren und bildet so eine ausgezeichnete Basis für die gemeinsame Forschung. Sprecher ist Professor Johannes Blümer.

Die Karlsruhe School of Optics & Photonics (KSOP) hat sich mit 14 Professoren, mehr als 75 aktiven Doktoranden, über 40 Alumni sowie einem internationalen Masterstudiengang als erstklassige Ausbildungs- und Forschungsinstitution im Bereich der Optischen Technologien etabliert. Optik & Photonik (O&P) sind der Schlüssel für zahlreiche industrielle Spitzentechnologien und stimulieren die Grundlagenforschung in Physik, Chemie, den Lebenswissenschaften und den Ingenieurwissenschaften. Master- und Doktoranden-Programm der KSOP werden von den vier KIT-Fakultäten Physik, Elektrotechnik und Informationstechnik, Chemie und Biowissenschaften sowie Maschinenbau getragen. Die Forschungsaktivitäten der KSOP haben ihre Schwerpunkte in den Bereichen Photonische Materialien und Bauelemente, Moderne Spektroskopie, Biomedizinische Photonik und Optische Systeme. Die KSOP wird in der zweiten Förderphase quantitativ und qualitativ wachsen. Eine fachliche Erweiterung erfolgt durch die Einbindung weiterer KIT-Institute, zum Beispiel des Instituts für Meteorologie und Klimaforschung. Aufgrund der zentralen Rolle von O&P für die Nutzung der Sonnenenergie und deren großer industrieller und gesellschaftlicher Bedeutung werden zudem die Aktivitäten im Bereich Solarenergie in einem neuen, fünften Forschungsfeld zusammengeführt und verstärkt. Sprecher ist Professor Ulrich Lemmer.

Ein besonderer Erfolg bei der Exzellenzinitiative I im Jahr 2006 war die Auszeichnung in der dritten Förderlinie: Im Zukunftskonzept "Foundation of KIT" wurde der Zusammenschluss des Forschungszentrums Karlsruhe mit der Universität Karlsruhe zum KIT entwickelt. Bereits am 1. Oktober 2009 haben sich die beiden Institutionen zur neuen Rechtsperson KIT vereint. Das Zukunftskonzept wurde von 2006 bis 2012 gefördert.

Die Förderung für das Excellenzcluster Center for Functional Nanostructures (CFN)  wird 2012/2013 nach insgesamt 12-jähriger Förderung als DFG-Forschungszentrum und Exzellenzcluster auslaufen.

Presseinformation 101/15.06.2012 "KIT geht weiter" .

Weitere Informationen zur Exzellenzinitiative finden Sie auf den Seiten der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft  und des Wissenschaftsrats .